tubbies 1st Gear June 8, 2020 Share June 8, 2020 (edited) My car skidded and I went to make a claim. My car insurance company gave me 2 choices: 1) Claim total loss - $45k 2) Claim repair cost - Car Repair Cost $16k+/- after reducing the market value of my car, insurance company is only willing to pay $9k( they called it Economic Repair Limit) so I got to fork out $8k out of my own pocket. Which option would you guys take? Is there a third option? Edited June 8, 2020 by tubbies ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator June 10, 2020 Share June 10, 2020 Help a newbie out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 10, 2020 Share June 10, 2020 Take total loss. No cash outlay 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic June 10, 2020 Share June 10, 2020 What's the paper value? Model? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 10, 2020 Share June 10, 2020 Find out if any other workshop can repair below 16k then show the quotation to insurance coy... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic June 10, 2020 Share June 10, 2020 15 minutes ago, Volvobrick said: What's the paper value? Model? yeah, need to have paper value and approx price of a similar car in the market. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic June 10, 2020 Share June 10, 2020 5 minutes ago, mersaylee said: Find out if any other workshop can repair below 16k then show the quotation to insurance coy... No use 1 lol. Instead another way round. Bring to a private ws for a quote on burget repair and sell the car after that. Dun be surprise maybe a burget repair using used parts hammer panel beating could cost u total of arouns 4-5k only. 3 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 10, 2020 Share June 10, 2020 Market value is subjective. Try negotiate if the value given is too far off from the ones in the market. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondaes8 2nd Gear June 10, 2020 Share June 10, 2020 Need to know a few facts before people can advise. 1. Car type, model and date of registration This is to determine if 45K make sense for you to scrap and buy another ride or you should bit the bullet and proceed with the repair. 2. Repair cost of 16k, this is from AD or 3rd party WS ? IF 16k is from AD, there is a chance that you can get it fix at a lower price at 3rd party WS. Seek a few WS for estimated quotes to decide. After knowing 1 and 2, you probably can do the maths and see what works for you. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TeamAMG69 3rd Gear June 10, 2020 Share June 10, 2020 55 minutes ago, Beregond said: No use 1 lol. Instead another way round. Bring to a private ws for a quote on burget repair and sell the car after that. Dun be surprise maybe a burget repair using used parts hammer panel beating could cost u total of arouns 4-5k only. u forgot to mention the most important repair "mileage" 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverkris 5th Gear June 10, 2020 Share June 10, 2020 Also, how much do you still owe the bank? If after insurance paid you, you still owe the bank more than $8k, then the choice will be to repair it then. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged June 10, 2020 Share June 10, 2020 2 hours ago, Hondaes8 said: Need to know a few facts before people can advise. 1. Car type, model and date of registration This is to determine if 45K make sense for you to scrap and buy another ride or you should bit the bullet and proceed with the repair. 2. Repair cost of 16k, this is from AD or 3rd party WS ? IF 16k is from AD, there is a chance that you can get it fix at a lower price at 3rd party WS. Seek a few WS for estimated quotes to decide. After knowing 1 and 2, you probably can do the maths and see what works for you. You will have a more accurate indicator of the option to take when these questions are answered. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator June 10, 2020 Share June 10, 2020 Thanks for the responses all! Newbie may not be active on MCF yet as we've lapsed by two days so be patient and hopefully he'll log on again. Maybe he'll end up a one hit wonder but no hate ok, only love! 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 10, 2020 Share June 10, 2020 1 hour ago, BabyBlade said: Thanks for the responses all! Newbie may not be active on MCF yet as we've lapsed by two days so be patient and hopefully he'll log on again. Maybe he'll end up a one hit wonder but no hate ok, only love! 😍 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear June 10, 2020 Share June 10, 2020 No head no tail leh. But never mind. When insurance chio this kind of pattern usually is Car is on the 8th or 9th year liao or COE Car lor. Although I never did it, ownself claim ownself always problem lor. Fraud prune lor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 10, 2020 Share June 10, 2020 7 hours ago, BabyBlade said: Help a newbie out. This kinda question no head no tail Gotta at least give more info like what car, paper value lah If it's a no resale model, take the accident as a blessing and take the 45k and run If it's paper value higher than 45k then bang table And what insurance company so at least MCFers can learn something in return for giving free advice 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator June 10, 2020 Share June 10, 2020 1 minute ago, Soya said: This kinda question no head no tail Gotta at least give more info like what car, paper value lah If it's a no resale model, take the accident as a blessing and take the 45k and run If it's paper value higher than 45k then bang table And what insurance company so at least MCFers can learn something in return for giving free advice It's a newbie and it's a first post. Hence my reply to ask for patience. Sometimes people create accounts to post but don't login frequently because it's not a habit unlike for many of us. I was the same with my Flowerpod forum account years back. Relax. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged June 10, 2020 Share June 10, 2020 (edited) Repair price sounds expensive. The damage might be quite serious? Would it be mechanically reliable after repair? If no, might want to consider claiming total loss. Edited June 10, 2020 by Albeniz ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...