Ginyu 5th Gear December 25, 2022 Share December 25, 2022 On 12/23/2022 at 6:30 PM, Soya said: Go try a Rav4 asking 212k vs a X1 for 200k n tell me if you'll enthusiastically sign the dotted line for a toyota for that price..... The richer ones go for the Toyota and the poorer ones go for X1 to look rich 😂 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 25, 2022 Share December 25, 2022 15 hours ago, inlinesix said: Due to the conditions you said, power is definitely more important (we can agree to disagree with each other POV). The difference in power can make a difference in frustrating drive and happy drive (despite a frustrating traffic condition). A lot of my drive in the morning involves Kim Keat Lane enter PIE and then exit Geylang. With 100hp lugging 1.3 tonne, it will be perpetually stuck on left most lane. Toyota interior definitely fail even against Japanese car. Hopefully X1 doesn’t repeat the mistake of 2 series by having that puny screen. Ermm....how fast do u go on PIE during morning peak hour? 200kmh? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 25, 2022 Share December 25, 2022 On 12/24/2022 at 3:21 AM, Rskc said: Ya. But I never like to buy used unless from authorised resellers like ppsl with authorised dealer's warranty or someone I really know well. I don't like surprises like tempered odo, flood or accident cars. Kiasu, kiasi, kia kena scammed. 😁 Tempered odo on used cars in sg isn't a surprise nowadays More surprised if it hasn't been.....lol 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 25, 2022 Share December 25, 2022 19 minutes ago, Soya said: Ermm....how fast do u go on PIE during morning peak hour? 200kmh? It is not how fast you can drive. Rather it is the agility to switch lane. I love driving a German engineered car but not 100hp pulling 1.3 tonne. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shouyi 3rd Gear December 25, 2022 Share December 25, 2022 37 minutes ago, inlinesix said: It is not how fast you can drive. Rather it is the agility to switch lane. I love driving a German engineered car but not 100hp pulling 1.3 tonne. Agree. I do U-turn quite frequently at Seletar West Link, definitely appreciate how fast the car pick up speed as the opposite traffic is coming at highway speed. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fabius86 Neutral Newbie December 25, 2022 Share December 25, 2022 Am considering this vs Qashqai. Main priority is built quality and ride comfort. Any comments which could be a better choice? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 25, 2022 Share December 25, 2022 2 hours ago, inlinesix said: It is not how fast you can drive. Rather it is the agility to switch lane. I love driving a German engineered car but not 100hp pulling 1.3 tonne. I'm not talking abt underpowered like an Attrage la. Oh....nvm 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 25, 2022 Share December 25, 2022 7 minutes ago, Soya said: I'm not talking abt underpowered like an Attrage la. Oh....nvm Same same but different 80hp pulling 1 tonne 100hp pulling 1.3 tonne I will never understand as my 1.3 tonne is pulled by 184hp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rskc 5th Gear December 25, 2022 Share December 25, 2022 2 hours ago, inlinesix said: It is not how fast you can drive. Rather it is the agility to switch lane. I love driving a German engineered car but not 100hp pulling 1.3 tonne. Decent hp with high torque like the X1 is good enough to switch lane in singapore... 😎 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
oleoleole 2nd Gear December 25, 2022 Share December 25, 2022 49 minutes ago, Soya said: I'm not talking abt underpowered like an Attrage la. Oh....nvm Bro it's ok. We feel you. It's like playing piano to a cow lol 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rskc 5th Gear December 25, 2022 Share December 25, 2022 (edited) 1 hour ago, Fabius86 said: Am considering this vs Qashqai. Main priority is built quality and ride comfort. Any comments which could be a better choice? Go test drive both and then try thinking this way...if you buy Qashqai, will you still be stealing a look at X1 everytime a X1 drive by? Will you steal a look at Qashqai if you already bought X1? I bet u know the answer. It happened to me and I bought the wrong ride and kept looking at other people's ride. 🤣 Since then, I followed my heart than head. I assume you shortlisted these 2 means you can afford both. Buy a car that puts a smile on your face every day (not to put a smile on others). VFM doesn't last long if you aren't looking for a pt A to B ride. Just my personal take. 😊 Edited December 25, 2022 by Rskc 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 25, 2022 Share December 25, 2022 (edited) 29 minutes ago, oleoleole said: Bro it's ok. We feel you. It's like playing piano to a cow lol FYI he is the one with all the comments about OT and trade in value 😂Edit: Never bought new car. No experience with OT Edited December 25, 2022 by inlinesix Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acegab 1st Gear December 25, 2022 Share December 25, 2022 1 hour ago, Fabius86 said: Am considering this vs Qashqai. Main priority is built quality and ride comfort. Any comments which could be a better choice? Is this even a consideration? 100% X1 man... Nissan is a dying brand 🤣 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 25, 2022 Share December 25, 2022 46 minutes ago, oleoleole said: Bro it's ok. We feel you. It's like playing piano to a cow lol Lol....tink easier to get the said cow to understand 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 25, 2022 Share December 25, 2022 1 minute ago, Soya said: Lol....tink easier to get the said cow to understand The said cow has been criticising 216 since the introduction of BMW MPV 🤭 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged December 25, 2022 Share December 25, 2022 1 hour ago, inlinesix said: Same same but different 80hp pulling 1 tonne 100hp pulling 1.3 tonne I will never understand as my 1.3 tonne is pulled by 184hp. I also never understand my 1.55 Tonne is pulled by 380hp[after Stage 1 Remap].🤣 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AriesGoat 5th Gear December 25, 2022 Share December 25, 2022 On 12/23/2022 at 11:32 AM, Rskc said: I did that when I was younger, wondering why pp wanna spend so much for brandeded vs a similar priced b&b high specs+ performance car. I bought the Fiat Stilo 2.4L selespeed. To me, it was superb, bland of auto cum manual with additive engine sound (italian mah). But....these resale values suck BIG time in Singapore!! That is why buy branded works in Singapore. Only Singapore! 😆 To me, b&b performance + high specs is a no go in Singapore if one changes car every few years. Every tom will low ball resale. 😅 Yes, this is something one will realise when you always change car and dabble long enough in different COE period. 😂 I also just realised recently. Haha.. On 12/23/2022 at 6:30 PM, Soya said: Go try a Rav4 asking 212k vs a X1 for 200k n tell me if you'll enthusiastically sign the dotted line for a toyota for that price..... Unfortunately, it’s mostly true for many of us. 🤣 On 12/24/2022 at 1:46 AM, Rickster said: LOL, i also kena... bought a Citroen DS4 quite awhile ago. Specs was super high for a 2011 launched car (blind spot monitor, electric seats with massage function, auto park brake engage/disengage, in car GPS, super chio design inside and out, etc... performance also decent (154bhp 1.6T engine) for it's time and price! I thought i had a good deal and was laughing at idiots paying more for entry level BMW/Merc with lower specs. Then i faced harsh reality when i tried to dump it a few years later. Yes, in my line of work, I have encountered enough situation to verify this is true. Will do my utmost to explain nicely that because this brand/type of car is more “niche”, dealer or direct owner also won’t be offering so high to take in your car. So if you go in to this type of brand/deal prepared to know and expect the lowest return when time to sell your car, you won’t most likely won’t be able to stomach it when you first check quotation many years later. On 12/24/2022 at 12:09 AM, Hamburger said: Was around Leng Kee and went to look up our resident Beemer sales Executive Goat. Was totally mesmerized by the X1 exterior looks and how the car drove. NVH was pretty impressive and low end torque produced respectable pull. Suspension was not too harsh despite riding on 245/45/19. Interior was much more spacious than expected and quite on par with my Tarraco. I went for a test drive and it was quite a long drive and I was showered with great hospitality and professional service by Goat. If not for the crazy coe, I would be truly enticed to get one. OMV is around 37k and hence selling price coupled with high coe make the purchase price rather on the high side. Sad and poignant. Again, kudos to Goat for the great service rendered and hopefully opportunities will knock again to get a Beemer once more as my ride. You’re welcome bro, always happy to assist you and thank you for coming by! Enjoyed the time with you and am glad you found something you like, you can rest assure I confirm keep you in touch when any exciting promo comes along. Haha 😂 you know you can come by for coffee any time if you want, I’m just a text/call away. On 12/24/2022 at 8:16 AM, Shouyi said: @Hamburger makes me wanna go and try too, haha. Recently tried the 116i with executive goat. It is a fine handling car with great interior build quality. Just hoped it come with more power. Come come bro, any time for you too. I’m just a call/text away lei. 😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AriesGoat 5th Gear December 25, 2022 Share December 25, 2022 On 12/24/2022 at 9:42 AM, shrjun said: How did you contact this Goat haha. My SE was this wishy washy lady who I wish knew more about the car. Never a good sign if the customer knows more. Hey, thank you, have replied your pm. 😊 On 12/24/2022 at 12:52 PM, oleoleole said: Those who are interested, let's do a grp buy when COE goes down below $50K! Hehe. Side track abit - the outgoing 318i is having clearance at $200K too. Cat B car with higher performance, I'm also intrigued. But too bad the package is botak (no free servicing, 3yrs warranty only)... Whe I bought my current 216i GT in Jun'21, I got it at below $130K with free 5yrs wty +5yrs svcing 😜 Hi, I’m here any time if you need me or any information regarding BMW promotion. Cheers! On 12/24/2022 at 9:56 AM, Daniu82 said: I think he was from Skoda. My SE too. @AriesGoat Hey bro, yeah I was from Skoda haha.. come by for a coffee any time, a few Skoda bros switched camp already. 🤭🤣 On 12/24/2022 at 6:50 PM, Acegab said: COE 50k go buy Tesla model Y le. Don't need even look at X1 🤣 Take a look at the IX3 and I4. Won’t disappoint you, especially on the handling part and built quality. And yeah @Rskc, it’s true that conti cars even the ones in b&b segment retain their value very well, especially when bought at a good deal during high COE period, even when COE drop (ordinary brand will have to adjust their new car sale price at low COE period leading to lower resale at low COE times) , the value retention will still be higher leading to lesser loss. https://www.thedrive.com/news/bmw-among-top-3-most-reliable-brands-in-consumer-reports-ranking-for-first-time On 12/24/2022 at 10:00 AM, Rskc said: Sucks right?!?! Haha...🤣 When I traded in my 4+yr 3ser with high OT for another bimmer back in 2019, I was amazed by how fast sime darby used division got rid of it -> 2~3 weeks! Sime darby got 2 sales (sold new and used) in a space of 2months! Power of branding. And bimmer is not known for its reliability once after 5yrs! 😄 ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...