Kopites Supersonic September 14, 2020 Share September 14, 2020 49 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: 6 months max, no expectations. See how it will turn out after covod , may call it a day, will be busily doing nothing for now. Shouldn't it be one month for one year of service? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ToyotaShuttle 5th Gear September 14, 2020 Share September 14, 2020 21 minutes ago, Kopites said: Shouldn't it be one month for one year of service? Read your contract and the manpower laws. There is no fixed retrenchment benefit (unless written in contract). Some coy give 1 month/yr, others 3/4 month. Some stingy ones give 1/2 month and some shitty ones don't give at all also can. 6 months is a cap la. Otherwise those work 20 years have a windfall? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic September 14, 2020 Share September 14, 2020 (edited) work 20 years ... get 20 months after kena “R” ... can join another company ... seems like some dont mind kena “R”? Edited September 14, 2020 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic September 14, 2020 Share September 14, 2020 7 hours ago, ToyotaShuttle said: Read your contract and the manpower laws. There is no fixed retrenchment benefit (unless written in contract). Some coy give 1 month/yr, others 3/4 month. Some stingy ones give 1/2 month and some shitty ones don't give at all also can. 6 months is a cap la. Otherwise those work 20 years have a windfall? Two decades ago my ex company they did gave out one month per year cap at 20 to 25 months depend on seniority and position. It was so called "voluntary retrenchment". Some of them did got a windfall. Many of those managerial level with 15 above per month were at or near retirement age. There is also a contract to be signed prohibiting joining a rival company or in the same industry. Unfortunately I wasn't one of the group. Stayed put and the company increased my pay double the responsibility . Literally mean cover mountain mountain sea. After one year it was my turn "voluntary retrechment". Hahaha Btw it was an american chemical mnc. Late 90s. 🤭 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ToyotaShuttle 5th Gear September 15, 2020 Share September 15, 2020 (edited) 24 minutes ago, Kopites said: Two decades ago my ex company they did gave out one month per year cap at 20 to 25 months depend on seniority and position. It was so called "voluntary retrenchment". Some of them did got a windfall. Many of those managerial level with 15 above per month were at or near retirement age. There is also a contract to be signed prohibiting joining a rival company or in the same industry. Unfortunately I wasn't one of the group. Stayed put and the company increased my pay double the responsibility . Literally mean cover mountain mountain sea. After one year it was my turn "voluntary retrechment". Hahaha Btw it was an american chemical mnc. Late 90s. 🤭 Wow. sounds shiok ! But thinking about the non-compete, some more shiok than others. Those general function jobs like HR, procurement, finance, etc can easily find job outside of the industry. Those engineers are out of luck and really have to retire! Edited September 15, 2020 by ToyotaShuttle Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 15, 2020 Share September 15, 2020 ok...so whats new https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/manpower/experts-expect-more-bad-news-in-the-coming-months?utm_medium=Social&utm_campaign=STFB&utm_source=Facebook&fbclid=IwAR3bOxgiPq0UvtcqcOilV-vTRdkgo7XEQsBSSS9YXl-3jI8GjzUNSDAdtdI#Echobox=1600129083 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twister 5th Gear September 15, 2020 Share September 15, 2020 (edited) 31 minutes ago, RadX said: ok...so whats new https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/manpower/experts-expect-more-bad-news-in-the-coming-months?utm_medium=Social&utm_campaign=STFB&utm_source=Facebook&fbclid=IwAR3bOxgiPq0UvtcqcOilV-vTRdkgo7XEQsBSSS9YXl-3jI8GjzUNSDAdtdI#Echobox=1600129083 Yes, this one no need expert to tell us.. I am on 4 day week and doing 3 person job after 2 of my teammates were gone last month. Expecting no 13th bonus also, Boss will tell you got job for you already steal laugh liao.. still want bonus....😥 Edited September 15, 2020 by Twister Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
bsswan 6th Gear September 15, 2020 Share September 15, 2020 1 hour ago, ToyotaShuttle said: Wow. sounds shiok ! But thinking about the non-compete, some more shiok than others. Those general function jobs like HR, procurement, finance, etc can easily find job outside of the industry. Those engineers are out of luck and really have to retire! Non-compete clauses are generally not enforceable. There are several test cases (I know outside SG anyway) that run along the lines of; "You laid me off." "You cannot limit who I work for given my education/experience. You cannot force me to do other work that I don't know." "It is against my human rights to prevent me working for whomever I want." I was laid off many years ago, and went through the same process/argument but ended up working for whatever company I wanted to anyway. They couldn't enforce their own paperwork but the key is to know that when you sign it, or at least look at the wording extra carefully to confirm. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged September 15, 2020 Share September 15, 2020 18 hours ago, Ct3833 said: More to come, have not included the 3,400 from SIA and many more, plus myself 😪. I believe sia is a global platform with much presence world wide. *** In the new start-up entailing an initial investment of $100 million, Tata Sons, the holding company of the $109 billion Tata group, has a 51% stake and Singapore Airlines the remainder. The airline, which is awaiting a licence from the aviation regulator, plans to connect several metro cities on its network and will be a full-service airline—the first such in India since liquor baron Vijay Mallya’s Kingfisher Airlines Ltd took to the skies in May 2005; Kingfisher Airlines was grounded in October 2012 under the weight of accumulated losses and heavy debt. Tata-SIA plans to have a fleet of 20 planes initially, with the first of them expected to land in India in September. The civil aviation ministry, meanwhile, has sought a progress report from the Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) on the grant of a licence to Tata-SIA. *** https://m.economictimes.com/tech/ites/singapore-airlines-wipro-discuss-bpo-deal/articleshow/1286578.cms?utm_source=email_pwa&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=socialsharebuttons *** The Straits Times reported last week that Singapore Airlines may shut its flying school, the Singapore Flying College in Seletar, as part of an overall review of its pilot training programme. Sources said that the airline is looking at moving the training outside Singapore where air space is less tight and costs are lower. SIA did not confirm or deny if the school would be closed, saying only that training requirements are constantly reviewed and that the airline remains committed to developing pilot resources in-house. The school also has a campus in Jandakot, Perth. *** Most are already outsource. The vendor will have a tough time ascwell. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 15, 2020 Share September 15, 2020 9 hours ago, Wt_know said: work 20 years ... get 20 months after kena “R” ... can join another company ... seems like some dont mind kena “R”? During the older days when times are good, one can lend a new job with same or better pay easily from another company after getting a package, but not in today's market. The world economy has shifted towards AIs , big data, gig economy etc, covid 19, in addition to injecting business fall out, has also accelerated the change in the way business is carried out. Cutting the story short , those get retrenched today may not be able to get back to the workforce for awhile, and be prepared to accept compromise. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 15, 2020 Share September 15, 2020 11 hours ago, Kopites said: Shouldn't it be one month for one year of service? in a lot of American MNC, the cap is 6 months. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged September 15, 2020 Author Share September 15, 2020 Just came across this advertisement Since this is a car forum, let me help our fellow retrenched bros by connecting you to a relevant job. Salary can be up to $4000, experienced in driving a luxurious car has added advantage, must be able to 講華語. Quick, there are already 79 applicants. 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic September 15, 2020 Share September 15, 2020 female director chio or not? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic September 15, 2020 Share September 15, 2020 1 minute ago, Mockngbrd said: female director chio or not? don't care "high net worth worth" ... double worth ... sure worth it ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic September 15, 2020 Share September 15, 2020 Just now, Wt_know said: don't care "high net worth worth" ... double worth ... sure worth it ... if chio, den faster pump full tank Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic September 15, 2020 Share September 15, 2020 1 hour ago, Albeniz said: Just came across this advertisement Since this is a car forum, let me help our fellow retrenched bros by connecting you to a relevant job. Salary can be up to $4000, experienced in driving a luxurious car has added advantage, must be able to 講華語. Quick, there are already 79 applicants. Phwah!!! Only if I kena a big payout...then can apply for this retirement job to kill time... Pay - 4k more than enuf...if chio, 2.5k I also take. ticked Work days - ticked Mandarin - 勾傋狗够 ticked Class 3 - 自排,手排都行 ticked Safe driver - drive hard, drive safe, use rubber if needed. 2 offsprings were planned. ticked Luxurious car experience - can go showroom test drive test drive first. ticked HNW experience - I ever used toilets at Ritz Calton, Raffles, Capella... liked any HNW individual would... so...ticked 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 15, 2020 Share September 15, 2020 1 hour ago, Albeniz said: Just came across this advertisement Since this is a car forum, let me help our fellow retrenched bros by connecting you to a relevant job. Salary can be up to $4000, experienced in driving a luxurious car has added advantage, must be able to 講華語. Quick, there are already 79 applicants. Can sent me the link? I am interested Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic September 15, 2020 Share September 15, 2020 (edited) 6 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Can sent me the link? I am interested no V8 no talk ... when drive alone ... pedal to metal ... RON100 full tank ! ownself pump ownself hor ... not “pump fulltank” hor ... lol Edited September 15, 2020 by Wt_know ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...