COVID-19: Retrenchments

Albeniz

2 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

I can see some degree of damage control is being done to prevent further doxxing 🤣

Any self respecting employer or company would not want to indulge in such rhetorics about unrealistic Singaporeans employees online. It simply reflects badly on the firm. But his training business is heavily dependent on the govt and MOE, then it's obvious why he is posturing as such lah. 

To me, he's another Calvin Cheng. 

when a grad come out from ntu ... nus ... 

they were told ... the sky is the limit ... the world is your oyster 

settle no less ... starting pay ST shows no $4.5k-$4.8k no talk ...

that's expectation ... but reality?

your address also jialat ...

i am sure some hiring manager see candidate live in atas condo or landed ... surely think he is not up for the job?

laopeh is rich ... so son and daughter must find job no $20k/mth no talk?

6 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

when a grad come out from ntu ... nus ... 

they were told ... the sky is the limit ... the world is your oyster 

settle no less ... starting pay ST shows no $4.5k-$4.8k no talk ...

that's expectation ... but reality?

free market mah

if insist that high starting pay, then continue to wait until a company offers lor

and cannot complain the world is not fair if there's none

On 8/29/2020 at 6:40 PM, Jellandross said:

Hiring locals also not easy

This is very dangerous mindset.. Self-entitled.. 

What I feel is that the more the government step in and sai yang these people, the more these people will get overboard and felt that, its okay got government backing. That will cause more and more of Self-entitled issue. 

1 hour ago, Mustank said:

7.6 is increase during the 15 years

before and after figures, wait for those with stats to show

I see, thank you for the clarification 

1 hour ago, Kopites said:

Do you know why only Singaporean can apply.

They have hit the FW headcount limit. Need more Singaporean headcount to get in more fw.

One can get the monthly update on the number of various different type of "pass/permit" allowed to employ.

https://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-permits/work-permit-for-foreign-worker/foreign-worker-levy/calculate-foreign-worker-quota

Here you can check.

For more specific details you do need to enter company info / singpass ( dedicated personnel) to access those info. Info updated every month.

15 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

This is very dangerous mindset.. Self-entitled.. 

What I feel is that the more the government step in and sai yang these people, the more these people will get overboard and felt that, its okay got government backing. That will cause more and more of Self-entitled issue. 

I don't know what is weekend off during my first 5-7 years of career. Saturday OT until Sunday morning was the norm for any IT jobs during those days. No OT pay except taxi claims. Commuting from east to west for site visits were a given. Sunday was spent sleeping and recuperating to repeat the cycle for the next week. I see it as a baptism by fire for any IT noobs and took it as part of my career progression.

I'm guessing this kind of job is probably unthinkable to strawberries gen nowadays.

11 minutes ago, Jellandross said:

I don't know what is weekend off during my first 5-7 years of career. Saturday OT until Sunday morning was the norm for any IT jobs during those days. No OT pay except taxi claims. Commuting from east to west for site visits were a given. Sunday was spent sleeping and recuperating to repeat the cycle for the next week. I see it as a baptism by fire for any IT noobs and took it as part of my career progression.

I'm guessing this kind of job is probably unthinkable to strawberries gen nowadays.

Ya.. If these people mindset don't change and felt everything is their entitlement and got GOVERMENT backing.. We will lose out.. So government please don't too pamper these people. They need to exposed to the real world and not hide under government shelter.

On 8/29/2020 at 6:40 PM, Jellandross said:

1 hour ago, RH1667 said:

Siao Liao, old man like me if go interview next time better kneel down to answer questions to show I am hungry for the job 😭😔🥺

EAAA870B-856B-4D16-A964-7F369D32AD07.jpeg

1 hour ago, RH1667 said:

Siao Liao, old man like me if go interview next time better kneel down to answer questions to show I am hungry for the job 😭😔🥺

Mental note to self - next time go interview don't bring a Starbucks cup. Bring a Dog Bowl. 

6 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

So India exports to us grows by 7.6Bn? How much did Indian companies invested here? How many local jobs did that created? Vs how many local jobs they took up? 

Assuming there are 1m Indian workers here (their govt numbers) and each sends back just 20k a year, that's 20bn income for India from Singapore.  So who actually benefits from See Kar?

If these information are not published, they can talk till cow comes home.

Tata, infosys, cognizant, ntt , and the list goes on. Obviously these company help support the growth of the IT jobs. But for whom the IT job goes to, i believe it was question in parliment and none the wiser.

Who else can support the IT? NCS and starhub ?

Edited by Sdf4786k