COVID-19: Retrenchments

Albeniz

15 hours ago, bsswan said:

You are basically spotting differences between government linked and private airlines.... LH and Qantas both private and BA (IAG) likely to also let a lot go as recovery will be a long time. Qatar likely has other reasons, I think theirs is using COVID as an excuse to cover the overspending they have done for years to compete and gain market share with Emirates.

No reason to retrench yet when government is settling 75% of salaries for months to come. Can be a different story a few months from now.

The thing is, and i don't know the rules/laws, is it possible to have that unpaid leave on rotation so pilots and crew can keep up their hours? Combined with simulator training it could be a useful way to "part-time" staff and keep everybody legal?

Ok, is there any other government linked airlines? that is not retrenching?

Certain big countries have lots internal flights so their load drop is not that big.

2 hours ago, Wind30 said:

Ok, is there any other government linked airlines? that is not retrenching?

Certain big countries have lots internal flights so their load drop is not that big.

There aren't a lot of government linked airlines left, since in most regions it is not allowed. Some situations have changed in the current circumstance with LH, for example, getting huge, temporary, bailouts/loans from the German government.

I haven't heard of Vietnam Airlines or Garuda, for example, doing retrenchments.

1 hour ago, bsswan said:

There aren't a lot of government linked airlines left, since in most regions it is not allowed. Some situations have changed in the current circumstance with LH, for example, getting huge, temporary, bailouts/loans from the German government.

I haven't heard of Vietnam Airlines or Garuda, for example, doing retrenchments.

garuda retrench.
https://www.thejakartapost.com/news/2020/06/03/garuda-lays-off-180-contract-pilots.html

Vietnam airlines cut 50% of staff this year. Stop working. 

https://www.nasdaq.com/articles/vietnam-airlines-to-lose-%242.12-bln-in-revenue-halve-staff-this-year-over-coronavirus-2020

1 hour ago, Wind30 said:

Garuda numbers are not significant if majority are already retirement age and contracted - change pocket from left side to right side - but they went mostly for furlough.

Garuda has quite a domestic network so furlough helps quickly rebuild that, as-and-when.

VN, I hadn't seen/heard that news certainly, so thanks.

14 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

FT go 1st lo

depends who wins the erection lor. If business as usual, confirm cum chop tell you "FT create jobs for locals". LOL.

Based on historical records and the way most companies are staffed now, most likely still true blue locals will go first during retrenchment. 😞

Just now, Kangadrool said:

depends who wins the erection lor. If business as usual, confirm cum chop tell you "FT create jobs for locals". LOL.

Based on historical records and the way most companies are staffed now, most likely still true blue locals will go first during retrenchment. 😞

Emirates Airways flight crew are mostly FT.  They are 1st to go lo

13 minutes ago, bsswan said:

Garuda numbers are not significant if majority are already retirement age and contracted - change pocket from left side to right side - but they went mostly for furlough.

Garuda has quite a domestic network so furlough helps quickly rebuild that, as-and-when.

VN, I hadn't seen/heard that news certainly, so thanks.

the point I was making is that I wasn't cherry picking when I quoted those airlines. I am pretty sure almost all airlines are reducing staff one way or another. Why is SIA doing different? Just because of elections? 

I really hope SIA does the right thing in its own interests. Spending government money to stave off retrenchments is probably not the right thing. 

GE over ... the "R" word lai liao ... fast and furious? [sweatdrop] 

who is the new NTUC Sec Gen? hehe ... 

2020-07-15_145905.jpg

On 6/15/2020 at 11:24 AM, Watwheels said:

I was reading this yesterday. Overseas grad with honours drive prime mover. This probably truly reflects the state of hiring for those who needs a job.

https://www.todayonline.com/gen-y-speaks/gen-y-speaks-i-am-overseas-graduate-starting-new-career-prime-mover-driver-and-im-proud

Actually the couple of years leading to 2020 are already in bad shape. Only local news still feature how high of a starting pay a fresh grad can get. LoL...

Truth be told there are openings in blue collar jobs but no takers. This grad has tried govt ministries, admin jobs etc. It's either no vacancies or pay too low. A grad has to go drive container lorry. And the class 4 he earned during his NS as a driver vocation. At least this one can adapt and work hard rather than whine and comprain.

This fella took an honors degree in politics and history with the intention to work in the UK. 

Is it really a surprise that he can't find a job in Singapore? I thought we are supposed to be moving away from being overly focused on education? Anyway, someone with a useless degree isn't really indicative of our economy or job market.

Some bros here might be feeling stress and fearful.

This's a journey that you have to walk alone and the only way to get thru is to be positive and keep the faith. trust me, you come out of the experience a better person. Just take chee soon Juan as an example 

I walked the journey alone multiple times, years ago. It's tough, not going to lie about it. Two things I learned from the journey ,

keep positive and don't vent your frustration on your love ones.

f0baf3c54ff7e3a64ac3ce21113bca75--quotes-about-god-scriptures-for-strength-hard-times.jpg.7d27402348a9fa7df4d8e7be19566740.jpguplifting-quotes-8.thumb.jpg.6f90335b6c6ff57cf9be0523498fe775.jpgroberthschuller1-2x.thumb.jpg.76a1edad14c9399f7d9999ecd8446e87.jpg

Edited by Staff69
  • Praise 14

23 minutes ago, ToyotaShuttle said:

This fella took an honors degree in politics and history with the intention to work in the UK. 

Is it really a surprise that he can't find a job in Singapore? I thought we are supposed to be moving away from being overly focused on education? Anyway, someone with a useless degree isn't really indicative of our economy or job market.

container driver can make 4K per month with OT.

better than grab or taxi.

1 minute ago, Ho2786 said:

container driver can make 4K per month with OT.

better than grab or taxi.

Eh you got chop anot?

Retrenchment is part and parcel of a person life stages, just as employment is as well.

nothing to be fearful about.

everything to be prepared for

As i mentioned some years ago, there is no such thing as job for life.  Working for a single company, your whole life just doesnt cut it anymore.

in fact, look to move every 5 years or so.  Doing that 5 times in your whole life would cover about 30yrs of action in between. You would also hv a well rounded experience in various organisations and accumulated a decent network of professional contacts.

my biggest mistake was overstaying  in one company. 

7 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

Retrenchment is part and parcel of a person life stages, just as employment is as well.

As i mentioned some years ago, there is no such thing as job for life.  Working for a single company, your whole life just doesnt cut it anymore.

in fact, look to move every 5 years or so.  Doing that 5 times in your whole life would cover about 30yrs of action in between. You would also hv a well rounded experience in various organisations and accumulated a decent network of professional contacts.

wah boss....i stayed 15 years already now then you say?

can turn back the clock boh?

😬

5 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

No wonder new generation confirmed move every 4-6 years, never stay longer than 6 years. Unlike last time most people once found a not bad company, they would tend to stay there until their retirement. Even the person jumped ship to the company at the age of 32, the person can work 30 years until 62 retirement age.

2 minutes ago, Enye said:

wah boss....i stayed 15 years already now then you say?

can turn back the clock boh?

😬

Leave and find another place