Sdf4786k Twincharged August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 25 minutes ago, Yewheng said: Convert to local, bosses need contribute employees cpf leh.. That is already paying extra money. So if u were a FT, they actively discourage you to convert unless you in the higher paying range. Its still a loophole that need to be plug. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 7 hours ago, Fcw75 said: CECA does not give Indian nationals automatic access to citizenship, PR status, employment: MTIhttps://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/mti-ceca-indian-nationals-citizenship-pr-employment-pass-13059698 Frankly this is the truth. 1 hour ago, Hyde333 said: Really? Quite a number whom I know already become PR or new citizen already! This is precisely CCS has to be clear by giving hard figures, he has to provide the statistic on how many PRs are from which country , how many E and S passes have been issued to people from which country, no point keep talking, how do i know if this is not a other face masks saga? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ToyotaShuttle 5th Gear August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 I think this is a good move from the government but remain convinced that there are better ways to safeguard locals. 1. Set up EP levy and increase WP levy. The proceeds should be used to benefit locals in terms of education and training. None of that bulls**t skills future shit that only benefits their kakis running the training schools and where we see our elderly learn bulls**t skills just to attend the courses to pass time and get free tea time makan 2. Increase taxes on foreigners. I don't understand why they are currently on the same tax scheme as locals when locals are giving so much more benefit to the country (esp males) The effect of these 2 will make it more expensive for an employer to hire a foreigner that isn't essential and give locals a fair chance. Even if HR dept is headed by CECA, I reckon the CEO will take a closer look if his manpower cost is becoming out of control. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 https://asianaviation.com/rolls-royce-consolidating-operations-in-singapore-closing-some-operations-in-great-britain/ Rolls-Royce consolidating operations in Singapore, closing some operations in Great Britain The company told Singapore media outlets in July that it would cut about 240 jobs or 24 percent of its Singapore workforce. Mostly technical roles will be affected by the layoffs, which will start in mid-August as part of a global restructuring, the company told The Business Times. Rolls-Royce employs about 1,000 people in Singapore making fan blades and assembling and testing engines at Seletar Aerospace Park. This excludes its maintenance, repair and overhaul joint venture with SIA Engineering. Got a friend working there 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 3 minutes ago, Windwaver said: https://asianaviation.com/rolls-royce-consolidating-operations-in-singapore-closing-some-operations-in-great-britain/ Rolls-Royce consolidating operations in Singapore, closing some operations in Great Britain The company told Singapore media outlets in July that it would cut about 240 jobs or 24 percent of its Singapore workforce. Mostly technical roles will be affected by the layoffs, which will start in mid-August as part of a global restructuring, the company told The Business Times. Rolls-Royce employs about 1,000 people in Singapore making fan blades and assembling and testing engines at Seletar Aerospace Park. This excludes its maintenance, repair and overhaul joint venture with SIA Engineering. Got a friend working there Ppl who lay off could have a niche skill. How to look for new job? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 (edited) 13 minutes ago, ToyotaShuttle said: I think this is a good move from the government but remain convinced that there are better ways to safeguard locals. 1. Set up EP levy and increase WP levy. The proceeds should be used to benefit locals in terms of education and training. None of that bulls**t skills future shit that only benefits their kakis running the training schools and where we see our elderly learn bulls**t skills just to attend the courses to pass time and get free tea time makan 2. Increase taxes on foreigners. I don't understand why they are currently on the same tax scheme as locals when locals are giving so much more benefit to the country (esp males) The effect of these 2 will make it more expensive for an employer to hire a foreigner that isn't essential and give locals a fair chance. Even if HR dept is headed by CECA, I reckon the CEO will take a closer look if his manpower cost is becoming out of control. Yesterday I tell the office computer guy A I wanna learn macro to help me automate some work but I Donno programming one. I ask him go where learn is easy for Computer idiot like me then computer guy b say: skill future fund Computer guy a face: Edited August 28, 2020 by Mustank 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 1 minute ago, Mustank said: Yesterday I tell the office computer guy A I wanna learn macro to help me automate some work but I Donno programming one. I ask him go where learn is easy for Computer idiot like me then computer guy b say: skill future fund Computer guy a face: Go to www.edx.org & check whether there is any training from Microsoft. For the process you want to automate, you can also "record new macro". After that, go through the coding. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 for folks that kept on harping on the slogan, "cant find Singaporeans to do the job", do have a read. https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/middle-aged-singaporeans-job-struggles-big-read-12487700 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 (edited) 9 hours ago, Ct3833 said: The effective way is to cap the permit quota, does anyone believe the well paid scholars do not know the solution ? If dont believe, that mean they are putting up a show. Or we men on the streets do not understand their problems? Or men in the ivory tower do not understand our problems? Cap the quota is better than raising the min salary. If this is what MOM think that increasing min salary can solve the problem, then there will be one day foreigners will be getting super high salary, esp for the EP holder group. Edited August 28, 2020 by 13177 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 (edited) 39 minutes ago, ToyotaShuttle said: I think this is a good move from the government but remain convinced that there are better ways to safeguard locals. 1. Set up EP levy and increase WP levy. The proceeds should be used to benefit locals in terms of education and training. None of that bulls**t skills future shit that only benefits their kakis running the training schools and where we see our elderly learn bulls**t skills just to attend the courses to pass time and get free tea time makan 2. Increase taxes on foreigners. I don't understand why they are currently on the same tax scheme as locals when locals are giving so much more benefit to the country (esp males) The effect of these 2 will make it more expensive for an employer to hire a foreigner that isn't essential and give locals a fair chance. Even if HR dept is headed by CECA, I reckon the CEO will take a closer look if his manpower cost is becoming out of control. Nono.. Please don't increase wp levy.. The wp levy should decrease to help construction sector tide over this difficult period now.. Not increase and make construction project more expensive. Doing business already very difficult time now.. So please don't this this sucide move of increasing wp levy. And always remember when the people are broke, the government is also broke. As where does government get the money from? So don't increase in levy and make companies more broke. It does not help anything but make things worst. Edited August 28, 2020 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 9 hours ago, Ct3833 said: The effective way is to cap the permit quota, does anyone believe the well paid scholars do not know the solution ? If dont believe, that mean they are putting up a show. Or we men on the streets do not understand their problems? Or men in the ivory tower do not understand our problems? Same as COE. just reduce. Simple as ABC. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 i remember last time they said during good times, let in more FTs is to act as cushion and save jobs for locals when crisis hit so now we are in crisis, how come i still read that majority of those retrenched are Singaporeans? shouldn't it be more FTs tio pok and sent home? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ToyotaShuttle 5th Gear August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 14 minutes ago, Yewheng said: Nono.. Please don't increase wp levy.. The wp levy should decrease to help construction sector tide over this difficult period now.. Not increase and make construction project more expensive. Doing business already very difficult time now.. So please don't this this sucide move of increasing wp levy. And always remember when the people are broke, the government is also broke. As where does government get the money from? So don't increase in levy and make companies more broke. It does not help anything but make things worst. Then as a low wage worker, can I also say please don't decrease number of FTs in the country? They come here and earn lower salary driving down costs for me in industries such as banking, engineering, etc. Aren't these sectors also suffering during this difficult period? FTs come here and spend more money (especially the PMETs) in Singapore whereas those on WP mainly save to go home and live like kings. I think we should bring in more FTs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 An la an la...mai kia 🙄 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 23 minutes ago, Yewheng said: Nono.. Please don't increase wp levy.. The wp levy should decrease to help construction sector tide over this difficult period now.. Not increase and make construction project more expensive. Doing business already very difficult time now.. So please don't this this sucide move of increasing wp levy. And always remember when the people are broke, the government is also broke. As where does government get the money from? So don't increase in levy and make companies more broke. It does not help anything but make things worst. Construction sector is widely used to drive GDP. On the other hand, it creates economic bubble. Let it tank never mind. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/government-economy/suntec-singapore-cuts-85-jobs-as-events-business-dries-up 85 jobs lost. 60 locals and 25 FT. 84% local and 96% local post retrenchment. This and the new min EP wage policy will drive a lot of EP holders to apply for PR. I am sure ICA will be very swamped soon. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 (edited) 15 minutes ago, ToyotaShuttle said: Then as a low wage worker, can I also say please don't decrease number of FTs in the country? They come here and earn lower salary driving down costs for me in industries such as banking, engineering, etc. Aren't these sectors also suffering during this difficult period? FTs come here and spend more money (especially the PMETs) in Singapore whereas those on WP mainly save to go home and live like kings. I think we should bring in more FTs. You really need to understand, it is businesses that operate here that is contributing to the economy, but increasingly business expenditure in such difficult time how does it help businesses? When the country is broke, the government will also broke. There is no 2 ways about it. Actually by right if employer do not need to contribute to employees cpf who is local and PRs. Then it will be equal playing field in terms on salaries between locals and FT. However as we know it is impossible to remove employers on cpf contribution to employees. One way to level up is to have levy for EP. That does not mean it is actually good, but as in no choice to make it level in salary package all together. Now wp levy issue, construction sector is struggling, then there will have many stoppages coming along the way due to covid-19 and if later another claster found in this FW dormitories and then affect these construction project how? You want to make matter worst by increasing WP levy? If construction sector collapsed, who is going to build buildings? Who is going to build bridges? Who? Even if they do not collapses, the increase in cost, who is going to pay for it? Not the government the government will always increase direct and indirect taxes to cover the losses, it is we that suffer the most. So you still want government to further increase wp levy? Edited August 28, 2020 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 28 minutes ago, 13177 said: Cap the quota is better than raising the min salary. If this is what MOM think that increasing min salary can solve the problem, then there will be one day foreigners will be getting super high salary, esp for the EP holder group. Let's not believe that they do not understand, it is the other way around, they thought we men on the streets can be fooled. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...