COVID-19: Retrenchments

Albeniz

On 8/26/2020 at 1:52 PM, Voodooman said:

Won't help people who are making $10k a month but if you are making $3.9k a month, you can ask for a pay raise soon. Lol

Expand  

Thats may not pan out as it should.

They may still pay those folks higher and cut the singaporean pay as a form of punishment. Not happy can resign lor.

Maybe its just me, but I sense the non-singaporean building a resilient community by building a eco system with good villager bonding.

To me, I strongly feel that we should start by acknowledging that there is discrimination first and foremost. And whether it is shameful to have that kind of behaviour. Because the message if I read in between the line of meritocracy is going the way of the dodo bird. We should no longer have the believe that working hard and having a good education will get us a piece of pie in the land of milk and honey.

And if there are discrimination, outright identify the group from the single source and have a people dialogue to speak about the problem now. Rather than iffy , certain group lah, certain banks lah, certainly not how I imagine a leader to correct the situation.

I getting more confuse that it certainly is good to have FT because they provide jobs for Singapore. But not defining what kind of job at what salary range. For all we know, when FT come, they need a place to stay. What better way than having created a Housing agent job to provide a place for them.

See .. create a niche job. 

The devil is in the detail.

Edited by Sdf4786k

Ask them to have a minimim wage for locals, they said not feasible.

But it’s ok to keep increasing the minimum wage for EP.

Totally targeting the wrong issue, useless minister.

As mentioned many times here and elsewhere, dependent pass shouldn’t even be allow to apply for job. 

Edited by Fcw75

wah ... sibei shiok ah ... it's no $4.5K no talk!

why not control quota but raise ceiling? i see create more problems

a. FT comes naturally expect min pay is $4.5K ... to apply EP

b. SC (the cannot make it type) ... no ability no experience expect $4K starting pay benchmark FT $4.5K

c. indirectly, level up all salary ... salary up is pay based on performance and quality not FT vs SC

e. simply create more loopholes for employer and employee to manipulate

DF7898F8-B824-4FF4-9FC8-A94F2F60C351.jpeg

On 8/27/2020 at 5:14 AM, Jamesc said:

Yeah degree is nothing special.

Must learn a special skill like massage.

I got opening for a male masseuse to massage handsome male models.

Always get a big tip at the end.

:grin:

Expand  

You mean always get `something' at the end of the tip? 🤣

  On 8/26/2020 at 11:06 PM, Yewheng said:

Saw this Facebook post, interesting. Notice the use of keyword that computer to determine which resume to accept or reject before it reaches human to vet through cv. So its time to learn how to write cv that has less chance of computer to reject it in the 1st place. Maybe authorities could create some courses for people on how to write resume to keep up with Morden time where now some company uses computer to sort out resume before it reaches human vet. 

Expand  

The above is not new, but I know a lot of locals will probably be surprised about the above 

Today, big MNCs receive thousands of applications per week from people not just from SG but also from around the world.  It is not productive for a  HR person to go through that thousands of applications as the qualified ones are only in hundreds.

So they use ATS which is getting better by the day to sieve out qualified applicants before it is handed over to a human.

The ATS, if anyone of you have witness it before, goes by keyword tracking. The HR person can "code" in keywords they are looking for or other properties that they want for example acceptable salary expectation

This ATS is as old school as amazon started the e-book business but  yet so many locals are unaware about it and still think all resumes are read by humans first  If they don't know how to craft that resume to beat the ATS first,  there is no chance it will ever reach a human regardless of the candidate's experience. Or they are better off applying to a SME who probably still using HR person to sieve out resumes.

Edited by Icedbs

On 8/27/2020 at 10:12 AM, Sdf4786k said:

Thats may not pan out as it should.

They may still pay those folks higher and cut the singaporean pay as a form of punishment. Not happy can resign lor.

Maybe its just me, but I sense the non-singaporean building a resilient community by building a eco system with good villager bonding.

To me, I strongly feel that we should start by acknowledging that there is discrimination first and foremost. And whether it is shameful to have that kind of behaviour. Because the message if I read in between the line of meritocracy is going the way of the dodo bird. We should no longer have the believe that working hard and having a good education will get us a piece of pie in the land of milk and honey.

And if there are discrimination, outright identify the group from the single source and have a people dialogue to speak about the problem now. Rather than iffy , certain group lah, certain banks lah, certainly not how I imagine a leader to correct the situation.

I getting more confuse that it certainly is good to have FT because they provide jobs for Singapore. But not defining what kind of job at what salary range. For all we know, when FT come, they need a place to stay. What better way than having created a Housing agent job to provide a place for them.

See .. create a niche job. 

The devil is in the detail.

Expand  

We definitely need to get rid of discrimination against locals in our own country but that is a separate discussion. 

Assuming there is a $3.5k position that opens up, the FT applicants won't even be shortlisted as they must be paid $4.5k a month now, this effectively eliminates a lot of competition for the local applicants. 

Hope this will drive companies to hire and train more fresh graduates and or junior PMET with lesser working experience. They are supposed to be the real Singapore core in 10-20 years time. 

Edited by Voodooman

I have a question, does the new min salary of $4.5k ($5k for financial services) applies to existing EP holders?  If so, come Oct 1, is the company legally required to increase the salary of existing $3.9k to $4.49k a month EP employees to $4.5k?  I will be very worried if I am a lowly paid EP holder now. 😓

Very very tough decision for business in an environment whereby it is hard to grow revenue and everyone is just cutting cost. 

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/government-economy/higher-minimum-salary-criteria-for-employment-and-s-pass-applicants

Edited by Voodooman

On 8/27/2020 at 12:54 PM, Voodooman said:

I have a question, does the new min salary of $4.5k ($5k for financial services) applies to existing EP holders?  If so, come Oct 1, is the company legally required to increase the salary of existing $3.9k to $4.49k a month EP employees to $4.5k?  I will be very worried if I am a lowly paid EP holder now. 😓

Very very tough decision for business in an environment whereby it is hard to grow revenue and everyone is just cutting cost. 

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/government-economy/higher-minimum-salary-criteria-for-employment-and-s-pass-applicants

Expand  

Quote:

For renewal applicants, these new salary criteria will take effect from May 1 next year.

• Angry 1

On 8/27/2020 at 1:32 PM, Aloe111 said:

Quote:

For renewal applicants, these new salary criteria will take effect from May 1 next year.

Expand  

sounds like confirm salary increment without even need to negotiate? lol

On 8/27/2020 at 1:44 PM, Wt_know said:

sounds like confirm salary increment without even need to negotiate? lol

Expand  

Rising the min salary threshold during a deep recession and during good times can have widely different outcome hor... 

Dun know what the Fxxk r they doing...

Just set the Min wages for locals ...

Instead they set even higher wages for FTs?

Their village HR will have a way to circumvent this new ruling...

Singapore really love FTs deep deep..

Really WTF...

All I can conclude is that this is done purposely so as to NOT address the root cause of the entire issue, which is to impose quota on EPs.

If it's still status quo as now with no quota for EPs, what difference is raising the min. to $4.5k going to make? You don't limit foreigners coming in on EPs, companies won't be bothered to take up Singaporeans. 

I can see no soul searching has been done by PAP post GE. Its still business as usual. 

• Angry 1

On 8/27/2020 at 2:48 PM, Lethalstrike said:

All I can conclude is that this is done purposely so as to NOT address the root cause of the entire issue, which is to impose quota on EPs.

If it's still status quo as now with no quota for EPs, what difference is raising the min. to $4.5k going to make? You don't limit foreigners coming in on EPs, companies won't be bothered to take up Singaporeans. 

I can see no soul searching has been done by PAP post GE. Its still business as usual. 

Expand  

Ghoul has no soul.

On 8/27/2020 at 2:08 PM, Freeder said:

Dun know what the Fxxk r they doing...

Just set the Min wages for locals ...

Instead they set even higher wages for FTs?

Their village HR will have a way to circumvent this new ruling...

Singapore really love FTs deep deep..

Really WTF...

Expand  

Set minmim wage for locals? Like that it will put even less competitive advantage. At least rise minimum salary for EP.. There is higher chance that the employer will hire Singaporeans if the salary range is around 3 to 4k.

Expand  

It has been several years since the last increase in salary requirements.

Basically, though, the government is only adjusting for inflation so you are correct, no real change. The difference is that there are a lot of local workers not even seeing any increases in these same years.

Expand  

Ya lor.. Actually I just don't understand what government is thinking.. The one that we need to construct buildings, pave Road and etc.. These are work permit holders and companies need to pay levy. Then EP no levy at all.. Why not impost levy for EP to encourage companies to hire Singaporeans instead of foreigners? I feel impost levy for EP, if the amount collected is a lot, perhaps government could also reduce levy for WP so as to help out these companies that in need these workers to construct buildings and etc.. 

On 8/27/2020 at 3:16 PM, bsswan said:

It has been several years since the last increase in salary requirements.

Basically, though, the government is only adjusting for inflation so you are correct, no real change. The difference is that there are a lot of local workers not even seeing any increases in these same years.

Expand  

The salary requirement for EP was just raised in May 2020. From $3600 to $3900.

On 8/27/2020 at 3:20 PM, Fcw75 said:

The salary requirement for EP was just raised in May 2020. From $3600 to $3900.

Expand  

Even higher than some locals salary?! Foreigners salary is getting higher and higher, but many companies still hire them.