COVID-19: Retrenchments

Albeniz

On 8/25/2020 at 3:04 AM, Roh96 said:

It is natural, if you put a child here when he is small, he will grow up feeling like a sporean. I can't say the same if the child is put under international school and mix with foreign children.  

Expand  

There are still plenty of jobs going begging for people to apply. YET none are qualify for the good jobs.

This is one recent one for the picking

PROGRAMME MANAGER

ARGYLL SCOTT CONSULTING PTE. LTD.

Job level
Senior Management

Contract type
Contract, Full Time

Salary
S$28000 - S$32000

Job Description

Our client, a leading private bank is looking for a Programme Manager based in Singapore. It is a greenfield implementation as part of a major business initiative for the bank globally.

This is an initial 6 month contract role.

Requirements:

· Proven experience in Programme and Project Management at a global level

· Strong experience in Private Banking / Wealth Management

· At least one program or project level experience in Lending and / or Credit Risk

· Preferably both business and technology change experience

· Consulting background would be beneficial

Responsibilities:

· Define and implement plan for the implementation of a lending risk programme

· Work with technology to understand key requirements from a system and platform perspective.

The more average paying one is this from a local bank

PROJECT MANAGER

Job level
Professional

Contract type
Permanent, Full Time

Salary
S$15000 - S$19000

Job Description

Responsibilities:

Manage the project’s scope and timeline

Coordinate sprints, retrospective meetings and daily stand-ups

Coach team members in Agile frameworks

Be the point of contact for external communications and facilitate internal communication and effective collaboration

Work with product owners to handle backlogs and new requests

Resolve conflicts and remove obstacles that occur

Ensure deliverables are up to quality standards at the end of each sprint

Guide development teams to higher scrum maturity

Help build a productive environment where team members ‘own’ the product and enjoy working on it

Requirements:

Bachelor’s in Computer Science / Information Technology or equivalent

Minimum 10-12 years of experience as a Project Manager/Scrum Master

Experience in a Scrum Master role in banking environment

Excellent knowledge of Scrum techniques and artifacts (such as definition of done, user stories, automated testing, backlog refinement)

SCRUM Master Certification is an advantage

Self-starter with excellent leadership and team building skills

Ability to resolve complex problems creatively

Experience in managing senior stakeholder

Edited by Sdf4786k

On 8/25/2020 at 6:53 AM, Sdf4786k said:

tThere are still plenty of jobs going begging for people to apply. YET none are qualify for the good jobs.

This is one recent one for the picking

PROGRAMME MANAGER

ARGYLL SCOTT CONSULTING PTE. LTD.

Job level
Senior Management

Contract type
Contract, Full Time

Salary
S$28000 - S$32000

Job Description

Our client, a leading private bank is looking for a Programme Manager based in Singapore. It is a greenfield implementation as part of a major business initiative for the bank globally.

This is an initial 6 month contract role.

Requirements:

· Proven experience in Programme and Project Management at a global level

· Strong experience in Private Banking / Wealth Management

· At least one program or project level experience in Lending and / or Credit Risk

· Preferably both business and technology change experience

· Consulting background would be beneficial

Responsibilities:

· Define and implement plan for the implementation of a lending risk programme

· Work with technology to understand key requirements from a system and platform perspective.

The more average paying one is this from a local bank

PROJECT MANAGER

Job level
Professional

Contract type
Permanent, Full Time

Salary
S$15000 - S$19000

Job Description

Responsibilities:

Manage the project’s scope and timeline

Coordinate sprints, retrospective meetings and daily stand-ups

Coach team members in Agile frameworks

Be the point of contact for external communications and facilitate internal communication and effective collaboration

Work with product owners to handle backlogs and new requests

Resolve conflicts and remove obstacles that occur

Ensure deliverables are up to quality standards at the end of each sprint

Guide development teams to higher scrum maturity

Help build a productive environment where team members ‘own’ the product and enjoy working on it

Requirements:

Bachelor’s in Computer Science / Information Technology or equivalent

Minimum 10-12 years of experience as a Project Manager/Scrum Master

Experience in a Scrum Master role in banking environment

Excellent knowledge of Scrum techniques and artifacts (such as definition of done, user stories, automated testing, backlog refinement)

SCRUM Master Certification is an advantage

Self-starter with excellent leadership and team building skills

Ability to resolve complex problems creatively

Experience in managing senior stakeholder

Expand  

We are looking from outside and we think there are no one applying. But what is the real situation from the company perspective? 

They could have been flooded with CVs of applicants. Who knows right? Factors like hiring practice, hiring managers, HR managers, what quality of candidates they are looking for, etc.

• Sad 1

On 8/25/2020 at 7:16 AM, Roh96 said:

We are looking from outside and we think there are no one applying. But what is the real situation from the company perspective? 

They could have been flooded with CVs of applicants. Who knows right? Factors like hiring practice, hiring managers, HR managers, what quality of candidates they are looking for, etc.

Expand  

Yeap. For someone who can take on the scope of the 2nd job well, IMO, not easy to find in SG. 

Expand  

I heard from MOM once. Its entirely the bank prerogative to hire who they want as well as the "missing link" in most applicant. Something don't quite click..

And the local continues to search for the job as " no one owes you a living " maxim ...

On 8/25/2020 at 7:19 AM, Mockngbrd said:

Yeap. For someone who can take on the scope of the 2nd job well, IMO, not easy to find in SG. 

Expand  

As long as you follow the full 9 yards of story boarding and sprint and burn rate .. 

You are 90 % there.

Its only when you are :"fool" into believing the "done" for the task. And no maker checker. Thats where it goes downhill.

But if your team are well verse and you have a good product manager, the SCRUM team pretty much is on auto pilot.

On 8/25/2020 at 8:04 AM, Sdf4786k said:

As long as you follow the full 9 yards of story boarding and sprint and burn rate .. 

You are 90 % there.

Its only when you are :"fool" into believing the "done" for the task. And no maker checker. Thats where it goes downhill.

But if your team are well verse and you have a good product manager, the SCRUM team pretty much is on auto pilot.

Expand  

That's y good pm not ez to find. The scope look more like product owner liao. 

Edited by Mockngbrd

On 8/25/2020 at 9:33 AM, Mockngbrd said:

That's y good pm not ez to find. The scope look more like product owner liao. 

Expand  

And hence the local alway how liao .. thinking if work like nike .. just do it and show these people locals are good. 

Its actually the other way round. Telling people can be done if we follow methodology, making sure we dont skip the scrum and poc , set up cucumber / test plan.

But if you go in thinming, they pay me this much money , i must prove my worth by doing more, then u set yourself for failure. Because you wont be able to short cut the process of delivery of the baby in 4 months no matter how much effort u put in place.

Else we just hire 100 commandos and dont have to worry about having infantry soldiers liao like spartan 300.

Expand  

The common practice is,

1) Identified some high SES FT to import
2) HR list job description post onto website
3) After hiring period expire just apply pass and import high SES FT

Don't ask me how I know, my ex-boss told me cos she was that high SES FT who always show me some ball, on good days almost half ball.

See, guys also kena sexual harassment in office ok:grin:

On 8/25/2020 at 10:59 AM, Windwaver said:

The common practice is,

1) Identified some high SES FT to import
2) HR list job description post onto website
3) After hiring period expire just apply pass and import high SES FT

Don't ask me how I know, my ex-boss told me cos she was that high SES FT who always show me some ball, on good days almost half ball.

See, guys also kena sexual harassment in office ok:grin:

Expand  

That mean your boss boh chio if you are harassed