COVID-19: Retrenchments

Albeniz

On 8/25/2020 at 2:08 AM, Roh96 said:

I have close friends who are PR here and I don't find anything wrong with that. They came here and work, go through the same shit as citizen, pay taxes, COE, GST, housing, medical, etc. They face the same risk of being retrenched like most of us. My friend let his 2 daughters get citizenship here, he is keeping his PR for just in case. 

However, the same cannot be said to those FT who are obviously here for work purposes only. When they sense better opportunities elsewhere, they will zao. 

Expand  

PR from where is very important. Let’s just get straight to the point. Citizen or PR from CECA is just crap. They are simply here for work and form their own enclave. Some get the SG passport and then use it to migrate to countries like USA, OZ. UK. Because they know with their shitty India passport, they can’t do that.

Coming back to your friend, if he had a son would he have let him convert to citizen?

Edited by Fcw75

On 8/25/2020 at 2:11 AM, Mockngbrd said:

Hope he kenna rob

Expand  

Thats why most malaysian are very smart, they work in sg, channel all their money back to malaysia and buy house and at early age all become debt free. Whereas many sporean here still paying for their hdb flat until in their 60s! Lol.

On 8/25/2020 at 2:05 AM, Mockngbrd said:

Go out jiak nice nice dinner, gai gai, pak tor pak tor not date meh? Then after that say got bf. Knn slut! I got better story, SQ girl, go out pak tor many time liao, den say even tho she like going out with me, we not married, so she is ok to date other guys out at the same time. Told her go jiak sai. 

Expand  

1st one is not right if what she said is true. But maybe no chemistry with you so make up 1 bf to let you die heart.

2nd one.... you got say go steady? never go steady then no count la!

Edited by ToyotaShuttle

I have close friends who are PR here and I don't find anything wrong with that. They came here and work, go through the same shit as citizen, pay taxes, COE, GST, housing, medical, etc. They face the same risk of being retrenched like most of us. My friend let his 2 daughters get citizenship here, he is keeping his PR for just in case. 

However, the same cannot be said to those FT who are obviously here for work purposes only. When they sense better opportunities elsewhere, they will zao. 

Expand  

they serves ns also?

isn't his "just in case" also so that he can zao when there are better opportunities? 

Edited by ToyotaShuttle

On 8/25/2020 at 2:14 AM, Fcw75 said:

PR from where is very important. Let’s just get straight to the point. Citizen or PR from CECA is just crap. They are simply here for work and form their own enclave. Some get the SG passport and then use it to migrate to countries like USA, OZ. UK. Because they know with their shitty India passport, they can’t do that.

Coming back to your friend, if he had a son would he have let him convert to citizen?

Expand  

I think those who come from other countries, some of them also make use of SG passport to migrate to elsewhere, not only from india. Many people i know who have converted to sporeans, like i said, they never think of themselves as sporean at all. When you talk to them they still tell you they are from their own home country.

On 8/25/2020 at 2:28 AM, 13177 said:

I think those who come from other countries, some of them also make use of SG passport to migrate to elsewhere, not only from india. Many people i know who have converted to sporeans, like i said, they never think of themselves as sporean at all. When you talk to them they still tell you they are from their own home country.

Expand  

Even Born & Bred Singaporean said his motherland is CHINA😂

On 8/24/2020 at 11:18 PM, Yewheng said:

There are many convert from pr to Singaporeans la. There are also many that try to convert from pr to Singaporeans but get rejected. 

Expand  

Ok, i wonder what kind of income these people make? 

On 8/24/2020 at 10:31 PM, Philipkee said:

I started nursing (career as staff nurse 2 cos that was after grad which was 2.5 years later cos of NS) in 2001. Basic pay was $1500.  With allowances than maybe $1700+ but bonus is based on $1500.

Fast forward.... 2010? Became a SSN pay $2800 basic pay.  

Now in 2020 it's much better for me, well over $5k BUT it's my 20th year here.

I can't really comment on the new nurse salary.  Maybe it has gone much better for the new nurses.  Only if someone will gpgt the pay slip then we will know how calculations are done.

Expand  

Can lah $1700 in 2001, quite ok

On 8/25/2020 at 2:14 AM, Fcw75 said:

Expand  

This friend of mine is from MY. His wife and 2 daughters are now citizen. To me, I think he is like almost two legs into this country liao. Perhaps he might go back to MY and retire there but his next gen will be true blue sporean. 

There is another PR friend from China, his son is studying in poly and he said that his son wants to convert and serve NS. I remembered long time ago when I talked to him on this topic, he was like die die don't want to let his son convert due to NS reason. Now his son tells him that he doesn't want to go back China, he wants to stay here.

On 8/25/2020 at 2:05 AM, Mockngbrd said:

Go out jiak nice nice dinner, gai gai, pak tor pak tor not date meh? Then after that say got bf. Knn slut! I got better story, SQ girl, go out pak tor many time liao, den say even tho she like going out with me, we not married, so she is ok to date other guys out at the same time. Told her go jiak sai. 

She made me who I am!!!!

Expand  

A bra thief ? Hmmmm kinky

On 8/25/2020 at 2:43 AM, Roh96 said:

This friend of mine is from MY. His wife and 2 daughters are now citizen. To me, I think he is like almost two legs into this country liao. Perhaps he might go back to MY and retire there but his next gen will be true blue sporean. 

There is another PR friend from China, his son is studying in poly and he said that his son wants to convert and serve NS. I remembered long time ago when I talked to him on this topic, he was like die die don't want to let his son convert due to NS reason. Now his son tells him that he doesn't want to go back China, he wants to stay here.

Expand  

I think those who convert to citizens while they study here, and gone through NS, most of them would not want to go back to their home country liao. But for those who come here to work only and even they convert to citizens, they still regards themselves as their home country.

On 8/25/2020 at 2:27 AM, ToyotaShuttle said:

no need. my colleague (2 PRCs) and his wife both converted.

but they applied separately and were approved separately. just this yr

Expand  

They are high net worth?

Now everyone applies as a family to improve the odds.

On 8/25/2020 at 2:28 AM, ToyotaShuttle said:

they serves ns also?

isn't his "just in case" also so that he can zao when there are better opportunities? 

Expand  

This friend of mine came over at young age, he took his degree and started his career here. His "just in case" is like one day he may choose to retire in MY, plus he has a house in MY, so is better to keep his MY citizenship. I don't think he will zao easily like those FT from CECA. In fact, he kenna retrenched before and suffered the same fate like most of us. But he never zao to elsewhere.. 

Expand  

Why assume PR (or citizens) won't go elsewhere for better opportunities? And letting daughters take up shitizenship is best of both worlds - all the benefits without NS.