COVID-19: Retrenchments

Albeniz

12 minutes ago, ToyotaShuttle said:

But we are already doing it and so far no hyperinflation?

US debt is also close to 1 year GDP and they are still printing more. Any hyperinflation so far?

Why take one example (Zimbabwe) only?

image.png.a34493457e9d5076c5cf6e5d9dd0016e.png

Coz usd is currently the reserve currency. So they could still get away with it.. However if usd is not the reserve currency.. See how much inflation usd will going to be.. If this country is not the reserve currency and then massive print money.. You think what will happen? Its a disaster.. 

Edited by Yewheng

2 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

Coz usa is currently the reserve currency. So they could still get away with it.. However if usa is not the reserve currency.. See how much inflation usa will going to be.. 

how about singapore? See the chart.

9 minutes ago, Mockngbrd said:

depends which country lo, if USA, no issue. 

4 minutes ago, ToyotaShuttle said:

how about singapore? See the chart.

Beside this money printing.. There are also things like need to consider the trade surplus, and how willing other countries willing to hold as a currency. If massive money printing is so easy to help the economy, then when there is any economic problem.. Easy print money. Then like that why need government headache on thinking of ways to help people as much as possible not to lose their job? Why not print more money to give these people money who lost their jobs? You see, it does not work this way as say just print money help save economy la.. 

Edited by Yewheng

On 7/18/2020 at 2:57 PM, Jamesc said:

Its very funny when people who never studied economics

post many long post telling the gov how much they should

be spending. The gov is full of people that studied economic

but the person that never studied economics thinks he knows

better.

:grin:

Siang ka pager?

On 7/18/2020 at 2:57 PM, Jamesc said:

Its very funny when people who never studied economics

post many long post telling the gov how much they should

be spending. The gov is full of people that studied economic

but the person that never studied economics thinks he knows

better.

:grin:

Interesting, James. 

Gahmen full of people that studied economics. 

Yet it seems the one person handling many billions of our dollars has zero formal economics training that I'm aware of. 

No wonder people who have no formal training think they're equally qualified. Can't really blame them. No blame culture. 😁

• Haha! 7

3 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

Interesting, James. 

Yet it seems the one person handling many billions of our dollars has zero formal economics training that I'm aware of. 

No wonder people who have no formal training think they're equally qualified. Can't really blame them. No blame culture. 😁

There are 2 types of economic study. Keynesian economic vs austrian economic. 

Screenshot_20200720_202758_com.android.chrome.thumb.jpg.3b0ced38d5503085633f42f127306f7c.jpg

An example of keynesian economic is.. Government to introduce mimimum wage law, government to introduce licensing for barber and etc. 

An example of austrian economic is, let free market decide on what is the wages, let free market to decide on who the company should hire people and etc. 

A lot of problems with the economy is caused by keynesian economic, people want government to do more to help, people want government to introduce minimum wage law and etc.. These are keynesian economic approach. So that is the problem.. 

https://www.quora.com/Whats-the-difference-between-Keynesian-economics-and-Austrian-economics

Edited by Yewheng

22 hours ago, Yewheng said:

Not me, you need to consider general population that are drinkers.. Haha

Alcohol  kills covid 🍻🍻🍻😆

11 hours ago, Mockngbrd said:

beat aeroplane safe?

Wash your hands 30 seconds. Don't touch your face, esp eyes, nose and mouth. 

And wear a mask. Good luck! 

10 hours ago, Yewheng said:

Beside this money printing.. There are also things like need to consider the trade surplus, and how willing other countries willing to hold as a currency. If massive money printing is so easy to help the economy, then when there is any economic problem.. Easy print money. Then like that why need government headache on thinking of ways to help people as much as possible not to lose their job? Why not print more money to give these people money who lost their jobs? You see, it does not work this way as say just print money help save economy la.. 

Our elites are waiting for someone to provide the solution. 😆 kee chew say one. 

10 hours ago, Mockngbrd said:

depends which country lo, if USA, no issue. 

Yep... When backed up with 14 carriers and 6000 nuclear warheads, print until the printer burns down also no issue! 

4 hours ago, yishunite said:

Lol "data scientist" #$1.8-2.2k... this one actually is data entrist amirite

Glorify job title.. Outside looks good.. But actual job is actually just doing simple task.. Haha.. 

But anyway it's better being employed than unemployed for very long time. That one perhaps good for students who had just graduated and could just temporarily take this job and get job skills 1st lor. When economy pick up then see whether can find better job opportunities or ask for pay rise or promote to more senior post lor. 

Screenshot_20200721_041500_com.facebook.katana.thumb.jpg.7af94cca843998cfd7c3090ea7e19679.jpg

This job title also outside sound nice.. Actually is just a cleaner la.. 

Edited by Yewheng

16 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

Interesting, James. 

Got la, all the bottom people kena the blame, that's my own experience.

Elitist no wrong :grin:

1 minute ago, Windwaver said:

Got la, all the bottom people kena the blame, that's my own experience.

Elitist no wrong :grin:

I know. No blame culture here works like : "You can't blame me for things I did wrong. But I can blame you for things I did wrong." 

Classic puppy playbook. 😂

12 hours ago, Yewheng said:

Screenshot_20200720_202758_com.android.chrome.thumb.jpg.3b0ced38d5503085633f42f127306f7c.jpg

An example of keynesian economic is.. Government to introduce mimimum wage law, government to introduce licensing for barber and etc. 

An example of austrian economic is, let free market decide on what is the wages, let free market to decide on who the company should hire people and etc. 

A lot of problems with the economy is caused by keynesian economic, people want government to do more to help, people want government to introduce minimum wage law and etc.. These are keynesian economic approach. So that is the problem.. 

https://www.quora.com/Whats-the-difference-between-Keynesian-economics-and-Austrian-economics

HDB is free market or not? Public hospital and polyclinics is free market or not? 

Gov school is free market or not? 

You stay HDB? Go gov hospital?  Went to gov school? 

If you say cut gov spending then you want gov to stop building HDBs?  Which hospital you want gov to close?  Which school you think they should close? 

If you stay HDB then give it back to save gov spending. 

If you stay in HDB then you are right gov didn't waste money on you. 

You got apply $1200 Covid ang pow or not? 

Then you are right gov wasted money on you. 

That $1200 is Keynesian hor it's NOT free market. 

8 hours ago, yishunite said:

Lol "data scientist" #$1.8-2.2k... this one actually is data entrist amirite

Hey, you mean that i have been a Data Scientist without know it? Damn! 
i could hv impressed my relatives during CNY !!!