Kangadrool Supersonic May 26, 2020 Share May 26, 2020 (edited) These few days while watching Youtube, every few minutes wil be bombarded with online marketing business GOONDOOS.... Somemore, one after another. I have to revert to my old trusted "myTube" app on Windows Phone watching YT without all these annoyances. 😓 Edited May 26, 2020 by Kangadrool ↡ Advertisement 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged May 26, 2020 Share May 26, 2020 19 hours ago, Kyrios said: HP was my first job ever actually. It was my most memorable one in terms of working memories when manufacturing was still a mainstay in SG. Then the scholars said they want to go into higher value added technologies instead of low cost mfg. It seemed like a text book logical solution in the mid 2000s. But the move, coupled with increasing rents and utilities costs, only preciptated the demise of the local manufacturing plants. Many engineers turned to sales, teaching or insurance as a means to feed their young families. The so called high end technologies sectors is not an arena which would readily take on local engineers. While highly paid, these sectors rather import FTs rather than hire locals. Locals if any were to be hired, would merely be used to wash test-tubes. Meanwhile the low end mfg job opportunities were filled in readily by MOM who opened the floodgates to 'engineers' from india, myanmar or philippines. The rest as u know, is history. Im surprised HP can still eke out a living here for so long. I wonder what happened to their fab at depot road.. Define the so-called higher value added technologies. The elitist likes of Philip Yeo and the associated think-tanks sitting at the EDB are not as smart as we thought. They did tried at the beginning, but halfway through they think it's taking too much time and took the easier way out. With foreigners coming in free-flow (well qualified or not is another topic), we have a generation of engineers and IT folks being displaced in their entirety, right at home. All can see now is that the engineering and manufacturing are sectors which have been hollowed out. One simply cannot have a sound ecosystem to breed world beating engineering/manufacturing companies if we simply choose to focus on the higher spectrum of things. Take Germany as an example, their car manufacturers are supported by thousands of SME-sized engineering companies as part of the entire value chain. What do we end up with up? Engineers as property / insurance agents, salesmen etc which you rightly mentioned. That itself is a massive waste of time and resources which have been invested in their professional education. 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged May 26, 2020 Share May 26, 2020 The govt sgunited initiative shows a good number of jobs avalable. However those that just lost their job find it hard to have a paycut of 70% doing a similar or tougher role Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 26, 2020 Share May 26, 2020 3 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said: The govt sgunited initiative shows a good number of jobs avalable. However those that just lost their job find it hard to have a paycut of 70% doing a similar or tougher role Who who where when lose job?!?! Here sign up for my Brotherhood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 26, 2020 Share May 26, 2020 (edited) Surf MCF (My Car-eer Forum) as your next job. Muahahaha Edited May 26, 2020 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ginyu 5th Gear May 26, 2020 Share May 26, 2020 (edited) 2 hours ago, Sdf4786k said: The govt sgunited initiative shows a good number of jobs avalable. However those that just lost their job find it hard to have a paycut of 70% doing a similar or tougher role Many are heavily leverage so find it hard to stomach 70% paycut🤣 Edited May 26, 2020 by Ginyu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged May 26, 2020 Share May 26, 2020 23 minutes ago, Ginyu said: Many are heavily leverage so find it hard to stomach 70% paycut🤣 more like feel taken for a ride.. a bit like bus driver if always 3K .. all of a sudden because you are retrench becomes 700 is quite unreasonable, I am not saying this is a real example, just saying if its a one to one kind of job, looks like you taken advantage ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 26, 2020 Share May 26, 2020 (edited) More importantly is, DIGNITY. 😂 Sweep floor, cut grass if 5K every month still got dignity. BUt, if 1-2K how to have dignity? Edited May 26, 2020 by Kangadrool 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 26, 2020 Share May 26, 2020 (edited) 1 hour ago, Kangadrool said: More importantly is, DIGNITY. 😂 Sweep floor, cut grass if 5K every month still got dignity. BUt, if 1-2K how to have dignity? Yalor, the grass cutter cannot raise his head when talking to meepok hawker. Hai.....😪 Edited May 26, 2020 by Throttle2 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged May 26, 2020 Share May 26, 2020 (edited) Think they saw this thread. New Fortitude Budget (still on going now) has wage subsidies for 6 months to encourage employers to hire eligible locals aged 40 and above They are doing all they can to minimize retrenchments (through 75% wage subsidies) and encourage hiring (through 20% or 40% (depending on age) wage subsidies for eligible locals) Edited May 26, 2020 by Icedbs 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged May 26, 2020 Share May 26, 2020 Be a Covid-19 swapper paying $3.5K not much taker, high risk part-time job, clean table $800-1200/ ai mai ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfc 5th Gear May 26, 2020 Share May 26, 2020 (edited) Why need to create 40,000 new jobs? This will probably mitigate a fraction of the retrenched. But whether these re-employed ones is at what level and can get back original salary or not is another question. And also bearing mind, this is for locals. The foreigners probably got to say bye bye. Edited May 26, 2020 by Alfc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 26, 2020 Share May 26, 2020 Many new jobs created! Every Ntuc already got so many new ambassador jobs. next time Singaporeans go overseas can say that they used to be ambassador appointed by Health Ministry. So sark Khee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CremornePt 5th Gear May 26, 2020 Share May 26, 2020 (edited) 10 hours ago, Lethalstrike said: Define the so-called higher value added technologies. The elitist likes of Philip Yeo and the associated think-tanks sitting at the EDB are not as smart as we thought. ... One simply cannot have a sound ecosystem to breed world beating engineering/manufacturing companies if we simply choose to focus on the higher spectrum of things. Take Germany as an example, their car manufacturers are supported by thousands of SME-sized engineering companies as part of the entire value chain. You hit the nail on the head with this one. Philip Yeo & his EDB team were/are just a bit too clever sometimes & try to base their plans on how they think the world *should* be put together, rather than the way it's actually put together - always trying to shortcut the way to the grand end-goal... It was a lot easier to impress with smarts back when we built our capabilities up from scratch; moving from scrap iron to high tech manufacturing. But moving further up the food chain took large industrial nations more than just a few decades. Edited May 26, 2020 by CremornePt 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 27, 2020 Share May 27, 2020 Some song song forecasts 😬 https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/covid-19-worst-yet-come-despite-spore-economys-better-expected-q1-showing-says-mti?cid=emarsys-today_TODAY's morning briefing for May 27, 2020 (ACTIVE)_newsletter_27052020_today Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged May 27, 2020 Share May 27, 2020 On 5/4/2020 at 11:34 PM, Voodooman said: Pay cut has started but mass retrenchment not yet as govt is paying 75% of wages, most companies can tahan a few months with JSS and rental rebates, June/ July will probably accelerate. While I support the JSS to save jobs. I am worried many companies out there are taking advantages of this scheme at the expense of tax payers. If a company is providing a contract to another company at a fixed contract fee and receiving this JSS, how is the subsidies being passed to the company paying for this service since there is no losses to the company providing the service? Who is tracking to ensure this? 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 27, 2020 Share May 27, 2020 On 5/4/2020 at 9:26 PM, Atonchia said: I think maybe join politics. 🤔 Since nothing to do and still want to contribute to our society, joining politics seemed to be the only choice....... If I am rich and care for greater society probably I will join minority..... If I need income.... Probably join the majority.... then get a job somewhere.... Kick away all the lousy foreigners, only get the good people into our society, those that can really join us as SG United..... ❤️ 🤣 join the minority got pay, I think more like volunteer kaypoh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic May 27, 2020 Share May 27, 2020 16 hours ago, Alfc said: Why need to create 40,000 new jobs? This will probably mitigate a fraction of the retrenched. But whether these re-employed ones is at what level and can get back original salary or not is another question. And also bearing mind, this is for locals. The foreigners probably got to say bye bye. Why magic number 40k? Assuming each these 40k with govt created jobs have average another 1.5 family members who are of voting age. That translates to 100k votes for your know who. Almost 4% of total votes. Very significant. It's not a number plucked from the air hor! ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...