COVID-19: Retrenchments

Albeniz

1 hour ago, Wt_know said:

finally, another loophole is plugged

better late than none? [sly] 

EC79F807-6CF6-4194-80EB-1AB2F16BD277.jpeg

Yah lah... 

It's like L plate holder allow to drive spouse car.... 

Must have at least Class 3A to drive. 

18 hours ago, Atonchia said:

i wont worry for the 300

i know someone who got axed many years back when exxon and mobil merged, the handshake was so golden that she took the compensation and bought herself a condo in cash to earn passive income

😬💪

Edited by Enye

1 hour ago, Enye said:

i wont worry for the 300

i know someone who got axed many years back when exxon and mobil merged, the handshake was so golden that she took the compensation and bought herself a condo in cash to earn passive income

😬💪

Thats why i always happy when people get retrenched 

😄😁

On 3/4/2021 at 8:51 AM, Wt_know said:

finally, another loophole is plugged

better late than none? [sly] 

EC79F807-6CF6-4194-80EB-1AB2F16BD277.jpeg

Have skill sets then shouldn't have problem getting employment passes... It's not as if SG is going to ostracised all FT. 

From Straits Times:

SINGAPORE - Several business chambers are concerned about the message being sent by the new requirement for dependant's pass holders to obtain a formal work pass in order to work in Singapore.

They said many such foreigners have skills and experience that can contribute to the economy here, and the more restrictive rule may make it more difficult for companies to relocate staff or senior executives with families...... 

Edited by Atonchia

On 3/4/2021 at 10:37 AM, Enye said:

i wont worry for the 300

😬💪

In many matured organisations (more than 40 years), there are many senior employees who had been praying for retrenchments and golden handshakes. Especially those that had peaked at a certain scale and just passing time everyday. They gonna leave anyway, due to age or just sian, it would be a huge added bonus. Some got it, some don't. I know many such people in my ex-org were hoping for that, and 2020 felt like it. Unfortunately, it did not happen.

2 hours ago, Atonchia said:

SINGAPORE - Several business chambers are concerned about the message being sent by the new requirement for dependant's pass holders to obtain a formal work pass in order to work in Singapore.

They said many such foreigners have skills and experience that can contribute to the economy here, and the more restrictive rule may make it more difficult for companies to relocate staff or senior executives with families...... 

If these foreigners have skills and experience which is deemed to be a shortage in SG, then they should be already getting a good salary and package to be in SG. Why on earth then their dependents (with dependent pass) need to also apply work pass to work?

Doesn''t quite make sense unless the goal of relocating to SG is to bring the family here to also look for jobs in SG.

2 hours ago, Icedbs said:

If these foreigners have skills and experience which is deemed to be a shortage in SG, then they should be already getting a good salary and package to be in SG. Why on earth then their dependents (with dependent pass) need to also apply work pass to work?

Doesn''t quite make sense unless the goal of relocating to SG is to bring the family here to also look for jobs in SG.

Contrary to many's belief, it's not all to do with money.

Boredom, connecting with people......

I agree, anybody bringing in a family should earn enough to cover costs for everyone including medical and schooling etc. If the dependant is skilled, they can get their own pass and income but it should not be taken for granted when the pass holder first accepts his post here.

Saying that, DP holders should be, then, those that don't NEED to work so the question is, why? There are many part-timers (local and DP/LoC etc.) in retail, hospitality that don't NEED to work, but WANT to work for better mental health, exercise, boredom relief etc. Anybody that NEEDS to work, typically will not choose part-time as they need the income of a full-time post. Equally, DP/LoC are more likely part timers than full.

I am pretty sure there could have been another solution.

quoted from another forum

Overall SG is going towards HK way. It is going to attract mostly singles at the mid range salaries. Only at the higher end you are going to see families coming to SG. i.e. atleast 8k salary and above it makes sense for families to relocate to SG.

sg is changing their tactics,  lesser low wage migrants to compete with the lower demographics of society 

Edited by Staff69

6 hours ago, bsswan said:

Contrary to many's belief, it's not all to do with money.

Boredom, connecting with people......

I agree, anybody bringing in a family should earn enough to cover costs for everyone including medical and schooling etc. If the dependant is skilled, they can get their own pass and income but it should not be taken for granted when the pass holder first accepts his post here.

Saying that, DP holders should be, then, those that don't NEED to work so the question is, why? There are many part-timers (local and DP/LoC etc.) in retail, hospitality that don't NEED to work, but WANT to work for better mental health, exercise, boredom relief etc. Anybody that NEEDS to work, typically will not choose part-time as they need the income of a full-time post. Equally, DP/LoC are more likely part timers than full.

I am pretty sure there could have been another solution.

I know of someone the wife came on normal EP package.... But high pay. Can cover international school and rental etc.... 

Became the key person taking care of kids. 

Then found an entry managerial role......

So many were banking on 1 to get oversea posting..... then come on dependant pass and actively looking for jobs with company looking for "Diversity". 

My company ever have a posting that asking for referral from all locals.... 

Wow... Many send their resume... But none of the local fit the position.... 

Then also to show job bank no local fit the role...... 😅😅

Hire a junior AMDK. 

From then on, many don't recommend already.... so hirer need to post on LinkedIn or hire headhunter.... 

Got a big of backlash... 

But is there really many SME of some sectors need to hire foreign talent?

SME? =F&B own by AM? 

At least not all Business Chambers thought this will affect their associate business. 

https://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2021/03/08/netizens-lambast-business-groups-over-their-concern-on-moms-new-rule-on-dependants-pass-holders/

Edited by Atonchia

12 hours ago, Atonchia said:

I know of someone the wife came on normal EP package.... But high pay. Can cover international school and rental etc.... 

Became the key person taking care of kids. 

Then found an entry managerial role......

So many were banking on 1 to get oversea posting..... then come on dependant pass and actively looking for jobs with company looking for "Diversity". 

Correct, there are families relocating and banking on getting the second job, but that's a mistake/risk and I know of families that have had to head home, or split locations when the spouse has been unable to find work. This is those I mentioned earlier that NEED to work. Those are the ones that should be applying S-Pass or EP etc.

This doesn't have anything to do with the LoC for DP.

Your example of the wife, could equally be on LoC or EP but I believe it's not any easier getting one over the other.

12 hours ago, Atonchia said:

Got a big of backlash... 

But is there really many SME of some sectors need to hire foreign talent?

SME? =F&B own by AM? 

At least not all Business Chambers thought this will affect their associate business. 

https://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2021/03/08/netizens-lambast-business-groups-over-their-concern-on-moms-new-rule-on-dependants-pass-holders/

In this case, it's to do with the money......

LoC workers are not paid CPF so of course business groups complain when they have to get a proper pass instead.

On 3/8/2021 at 11:53 AM, Icedbs said:

My FT engineers don't get paid a lot especially if they are young newly married. You expect the wife to just stay at home in singapore do nothing?

This is quite a common problem for this age group. No kids, married. 

I am thinking hoping the LOC and WP is the same and it is just a matter for his wife to convert. Else, my engineer might resign and go home...

only in sg can dp holders find work

try that in other countries they will tell dp holders go fly kite and send them back

uniquely singapore indeed

😬