COVID-19: Retrenchments

Albeniz

On 9/28/2020 at 1:41 AM, Jman888 said:

agree totally, you are paid to do YOUR job, if it comes with good boss good company then it is a bonus.

Do not expect a fair play in real world and blame the 'leader' or the system, when things doesn't go my way, either adapt or make it your way! it leader not good, you work hard and take over his job or become a leader that how you want it to be. If not quit every time until you find the ideal 'leader' you want to work for.

Expand  

I can't agree here. We are indeed paid to do our job but it is not a bonus to have good boss good company. It should be seen as a package.

Sometimes we are willing to take less pay if there is a good boss/company. Some bosses/company, you can't pay me enough to work there.

On 9/28/2020 at 1:35 AM, Jamesc said:

What car? I give him a good price. 

"For one pilot, having to take a pay cut has forced him to resort to borrowing money to keep his children in overseas universities. He is also trying to sell his car.

The 50-year-old pilot who declined to be named has been with the airline for 27 years."

Expand  

Bugger still earning 13k still dare kpkb

On 9/28/2020 at 2:47 AM, Scion said:

Bugger still earning 13k still dare kpkb

Expand  

Please be more sympathatic. Fella is at wits end!

“My monthly expenses add up to over S$19,000 a month and it’s not the right time to give up my stocks and bonds and sell my properties because I’ll get nothing. I’ll get a second job, I’ll sell my clothes if I have to,” he said.

Expand  

Poor fella needs to sell his clothes already - soon will be running around naked.

expenses = $19K

based on T2 formula ... if you can afford only 1 x Patek, buy a SS Lolex ... 

this means his monthly income previously is $50K minimum?

On 9/28/2020 at 3:04 AM, Wt_know said:

expenses = $19K

based on T2 formula ... if you can afford only 1 x Patek, buy a SS Lolex ... 

this means his monthly income previously is $50K minimum?

Expand  

I wouldn't put any weight on dunno what t2 formula.

But the pilot chap stated his previous income is 23k. (https://www.malaymail.com/news/singapore/2020/09/28/one-sees-his-flying-dream-cut-short-other-sia-pilots-become-delivery-driver/1907303). Think he bit off more than he can chew if his expenses are the kind that can't be quickly scaled down.

More importantly, he is 50 years old (what is retirement age for pilots?) so should be approaching retirement and have more savings? I can understand a new pilot not having enough savings but for someone on the verge of retirement? 

Edited by ToyotaShuttle

On 9/28/2020 at 2:41 AM, ToyotaShuttle said:

I can't agree here. We are indeed paid to do our job but it is not a bonus to have good boss good company. It should be seen as a package.

Sometimes we are willing to take less pay if there is a good boss/company. Some bosses/company, you can't pay me enough to work there.

Expand  

in a real world, things dun drop on your lap, either you work hard or you pray hard.

On 9/28/2020 at 3:16 AM, Jman888 said:

in a real world, things dun drop on your lap, either you work hard or you pray hard.

Expand  

I also agree with you. Things won't drop it your lap.

What I disagree about is calling it a bonus. In addition to work hard and pray hard, I also suggest to look hard. If the company is lousy then be prepared to ditch it - work hard and pray hard in a lousy company or under a lousy boss is no use.

On 9/28/2020 at 3:14 AM, Wt_know said:

make $23k, expenses $19k ... orbigood ... 

Expand  

Yeah, I read that article.

I wonder what's the point about the article, mock at low SES people?

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/one-sees-his-flying-dream-cut-short-other-sia-pilots-become-delivery-drivers-retire-early

For one pilot, having to take a pay cut has forced him to resort to borrowing money to keep his children in overseas universities. He is also trying to sell his car.

The 50-year-old pilot who declined to be named has been with the airline for 27 years. He told TODAY that he is cash-strapped because the money he has earned during the span of his career has been invested in properties, stocks and bonds.

On average, he used to earn S$23,000 a month compared to S$13,000 these days.

“My monthly expenses add up to over S$19,000 a month and it’s not the right time to give up my stocks and bonds and sell my properties because I’ll get nothing. I’ll get a second job, I’ll sell my clothes if I have to,” he said.

This guy more sensible, that's why in Opposition. 

For pilot Terence Soon, 30, on the other hand, he said that the pay cuts have not really affected him or brought worry upon his family, despite having a five-month old daughter to care for.

Mr Soon, who ran as a Progress Singapore Party candidate in Tanjong Pagar Group Representation Constituency in the 2020 General Election and has been with the airline for almost five years, said that his expenses are very low.

“My mentor has always told me that you've got to treat your salary like you're just taking (your) basic (salary). Don't ever count your allowances because you never know there would be a day where suddenly there’s no more flights and you have to survive on your basic pay,” he said.

“So, the amount that I spend per month is really rather low and I try to be consciously aware of that because how many things could I possibly need?”

Mr Soon is in the midst of applying for other full-time jobs.

On 9/28/2020 at 3:57 AM, Windwaver said:

Yeah, I read that article.

I wonder what's the point about the article, mock at low SES people?

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/one-sees-his-flying-dream-cut-short-other-sia-pilots-become-delivery-drivers-retire-early

For one pilot, having to take a pay cut has forced him to resort to borrowing money to keep his children in overseas universities. He is also trying to sell his car.

The 50-year-old pilot who declined to be named has been with the airline for 27 years. He told TODAY that he is cash-strapped because the money he has earned during the span of his career has been invested in properties, stocks and bonds.

On average, he used to earn S$23,000 a month compared to S$13,000 these days.

Expand  

got few properties on hand ... cannot sell one meh? property price still cheonging hor even with covid

nabei .. .want us to spoonfeed him truffle and foie gras for lunch?

don't think he need to choose between hawker, foodcourt and restaurant ... may be clubhouse ...

On 9/28/2020 at 5:10 AM, Wt_know said:

got few properties on hand ... cannot sell one meh? property price still cheonging hor even with covid

nabei .. .want us to spoonfeed him truffle and foie gras for lunch?

don't think he need to choose between hawker, foodcourt and restaurant ... may be clubhouse ...

Expand  

Like that Founders BKT son. Say business very poor asked people sakport but turned out got 3 condos and drive a Veilfire. 

Either closed down some outlets or sell condos lor. 

On 9/28/2020 at 5:20 AM, Fcw75 said:

Like that Founders BKT son. Say business very poor asked people sakport but turned out got 3 condos and drive a Veilfire. 

Either closed down some outlets or sell condos lor. 

Expand  

average joe who lost job or paycut and have to eat ROTI and children education is affected then deserve help

nabei .. these people ... losing a dime is not an option for selling what they have now [mad]