Throttle2 Supersonic May 25, 2023 Share May 25, 2023 On 5/7/2023 at 11:57 PM, Scion said: referring to this one? loll talk until got dragon got phoenix but actually father owns a global shipping biz and mother has a printing biz Ruch kids always like that one lah i know so many rich kids. The most recent one made money developing and selling houses (not SG) She said she made her money herself but didnt say that its becos her father was a real estate developer. 😁😂😂😁😁 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged May 25, 2023 Share May 25, 2023 On 4/29/2023 at 5:27 PM, Fcw75 said: Singaporean men in their 50s and 60s left with what to do? Security guard, cleaners, F&B or drivers lor. Very much depends on your expertise also. Therefore, one must always stay relevant and ensure you are contributing more than you are paid. If you ever landed in the 'retrenchment basket' it is not the end of the world. When you are too comfortable, it is sign of danger. 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged May 25, 2023 Share May 25, 2023 (edited) On 5/25/2023 at 3:54 PM, Victor68 said: Very much depends on your expertise also. Therefore, one must always stay relevant and ensure you are contributing more than you are paid. If you ever landed in the 'retrenchment basket' it is not the end of the world. When you are too comfortable, it is sign of danger. Very true. I not working also still doing many online data, AI & coding courses for fun, so people who are working should have no excuse for not upskilling themselves. Somemore I have to spend my own money for courses yet those who are working got company training and probably even can ask to reimburse course fees! 🙄 Edited May 25, 2023 by Starry 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 26, 2023 Share May 26, 2023 On 5/25/2023 at 4:55 PM, Starry said: Very true. I not working also still doing many online data, AI & coding courses for fun, so people who are working should have no excuse for not upskilling themselves. Somemore I have to spend my own money for courses yet those who are working got company training and probably even can ask to reimburse course fees! 🙄 You how old again? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged May 26, 2023 Share May 26, 2023 (edited) On 5/26/2023 at 11:42 AM, Throttle2 said: You how old again? Haiz...still some years to go before can see my cpf....😪 hence eat cai png till then.... Edited May 26, 2023 by Starry 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 26, 2023 Share May 26, 2023 On 5/26/2023 at 8:11 PM, Starry said: Haiz...still some years to go before can see my cpf....😪 hence eat cai png till then.... But you talk machiam you 65 already leh you sure you not even 55? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged May 26, 2023 Share May 26, 2023 (edited) On 5/26/2023 at 8:47 PM, Throttle2 said: But you talk machiam you 65 already leh you sure you not even 55? Dun add years to my age leh..... 😪 If I 65, I don't think I still got eyes power to do coding anymore .....😄. Edited May 26, 2023 by Starry 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic May 27, 2023 Share May 27, 2023 (edited) Heard also Amex closing their entire remittance / forex departments ( seems not published in press) …… heard about 69 staff laid off …… haiz …… Don’t actually know how many other Mom n Pop companies closing too Edited May 27, 2023 by BanCoe 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 27, 2023 Share May 27, 2023 Hoping for higher membership take up rate. Any more retrenchment? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 27, 2023 Share May 27, 2023 On 5/27/2023 at 1:13 PM, Throttle2 said: Hoping for higher membership take up rate. Any more retrenchment? Regardless, u still stay as the CB 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 27, 2023 Share May 27, 2023 On 5/27/2023 at 1:15 PM, RadX said: Regardless, u still stay as the CB $#45(&+()€_[€¥34…€€£¥£€46[\~…]|!?!¥@#$& 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged May 28, 2023 Share May 28, 2023 (edited) wah finally.... https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/no-teachers-no-academic-prerequisites-sutd-challenges-traditional-learning-with-new-ict-course?utm_campaign=ST_Newsletter_AM No teachers, no fees! Peer-to-peer. I have already been doing this in Coursera where I "mark" other students assignments in some of the courses. But I have to pay for the monthly plans in Coursera and Datacamp Took so long for universities here to start this. But at least it is free. I like the "resilient" test as part of the enrolment, cos since it is free, some people may just apply and then drop out halfway. Edited May 28, 2023 by Starry 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 28, 2023 Share May 28, 2023 Agree the mindset needs to change and more so for the parents Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic June 20, 2023 Share June 20, 2023 https://www.reuters.com/markets/asia/singapores-grab-plans-biggest-round-job-cuts-since-pandemic-bloomberg-news-2023-06-20/ Quite a big number kena chopped. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 20, 2023 Share June 20, 2023 (edited) On 6/20/2023 at 11:34 PM, Volvobrick said: https://www.reuters.com/markets/asia/singapores-grab-plans-biggest-round-job-cuts-since-pandemic-bloomberg-news-2023-06-20/ Quite a big number kena chopped. Our xmm mp affected or not or can cover 1k peeps? 😁 Edited June 20, 2023 by mersaylee 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged June 20, 2023 Share June 20, 2023 On 6/21/2023 at 12:24 AM, mersaylee said: Our xmm mp affected or not or can cover 1k peeps? 😁 Think she's safe.. she prob part of the team that planned the retrenchment.. 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic August 15, 2023 Share August 15, 2023 https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/lucasfilm-shut-operations-singapore-studio-animation-visual-effects-disney-3700061 No more Covid but economy is getting worse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 15, 2023 Share August 15, 2023 On 8/15/2023 at 6:19 PM, Volvobrick said: https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/lucasfilm-shut-operations-singapore-studio-animation-visual-effects-disney-3700061 No more Covid but economy is getting worse. Screenwriter and Actor has been on strike for 100 days. Everything in US movie industry is at a standstill. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...