COVID-19: Retrenchments

Albeniz

50 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Experts said the move stings women disproportionately and could also hit Singapore’s attractiveness to foreign expatriates

Frankly we don’t care man. 

National interest first. Foreigners' wives' interest - who cares?

Hoseh liao

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/anxiety-grows-among-foreign-spouses-due-moms-rule-change-dependants-pass-holders

Anxiety grows among foreign spouses due to MOM’s rule change for dependant’s pass holders

• Spouses of expatriates expressed worry over rule change for holders of dependant’s passes (DPs) who want to work
  • MOM had announced that DP holders must obtain a work pass if they want to seek employment here from May 1
  • The ministry said it would facilitate conversions to formal work passes
  • But DP holders and businesses said this is not as simple as it seems
  • Experts said the move stings women disproportionately and could also hit Singapore’s attractiveness to foreign expatriates

A women’s tennis coach, whose LOC expires in two years’ time, said: “I have a Master’s degree and I have been working even before I was married. My husband has a job (in Singapore) as a digital analyst. I have accepted that I could be paid less, just so we can be together as a family.

“But if I’m forbidden to work entirely, some part of me feels that this is not fair.”

Cannot apply for Employment Pass meh? :XD:

1 minute ago, Weez911 said:

National interest first. Foreigners' wives' interest - who cares?

The spouse already come here to take away jobs from true blue locals. Now still have to care about them?? Na bei, where got eng?

Need to care whether their kids are doing well or not?

1 hour ago, Windwaver said:

“But if I’m forbidden to work entirely, some part of me feels that this is not fair.”

spouse come here is to take care of spouse and family

come here 1st priority is to find work?

nabei already alow them to work by applying EP ... so what is the problem?

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/znews/singapore/story20210313-1131040

20210228_41060881_20210228_155227-01.jpg

Marriage hit the rocks and fell out with business partners. The former director of German nationality lived on the streets for nearly a year, relying on food from benevolent people.

Thomas Eckstein (49 years old) from Karlstadt, a small town in central Germany, came to Singapore alone more than 10 years ago, married and had children and became a local permanent resident.

He previously worked in a construction and decoration company, and then was invited to establish a company and became one of the directors, with a monthly income of up to $12,000.

婚姻触礁又与生意伙伴闹翻,德国籍前董事近一年内流落街头,靠善心人赠饭过日子。

来自德国中部小镇卡尔施塔特(Karlstadt)的托马斯·爱克斯坦(49岁),10多年前只身来到新加坡,结婚生子并成为本地永久居民。

他此前曾在建筑、装修公司任职,随后受邀成立公司,成为其中一名董事,每月收入高达1万2000元。

9 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

If he is out of job, his PR won't be renewed. Maybe go back to Germany can enjoy unemployment benefits.... 

PR is forever ... no need to renew ... he can stay here forever ... no need to leave singapore

it's the "re-entry" permit that renew every 5 years

53 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

Hoseh liao

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/anxiety-grows-among-foreign-spouses-due-moms-rule-change-dependants-pass-holders

Anxiety grows among foreign spouses due to MOM’s rule change for dependant’s pass holders

• Spouses of expatriates expressed worry over rule change for holders of dependant’s passes (DPs) who want to work
  • MOM had announced that DP holders must obtain a work pass if they want to seek employment here from May 1
  • The ministry said it would facilitate conversions to formal work passes
  • But DP holders and businesses said this is not as simple as it seems
  • Experts said the move stings women disproportionately and could also hit Singapore’s attractiveness to foreign expatriates

A women’s tennis coach, whose LOC expires in two years’ time, said: “I have a Master’s degree and I have been working even before I was married. My husband has a job (in Singapore) as a digital analyst. I have accepted that I could be paid less, just so we can be together as a family.

EP for tennis coach? Don't think will approve leh.

1 hour ago, Wt_know said:

PR is forever ... no need to renew ... he can stay here forever ... no need to leave singapore

it's the "re-entry" permit that renew every 5 years

PR is not forever. If you are not contributing to nation building, is old and poor and or out of the country most of the time, renewal is not guaranteed. 

Actually PR doesn’t need to renew isn’t it?  It’s only the re-entry permit that need to renew every 5 years.

But they can revoke your PR if you have a criminal offence.

2 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Actually PR doesn’t need to renew isn’t it?  It’s only the re-entry permit that need to renew every 5 years.

But they can revoke your PR if you have a criminal offence.

yes, PR-ship is FOREVER ... LIFELONG

that's why he need to stay in singapore ... any time can find a job as he is still a PR

if leave singapore ... need REP to re-enter

35161C10-B38E-49A8-9B02-2462F3F53ED2.jpeg

C40F9554-1340-48C8-9B0F-1936F80843F0.jpeg

if suka suka cancel PR ... must return CPF $$$ ... very leceh leh ... [laugh] 

amdk give up PR can apply to empty CPF $$$ and go home buy a farm ... :secret-laugh:

Just now, Wt_know said:

if suka suka cancel PR ... must return CPF $$$ ... very leceh leh ... [laugh] 

Where got so much in reserves to give back now? 😁

4 hours ago, yishunite said:

Working as intended.

who knows.. this just to make the policy look good. in practice the EP still give easily. like the PR now they also give easily.

50 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

yes, PR-ship is FOREVER ... LIFELONG

that's why he need to stay in singapore ... any time can find a job as he is still a PR

if leave singapore ... need REP to re-enter

35161C10-B38E-49A8-9B02-2462F3F53ED2.jpeg

C40F9554-1340-48C8-9B0F-1936F80843F0.jpeg

Ok, make sense now, my friend said it is for 5 years. 

40 minutes ago, Nolicense said:

who knows.. this just to make the policy look good. in practice the EP still give easily. like the PR now they also give easily.

Must trust our Gov lah. 

What they promise always deliver one. 

Like building integrated resorts... 

Like going greener and increasing petrol taxes

Like rotating the race for Presidency to ensure minority representation. 

And not suing siblings.... 🤔

All the actions taken are for the good of common people..... 

Edited by Atonchia

4 hours ago, Windwaver said:

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/znews/singapore/story20210313-1131040

20210228_41060881_20210228_155227-01.jpg

Marriage hit the rocks and fell out with business partners. The former director of German nationality lived on the streets for nearly a year, relying on food from benevolent people.

Thomas Eckstein (49 years old) from Karlstadt, a small town in central Germany, came to Singapore alone more than 10 years ago, married and had children and became a local permanent resident.

He previously worked in a construction and decoration company, and then was invited to establish a company and became one of the directors, with a monthly income of up to $12,000.

婚姻触礁又与生意伙伴闹翻,德国籍前董事近一年内流落街头,靠善心人赠饭过日子。

来自德国中部小镇卡尔施塔特(Karlstadt)的托马斯·爱克斯坦(49岁),10多年前只身来到新加坡,结婚生子并成为本地永久居民。

他此前曾在建筑、装修公司任职,随后受邀成立公司,成为其中一名董事,每月收入高达1万2000元。

even our homeless are world class foreign talents. i feel humbled.

• Haha! 7

Engineering, especially electrical and electronics, was once a well-sought after degree.  No 3 As in A-level, no talk. 

Now it has become a dumping ground.

With fewer and fewer people in this field, I hope it will become a niche domain again.

After it  has gone through a full cycle.