Yewheng Twincharged August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 (edited) 5 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Construction sector is widely used to drive GDP. On the other hand, it creates economic bubble. Let it tank never mind. Yes if it is driven by marker forces. Not by government intervention and or government increasing construction project expenditure. Coz ultimately even if they collapses, the increased in wp levy is still there and the new construction company took over are still paying the increasing wp levy and thus it does not solve the main issue. In fact it will only drive up prices of everything. Then few yrs down the road we will have people complaint why bto flat price increase in exponential rate, why new condo price increase in exponential rate? Why now renovation project cost is so much higher then 2 yrs ago and etc? All these are the result of the government that make business more expensive to operate. Edited August 28, 2020 by Yewheng ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ToyotaShuttle 5th Gear August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 5 minutes ago, Yewheng said: You really need to understand, it is businesses that operate here that is contributing to the economy, but increasingly business expenditure in such difficult time how does it help businesses? When the country is broke, the government will also broke. There is no 2 ways about it. Actually by right if employer do not need to contribute to employees cpf who is local and PRs. Then it will be equal playing field in terms on salaries between locals and FT. However as we know it is impossible to remove contributions for employers on cpf contribution to employees. One way to level up is to have levy for EP. That does not mean it is actually good, but as in no choice to make it level in salary package all together. Now wp levy issue, construction sector is struggling, then there will have many stoppages coming along the way due to covid-19 and if later another claster found in this FW dormitories and then affect these construction project how? You want to make matter worst by increasing WP levy? If construction sector collapsed, who is going to build buildings? Who is going to build bridges? Who? Even if they do not collapses, the increase in cost, who is going to pay for it? Not the government the government will always increase direct and indirect taxes to cover the losses, it is we that suffer the most. So you still want government to further increase wp levy? did you ask yourself the same questions about EP jobs? Cut number of EPs then won't it increase cost when govt got to hire expensive locals? Who is going to do the job and who is going to pay for it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 11 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: An la an la...mai kia 🙄 Mom is a woman 当她说没事就是有事 当她说没问题就是有问题 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 11 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: An la an la...mai kia 🙄 Mom is a woman 当她说没事就是有事 当她说没问题就是有问题 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 (edited) 5 minutes ago, ToyotaShuttle said: did you ask yourself the same questions about EP jobs? Cut number of EPs then won't it increase cost when govt got to hire expensive locals? Who is going to do the job and who is going to pay for it? Then did you ask yourself this question.. Increasing wp levy how does it help construction sector who is already struggling? I feel Government should not decide on the quota, but government can make it as equal as possible like if locals got cpf contribution that employers need to contribute, then impost levy for EP will end up become the same cost. Not like now EP took 4.5k vs locals took home 4.5k. Locals took home 4.5k, employers still need to contribute CPF and end up it is more then 4.5k. So salary package overall locals already lose out. Although it is not ideal, but as we know this cpf contribution is impossible to remove. So yeah. Edited August 28, 2020 by Yewheng 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 17 minutes ago, Voodooman said: https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/government-economy/suntec-singapore-cuts-85-jobs-as-events-business-dries-up 85 jobs lost. 60 locals and 25 FT. 84% local and 96% local post retrenchment. This and the new min EP wage policy will drive a lot of EP holders to apply for PR. I am sure ICA will be very swamped soon. I read it quite differently. Out of 85, already 25 are FT. Balance 60 are either citizen or PR. So, in another words, out of 85 staff, how many are truely Singaporean? Is this norm for most companies? How can MOM ensure there is some quotas system to limit foreigners? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 31 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: An la an la...mai kia 🙄 Political white washing by MOM under Jo Teo. Such crap should be POFMA-ed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ToyotaShuttle 5th Gear August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 (edited) 16 minutes ago, Yewheng said: Then did you ask yourself this question.. Increasing wp levy how does it help construction sector who is already struggling? I feel Government should not decide on the quota, but government can make it as equal as possible like if locals got cpf contribution that employers need to contribute, then impost levy for EP will end up become the same cost. Not like now EP took 4.5k vs locals took home 4.5k. Locals took home 4.5k, employers still need to contribute CPF and end up it is more then 4.5k. So salary package overall locals already lose out. Although it is not ideal, but as we know this cpf contribution is impossible to remove. So yeah. It doesn't help the construction sector. My suggestion is not with the aim of helping the construction sector. increase WP levy will safeguard essential jobs for low income Singaporeans and give them a chance at a living wage. If Singaporeans need to pay slightly more for construction costs, so be it. But I think most of the costs will come out of developer profits and land price anyway. Edited August 28, 2020 by ToyotaShuttle Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 (edited) 1 hour ago, inlinesix said: Ppl who lay off could have a niche skill. How to look for new job? During the 9/11 and again subprime, the health care was touted as the new job area of growth. Now during c19 it’s rinse and repeat the same.. become nurse or healthcare workers. even Steward are re deployed as front counter staff as they are verse in communication and brand image Edited August 28, 2020 by Sdf4786k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 (edited) 19 minutes ago, ToyotaShuttle said: It doesn't help the construction sector. My suggestion is not with the aim of helping the construction sector. increase WP levy will safeguard essential jobs for low income Singaporeans and give them a chance at a living wage. If Singaporeans need to pay slightly more for construction costs, so be it. But I think most of the costs will come out of developer profits and land price anyway. Who will want to work in construction sector? Any locals want to take up these jobs? You get what I mean? Your argument is like saying I am okay with price increase, however what you are okay with does not mean others are okay with. There are many others who are already struggling with day to day expenses, the last thing they would like to see is price increase again. Really you should just keep remind yourself you are okay with it does not mean others are okay. Edited August 28, 2020 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/courts-crime/pakistani-man-jailed-for-lying-in-pr-application-and-submitting-fake-degree?utm_medium=Social&utm_campaign=STFB&utm_source=Facebook#Echobox=1598534679 these type Open business one catch for what sia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 3 minutes ago, Mustank said: https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/courts-crime/pakistani-man-jailed-for-lying-in-pr-application-and-submitting-fake-degree?utm_medium=Social&utm_campaign=STFB&utm_source=Facebook#Echobox=1598534679 these type Open business one catch for what sia Do it the classic SG way. Degree fraudsters get CANING and jail term, confirm we see action...... muayhahahahahahaha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ToyotaShuttle 5th Gear August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 14 minutes ago, Yewheng said: Who will want to work in construction sector? Any locals want to take up these jobs? You get what I mean? Your argument is like saying I am okay with price increase, however what you are okay with does not mean others are okay with. There are many others who are already struggling with day to day expenses, the last thing they would like to see is price increase again. Really you should just keep remind yourself you are okay with it does not mean others are okay. What's the reason no locals wanna take up those jobs? Low salary. Why low salary? Too many FWs. Any difference from having so many FTs competing with the PMETs and driving wages down? I can also say that we have no locals wanna take up IT so we need CECA to come in and take up the whole dept? Can I suggest we flood the PMET market with even more CECA? Maybe they can drive down wages in banking since they make such high wages. As a consumer, I can maybe get 0.1% lower interest on my loan. I am also struggling with day to day expense so let's push down all the costs. You mean you are willing to pay more? See, the problem with you is that you don't care about low wage Singaporeans and think they need no protection. Then why can't those low wage Singaporeans think the same about PMETs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 20 minutes ago, Throttle2 said: Do it the classic SG way. Degree fraudsters get CANING and jail term, confirm we see action...... muayhahahahahahaha Like that govt got to employ a few more caners as part 100,000 job and training opportunities. How to apply? Would love to do the canings! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leo72 6th Gear August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 1 hour ago, Victor68 said: I read it quite differently. Out of 85, already 25 are FT. Balance 60 are either citizen or PR. So, in another words, out of 85 staff, how many are truely Singaporean? Is this norm for most companies? How can MOM ensure there is some quotas system to limit foreigners? True. Need to break down into PRs and Singaporeans for local though PRs that reside in Singapore need to be taken care of but those PMET PRs who commute daily between Singapore and JB they had enjoyed the best of both countries for years already, I don't really have sympathy for them. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leo72 6th Gear August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 32 minutes ago, Throttle2 said: Do it the classic SG way. Degree fraudsters get CANING and jail term, confirm we see action...... muayhahahahahahaha The way to ease MOM workload on the verification of the education credentials of those applying for SP, EP and PR can be done just by only accepting only education certificate from the top 5 or top 10 universities of that country (CECA will mean India) since we're talking about taking in Talents to do jobs that Singaporeans cannot do. By doing that, it''ll ease the workload of MOM since fewer universities are accepted and also can even get their government to help with the verifying too. See one stone kill 2 birds, MOM can do the verifying of the education credentials and ensure that the companies are bringing in Talents. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 😁 1 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 28, 2020 Share August 28, 2020 (edited) 1 hour ago, Mustank said: https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/courts-crime/pakistani-man-jailed-for-lying-in-pr-application-and-submitting-fake-degree?utm_medium=Social&utm_campaign=STFB&utm_source=Facebook#Echobox=1598534679 these type Open business one catch for what sia To u it’s just a minor case. I supposed careful monitoring and watching Will be useful. After all , already added to the population with children. Cannot tarpao back to Pakistan right ? And if it’s male lChildren agi worst.. serve army then removed citizenship or what? from my observation, we should pump in more people to work for MOM and ICA to boost the check and balance of the immigration. At least add 5 thousand jobs to improve the work load? Edited August 28, 2020 by Sdf4786k ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...