COVID-19: Retrenchments

Albeniz

Gupta said he has planned to hire 2000 in a years time...I think mainly fintech field since he recently hired someone from high up in govtech...

with projection of 200k job losses...only 1%...whose gonna keechiu to chope the remaining 99% 

15 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Gupta said he has planned to hire 2000 in a years time...I think mainly fintech field since he recently hired someone from high up in govtech...

with projection of 200k job losses...only 1%...whose gonna keechiu to chope the remaining 99% 

Really? 2000 new positions in this environment? Wind30 will kpkb.. 😂. If DBS don't chop people, should celebrate already with so many companies going bust.

If you read between the lines, bulk is internship.

https://www.finextra.com/newsarticle/35840/dbs-to-hire-2000-new-staff

Edited by Voodooman

12 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Really? 2000 new positions in this environment? Wind30 will kpkb.. 😂. If DBS don't chop people, should celebrate already with so many companies going bust.

Yah...so far no mentioning of chop but chope internships...I think it’s NS...state bank no less

8 hours ago, Voodooman said:

?? I think you totally misunderstand my post. I was complaining that SIA did not do any retrenchment when there is just no hope that air travel will go back to original capacity anytime soon. All other airlines are forecasting this and why is SIA any different?

Hiring more people in places with demand is a GOOD thing. If you don't realise, COVID affect different industries very different. In some tech industries, the effect is minimal or even a boost...

There is a limit on how much the government can feed redundant industries. The EARLIER you pivot away from those industries the BETTER for the economy. I rather government money be spend on sponsoring these new positions in DBS than to pay SIA people salaries... simple as that. 

3 hours ago, Wind30 said:

?? I think you totally misunderstand my post. I was complaining that SIA did not do any retrenchment when there is just no hope that air travel will go back to original capacity anytime soon. All other airlines are forecasting this and why is SIA any different?

Hiring more people in places with demand is a GOOD thing. If you don't realise, COVID affect different industries very different. In some tech industries, the effect is minimal or even a boost...

There is a limit on how much the government can feed redundant industries. The EARLIER you pivot away from those industries the BETTER for the economy. I rather government money be spend on sponsoring these new positions in DBS than to pay SIA people salaries... simple as that. 

Just kidding @Wind30. I understand your earlier point.

How does this apprenticeship work? Is it any difference between the Attachment local universities gave in year 3?

I think I am new to this new idea. 

Edited by golden_eagle

1 hour ago, golden_eagle said:

How does this apprenticeship work? Is it any difference between the Attachment local universities gave in year 3?

I think I am new to this new idea. 

In apprenticeship, you are employed by the company as ab-initio zero knowledge trainee. The company send you for the training course which is subsidized. Trainee also gets a modest allowance in-lieu of actual salary during this period, paid for by those various schemes (basically taxpayer money). Minimal cost for the company. Then after graduation, the trainee becomes full-fledged employee.

Attachment on the other hand does not guarantee job. And you are paid the allowance directly by the company, no govt schemes.

Edited by Sosaria

21 hours ago, Yewheng said:

There are a lot of drinkers get turned off the need to stop drinking alcohol at the pub or coffeeshop at 10.30pm. I am sure quite a bit of business is lost because of that. Live screening of soccer match without beer? Common.. 

So well they will have to make do with what they have..

Nowadays these rules are also for consideration of covid control. Drunk people can't or won't social distance.

On 7/17/2020 at 9:43 AM, Wind30 said:

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/07/07/business/sweden-economy-coronavirus.html

It is all about magnitude. If u read the above article by someone pro lockdown, u can tell the economic impact on Sweden is pretty minor, compared to Singapore.

honestly, Singapore did really badly for covid. The point is that some sectors like F&b air travel, tourism cannot be helped.

but when u have lockdown or dormitory screw up, u kill the broader economy like construction, manufacturing.... which are the LIFESAVERS.

why can’t people understand this? Just because even without lockdown economy is shit, does not mean lockdown is inconsequential. I tell u with lockdown economy is 100 times shittier. If a 40% gdp drop still can’t convince you, no point lah

I agree. A certain portion of the society will be greater risk-takers, or they don't have such great concern about infection because they are staying alone etc. Allowing businesses to remain open will at least get some revenue from this group of people. But lockdown means everywhere close up, everyone stays at home.

19 hours ago, mersaylee said:

I think banks gonna have a hard time soon ... hire 2000 but cut 200k 😄🍻 good idea

21 minutes ago, Sosaria said:

Nowadays these rules are also for consideration of covid control. Drunk people can't or won't social distance.

Like as if 10pm and 11pm or 1am makes a big difference. I feel that now the focus should be helping businesses to survive as much as possible even to smallest detail possible. Like this smallest detail of lifting restrictions on selling of liquor at 10.30pm would certainly help businesses. Maybe temporarily lift the restriction during this covid-19 period and see how's the performance like. If it shows good positive result without much impacting on social issue. Then perhaps can permanently remove that restriction. 

If still want to be Conservative, maybe extend the hours till say 1159pm, after that no sale of Liquor. That 1hr and 30 minutes does make a big difference in helping coffeeshop, bars and etc. 

Edited by Yewheng

31 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

Like as if 10pm and 11pm or 1am makes a big difference. I feel that now the focus should be helping businesses to survive as much as possible even to smallest detail possible. Like this smallest detail of lifting restrictions on selling of liquor at 10.30pm would certainly help businesses. Maybe temporarily lift the restriction during this covid-19 period and see how's the performance like. If it shows good positive result without much impacting on social issue. Then perhaps can permanently remove that restriction. 

If still want to be Conservative, maybe extend the hours till say 1159pm, after that no sale of Liquor. That 1hr and 30 minutes does make a big difference in helping coffeeshop, bars and etc. 

..... I think alcohol sales is something we can do without.... 

does not make sense.... just stupid. Benefit vs risk... different business generate different covid risks. Lockdown kills everyone. Bad. Open everything also kills everyone when covid spiral out of control. Businesses that cannot safe distance, should not be encouraged. 

6 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

..... I think alcohol sales is something we can do without.... 

does not make sense.... just stupid. Benefit vs risk... different business generate different covid risks. Lockdown kills everyone. Bad. Open everything also kills everyone when covid spiral out of control. Businesses that cannot safe distance, should not be encouraged. 

That's what you guys think, but we still need to consider that to Give people choice. People have a choice to choose whether to drink or not to drink what. Every job count right? Then what? want to add more count to unemployment? Let these businesses to have a chance to prove themselves, people to prove themselves that it does not cause much social harm. What is worst it could be if it cause more social harm? Revert back to 10.30pm restrictions lor.. 

Edited by Yewheng

17 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

That's what you guys think, but we still need to consider that to Give people choice. People have a choice to choose whether to drink or not to drink what. Every job count right? Then what? want to add more count to unemployment? Let these businesses to have a chance to prove themselves, people to prove themselves that it does not cause much social harm. What is worst it could be if it cause more social harm? Revert back to 10.30pm restrictions lor.. 

.... I scared revert to phase one...