[Reminiscence] from Yishun Dam to Jalan Kayu, through old Seletar

Scion

Come to think of it, those new BTO flats along Yishun Avenue 1 and 8 really bird no lay egg :XD:

Those days it was just greenery :grin:

5 hours ago, Davidklt said:

Can I be super off topic ?

I took this photos or the old Seletar Hawker Center in 2004  (where Greenwich Mall now sits).

During my NS days, the MacDonald's was the closet thing to civilisation for us.

1308758491_Picture024.jpg.6d0a1596723724a8671adda9cfed9163.jpg1998393630_Picture018.jpg.a66c900008e2706f919afcdb6b171ed2.jpg1444488946_Picture074.jpg.2122e2f784635a217ede20c3bbe33dd4.jpg1024719734_Picture071.jpg.0243b9dc354b94fa3d4dcaf622f86c81.jpg1084729108_Picture076.jpg.0db386983da429ff34721518b5052d22.jpg169435120_Picture075.jpg.15a5b3043b44896fc23432644e00672c.jpg

Picture 018.jpg

my goodness.... precious photos [thumbsup]

i makan there and played basketball with friends there in the early 2000s

On 5/6/2020 at 3:10 PM, Atrecord said:

few yr ago got youngsters drove there early morning tio accident, i think 2 girls died...

road slightly winding at parts, but nowhere near south borna vista rd, yet still prone to accidents... 

Now big changes  already. One side is Paya Lebar airport, the ther side now all factory or office.

Road is widening to 3 lane.

I use this road quite often.

Edited by Tohto

I took this photos or the old Seletar Hawker Center in 2004  (where Greenwich Mall now sits).

1308758491_Picture024.jpg.6d0a1596723724a8671adda9cfed9163.jpg1998393630_Picture018.jpg.a66c900008e2706f919afcdb6b171ed2.jpg1444488946_Picture074.jpg.2122e2f784635a217ede20c3bbe33dd4.jpg1024719734_Picture071.jpg.0243b9dc354b94fa3d4dcaf622f86c81.jpg1084729108_Picture076.jpg.0db386983da429ff34721518b5052d22.jpg169435120_Picture075.jpg.15a5b3043b44896fc23432644e00672c.jpg

Picture 018.jpg

So near...yet I had only been there twice...once to tabao because of guard duty...once to have lunch there before heading home on a book out Saturday...

Picture 018.jpg

the food at the hawker really cheap... 

now i think left pandan / teban gardens have very cheap hawker.. i always mix up pandan / teban

6 hours ago, Davidklt said:

Picture 018.jpg

I visited the FC in this market quite often in the 90s... 

1 hour ago, mersaylee said:

So near...yet I had only been there twice...once to tabao because of guard duty...once to have lunch there before heading home on a book out Saturday...

its replacement Greenwich i also been there only twice

anyway the surrounding Sengkang residents i think will likely go Seletar Mall instead of Greenwich

48 minutes ago, Tohto said:

last time i heard the nearby residents, especially the private estates one, were quite pissed off with the demolition as this was the only market and hawker centre in this area...

48 minutes ago, Tohto said:

There are two stalls I like there. Rong Ji zhi char and the western food stall.

Rongji was cheap and with our NS allowance, gave us a great dinner treat. They have relocated to Northstar building.

The western food stall moved to Jalan Selaseh but the old couple retired. The one you see now if the not original owner and the taste is different.

6 minutes ago, Scion said:

last time i heard the nearby residents, especially the private estates one, were quite pissed off with the demolition as this was the only market and hawker centre in this area...

Those older market are all demolished. 

Similar to the one at Hougang Ave 7, food there was cheap and the 2 coffeeshop beside it also very good. 

24 minutes ago, Scion said:

its replacement Greenwich i also been there only twice

anyway the surrounding Sengkang residents i think will likely go Seletar Mall instead of Greenwich

I like Greenwich becos boh lang one...used to hangout at the CBTL till infested with students hogging seats...

1 hour ago, mersaylee said:

Yeah, last time NS 2 1/2 years, book out Sat and book in Sun plus in house cook.

Nowadays still got people complain about NS lol.

2 hours ago, Vegas said:

the food at the hawker really cheap... 

now i think left pandan / teban gardens have very cheap hawker.. i always mix up pandan / teban

I also used to mix up pandan and teban. Pandan dont have hc, and the hc is located in teban. But there was a swimming pool in pandan. 

8 hours ago, Davidklt said:

Picture 018.jpg

Popular chicken chop was there during my night-off days....very nice photos bro. 👍

2 hours ago, 13177 said:

I also used to mix up pandan and teban. Pandan dont have hc, and the hc is located in teban. But there was a swimming pool in pandan. 

hehe. tku tku! last time work IBP, go teban HC eat.. $3 can really eat till stomach burst

yah i took this photo from IBP back in 2014

the Teban Gardens flats in the red circle had been demolished since

548207209_tebangardens.thumb.JPG.a57c41910b765ca4b227b10fee4c64d4.JPG

but i think the Teban Gardens hawker centre is still around

Edited by Scion

On 5/8/2020 at 3:31 PM, Davidklt said:

Picture 018.jpg

I used to stop there for breakfast and shop around the market as well as the provision shops at the HDB block. There was a prata stall run by a Chinese couple. I used to order pineapple tarts (very good golden pillow type) from one of the stall there. Got biscuits from the provision shops, cheaper than supermart prices.