IKEA Donates 800 Mugs After Learning Migrant Workers Drink Straight From Milk Cartons

kobayashiGT

IKEA Donates 800 Mugs After Learning Migrant Workers Drink Straight From Milk Cartons

source: https://mustsharenews.com/ikea-donates-mugs/

Workers-also-received-snacks.jpg

IKEA Donates 800 Mugs After Non-Profit Finds Migrant Workers Drinking Straight From Cartons

When we drink directly from cartons, most of the time it’s because we’re lazy.

But when one volunteer spotted migrant workers drinking milk directly from the carton, she was shook to discover it was because they had no cups.

drinking-straight-from-carton.jpg

Upon learning of this, non-profit organisation It’s Raining Raincoats reached out to donors.

And before they knew it, furniture giant IKEA had come on board and donated 800 mugs to the cause.

On Friday (24 Apr), they detailed this heartwarming story on their Facebook page.

facebookpost-2.jpg

IKEA donates 800 mugs to migrant workers

From cartons of milk, migrant workers now have cartons of IKEA mugs as well.

Those with colour preferences can choose between turquoise and light green.

Mugs.jpg

We’re sure that the mugs were hot commodities when distributed, given the long but aptly spaced queue.

queue-for-mugs.jpg

We sure hope that this donation has sparked a little joy in their lives.

IKEA donates snacks as well

On top of the 800 mugs, IKEA also donated cartons of snacks from their food outlet.

snacks.jpg

In line with Covid-19 guidelines, the furniture giant closed all their restaurants.

We’re glad to see that the food is not wasted, and donated to a worthy cause.

snacks-2.jpg

Now migrant workers can happily snack, while taking a drink from their new swanky mugs.

Every little bit helps

They say it’s the little things in life that matter, but migrant workers don’t even have “little things” like mugs.

This shows that all acts of kindness, no matter how small thing, can make a big difference. Kudos to IKEA for stepping forward.

Let’s not take things for granted, and help where we can. Together we can get through this tough time.

Kudos to Ikea!

P&G donates 300,000 care packs with razors, shampoo & more to migrant workers

source: https://mothership.sg/2020/04/procter-gamble-donates-care-packs/

PG-1.jpg

International consumer goods corporation Procter & Gamble (P&G) will be distributing 300,000 care packs to migrant workers who are currently housed in purpose-built and factory-converted dormitories in Singapore.

P&G to donate household cleaning products on top of care packs

According to a press release, this donation is part of P&G's care initiative with the Ministry of Manpower (MOM), the South West Community Development Council (CDC) and the Migrant Workers’ Centre (MWC).

Each care pack will include essential personal health and hygiene items such as an Oral-B toothbrush, Gillette razor, and Head & Shoulders shampoo.

25-April-Carepacks-1-scaled.jpg

In addition, P&G will also provide household cleaning products to 43 purpose-built and more than 1,000 factory-converted dormitories.

Care packs to be distributed through MWC over following weeks

On April 25, volunteers from P&G were joined by Minister for Manpower Josephine Teo, Senior Parliamentary Secretary Low Yen Ling and Chairman of the MWC, Yeo Guat Kwang, at a packing event.

25-April-Carepacks-16-scaled.jpg

Picture-3-scaled.jpg

25-April-Carepacks-5-scaled.jpg

Over the following weeks, the care packs will be prepared and distributed through the MWC.

P&G has been working with South West CDC to support the community

As part of an on-going partnership with the South West CDC, P&G has also pledged and donated 3,000 South West Care Packs to vulnerable families and frontline workers and 500 sets of cleaning products for identified Social Service Agencies and preschools in the South West District.

Additionally, they have launched a fundraiser with each dollar matched by the company for the benefit of The Courage Fund, an initiative under the National Council for Social Services (NCSS).

The fund aims to provide additional support and relief to vulnerable individuals and families, including healthcare workers, frontline workers and volunteers.

Kudos to P&G too!

these mugs looks like those used in SAF camp cookhouse. remembered when i did my incamp training previously have used similar cups like this too. 

800 mugs will not be able to cater for all the dorms FW. wonder why just 800. That means alot more others still drink straight for milk cartons still.

Mugs.jpg

45 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

As much as possible,  I will be buying P&G products.  [thumbsup][laugh][laugh]

Just because those girls packing it .... [sly]

Oei..... there is one aunty inside ... :secret-laugh:

18 minutes ago, Chongster said:

this is getting a little dumb, see them drink from milk carton donate cups?

then see them wear sarong, donate underwear?

Mug is not expensive and FW can well afford. Maybe easily chipped or stolen in their environment, or they don't want so much clutter.

Can't be issue of affordability ... FW can bring their FDW gf on dates, and you can also see clusters of FW at the geylang lorongs with budget options. They will spend on whatever is important to them, but maybe not mug.

6 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

Actually the masks sort of improves everyone's looks, you do realize? [laugh] Add a bit of mystery and emphasizes the eyes

12 minutes ago, Sosaria said:

Actually the masks sort of improves everyone's looks, you do realize? [laugh] Add a bit of mystery and emphasizes the eyes

These days go out is chio bu chio bu everywhere.... [:p][laugh][laugh]

21 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

That aunty also not interested in me lah... She can PP in a shoebox,  I cannot leh,  so no common topic.... [:p][laugh][laugh]

21 minutes ago, Sosaria said:

Mug is not expensive and FW can well afford. Maybe easily chipped or stolen in their environment, or they don't want so much clutter.

Can't be issue of affordability ... FW can bring their FDW gf on dates, and you can also see clusters of FW at the geylang lorongs with budget options. They will spend on whatever is important to them, but maybe not mug.

Mayb is,  I drink from the carton and now the carton is mine,  use a mug need to share,  1 carton is pour into 4 mugs... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Want to donate just donate, want to help just help. But why must go take picture write articles with their brands seen prominently??  I've known organisations or people who do that anonymously, now that's from the heart.

2 hours ago, Tianmo said:

These days go out is chio bu chio bu everywhere.... [:p][laugh][laugh]

yes, until one day they remove their masks ... [crazy]

2 hours ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

chiobu pack one confirm is better quality ... use already skin confirm smoother ... [:p]

43 minutes ago, Zxcvb said:

Want to donate just donate, want to help just help. But why must go take picture write articles with their brands seen prominently??  I've known organisations or people who do that anonymously, now that's from the heart.

It's call product placement in the name of charity.

55 minutes ago, Zxcvb said:

Marketing and Branding.

It works. See,  Tianmo already wants to buy their products.

8 minutes ago, Icedbs said:

Marketing and Branding.

It works. See,  Tianmo already wants to buy their products.

As a sales and marketing professional, I appreciate what was done. I would have done the same if I were in position... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

3 hours ago, Tianmo said:

That aunty also not interested in me lah... She can PP in a shoebox,  I cannot leh,  so no common topic.... [:p][laugh][laugh]

Focus on the activity and not the locality...of course, has to be your chai to begin with...

Not to belittle drinking directly from milk carton or the mug or the donation, but they may be drinking directly from milk carton bcuz they simply don't want to spend money on mugs.

A plastic mug is dirt cheap and last forever. Their salary not enough to buy one ?