salary during manpower reduction

Ysc3

4 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

Thanks for clarifying. 

Looks like many of our Ministries have very stupid one-size-fits-all policies.

saw an interview that pest control company was asked to reduce manpower by 50% (1st target) [confused] 

pest control provider commented dengue cases are rising [sweatdrop] 

4 hours ago, Ysc3 said:

Means at 50% mpo,  I can roster 50% of my workforce to show up on alternate days? If like this,  think my staff will still be able to accept it as fair since everyone gets to SAH or come in. 

Can rotate.. just justify... since yours is more of hard labour,  alternate days make sense.

Maybe you can consider 12hrs shifts with alternate days rotation. I presume those staying at home is CBL anyway 

10 minutes ago, GLZT said:

Currently MTI has been requesting many of the essential services to reduce manpower to a certain percentage. How they execute this is to request the companies to submit the names of those chosen to continue working, those names not given should not be at company premises or at work outside at all. 

Hence the rotation part is abit tricky. MOM wants solution that can be measured immediately as it is more troublesome and time consuming to "audit" companies on whether they follow the rotation strictly and keep manpower to the restricted percentage. 

Huh? I thought they give you a target ratio and up to you to manage?  Then they cut gradually over time till you buay tahan? 

29 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

Thanks for clarifying. 

Looks like many of our Ministries have very stupid one-size-fits-all policies.

Boh pian in the end, many daily changes here there. New rules, etc. Difficult to have tailored made policies for each affected companies.

Just be glad end day, our biz still considered as essential, get to do something rather than a total loss.

25 minutes ago, Galantspeedz said:

Can rotate.. just justify... since yours is more of hard labour,  alternate days make sense.

Maybe you can consider 12hrs shifts with alternate days rotation. I presume those staying at home is CBL anyway 

Do apply for additional manpower, does take a while to approve.

Once done, do your rotation, in fact its encouraged during those emails here and there. Staggered working time or rotation, each staff of 7hrs. Better than nothing.

Once again, do remind customers, clients. Do not expect efficiency 100percent. These r afterall manual labor jobs..

Layman term, if client expects 100cartons of cow milk. This is say based on 100 working cows. If govt restrict u to 50cows. Dun even expect 60cartons lor. To milk 100 cartons, ask them to supply you with the workers to milk lor. or grow the cow for u lor

23 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Huh? I thought they give you a target ratio and up to you to manage?  Then they cut gradually over time till you buay tahan? 

That's what my supplier told me for his company, his company medium size, about 400 headcount.

My small company of 10pax still waiting for MTI to get back to us. Last week they ask us to email them the names and ic of each employee that are unable to WFH. So I think can expect something soon. Currently already on rotation basis. 2 teams work 3days a week. Everyone happy. 

37 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

saw an interview that pest control company was asked to reduce manpower by 50% (1st target) [confused] 

pest control provider commented dengue cases are rising [sweatdrop] 

After the rain for this few days stop, we can see more mozzie liao. I understand fumigation for cockroaches in hdb has been halt. So I think manpower still can play around. Unless gov give them alot of fogging jobs for mosquitos. 

3 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

This is the time when all need to cooperate.. saying is easy.. even my side asked to clear Annual Leave all come out with many pattern.. they only want to clear when CB over!

alot of employees think for themselves only.. no see big picture.. self centered.. they forget if companies die it is very hard to secure another job let alone a decent pay job..

The bloomed of an industry bring its own problems..

my coy just informed every executive level to clear certain no. of days. the basis is not about money but more to anticipate the days ahead with long absentees when 2nd half comes. imagine all are holding 1 year of quota, with limited months to clear, the coy operation can be affected when all clearing block leave.

7 minutes ago, Sopskysalat said:

my coy just informed every executive level to clear certain no. of days. the basis is not about money but more to anticipate the days ahead with long absentees when 2nd half comes. imagine all are holding 1 year of quota, with limited months to clear, the coy operation can be affected when all clearing block leave.

they don understand.. when company asked to clear leave they may be foreseeing that the coming months may be tough.. no pay leave maybe next on the card..

With all selfish people holding back/hoarding their leave and when such times come.. company will drag their finance as people will need to clear their leave before no pay leave can kick in on the individual.. any delay will affect cash flow...

48 minutes ago, Spurman said:

Boh pian in the end, many daily changes here there. New rules, etc. Difficult to have tailored made policies for each affected companies.

Just be glad end day, our biz still considered as essential, get to do something rather than a total loss.

But one needs to publicly challenge an idiotic policy to have any hope of an improvement. Our gahmen has many idiotic policies. 

So far this MUM has being creating lots of work for ppl.. they mum here mum there.. giraffe here n there in mask take pic while the rest wear full Dino suit.. hialat

2 hours ago, Spurman said:
Spoiler

Another method which I am using now for staffs which needs to be physically present is to provide additional incentives. Not much, things like makan, I had to moved 2 drivers to fill up these positions also, they responsible at least fetching 2 guys to work. each lorry fetch 1 more pax nia, cant be 2 as social distancing fails.

Also, I drive 2 more guys to work also as also becoz of social distancing.

The driver also get to go out buy makan for us, plus also detour to get 4 packs of catered lunches n dinners for the workers now SHN in dorms, as its also now responsibility for employers to get them fed and at the same time at least give a little emotional support for them.

Also consider those who work hard during this period, reward them later too, withing your companys means also as honestly, theres still rental to be paid and as bosses, we dun qualify for the JSS thingy.

Lastly as bosses, take the lead to cut your own pay, director fees. It goes a long way, cut 2k, 3k also song, your staff see liao, appreciate also. One way to motivate your team when things get back to normality later hopefully.

This period of time, also you shall notice who r the loyal bunch, the self sacrificing ones, those siam ones. etc. As a boss, open your eyes and evaluate.

As for customers, f**k them actually if they still think you can produce 100percent effort or on time when you are now 50percent or 75percent handicapped liao.

Too bad, I've not met a boos like you :XD:

4 hours ago, Spurman said:

As for customers, f**k them actually if they still think you can produce 100percent effort or on time when you are now 50percent or 75percent handicapped liao.

my client keeps calling us for meetings to tell us to plan our ops and to ensure we don't screw up if any reduction measures kicks in for us.

i just told my boss on thursday after a meeting regarding a covid case reported at one of the customer's place that we will have to reduce and assign fix teams for our fleet of trucks.

we will have to propose it to our client our reposnse to the RA and then tell them that efficiency will drop at the same time, and they in turn have to tell their customers to expect the same.

i told my boss, its time to say no.

they don understand.. when company asked to clear leave they may be foreseeing that the coming months may be tough.. no pay leave maybe next on the card..

With all selfish people holding back/hoarding their leave and when such times come.. company will drag their finance as people will need to clear their leave before no pay leave can kick in on the individual.. any delay will affect cash flow...

this is bad for me .... coz last year my coy started to pay staff for leave untaken .... so usually i will keep my leave for money instead .... 😥

It must be a give and take. Last time when I am on leave I will travel.  One reason is that if i am in singapore, people will call and ask for this and that 

So if bosses want workers to clear their leave they must also make sure they dont ask the workers to do work when on leave (since they cant go anywhere).

Additionally no employee wants to waste the annual leave when they cannot do anything or go anywhere.  You can call it selfish but one consideration is how was the company towards the worker in better times.  

In one company that I worked before, when I resigned I encashed almost an entire year's worth of annual leave.  In my exit interview I complain I couldn't take leave.  The manager said not true.  You could have taken alternate friday half day off (not the whole day off because of meetings), and you can clear your entitlement quickly.  Then I said half day off, by the time I can go off it's only a little bit.  Then the manager said that's not the point.  The point is you complain you couldn't take leave but you actually could.

Yea I left.

My two cents.

Edited by Philipkee

4 minutes ago, Philipkee said:

So if bosses want workers to clear their leave they must also make sure they dont ask the workers to do work when on leave (since they cant go anywhere).

this is the problem.. Boss don respect those on leave when WFH... 

13 minutes ago, Philipkee said:

It must be a give and take. Last time when I am on leave I will travel.  One reason is that if i am in singapore, people will call and ask for this and that 

Additionally no employee wants to waste the annual leave when they cannot do anything or go anywhere.  You can call it selfish but one consideration is how was the company towards the worker in better times.  

In one company that I worked before, when I resigned I encashed almost an entire year's worth of annual leave.  In my exit interview I complain I couldn't take leave.  The manager said not true.  You could have taken alternate friday half day off (not the whole day off because of meetings), and you can clear your entitlement quickly.  Then I said half day off, by the time I can go off it's only a little bit.  Then the manager said that's not the point.  The point is you complain you couldn't take leave but you actually could.

Yea I left.

My two cents.

The exit interviewer is a knn ppl... 

8 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said:

this is the problem.. Boss don respect those on leave when WFH... 

Tell me about it... My wife still got SMS from the school Principal at 11:45 pm!!