2021 Toyota Yaris Cross Hybrid

Carbon82

2 minutes ago, t0y0ta said:

Corolla Cross IMHO is a weird misfit. It does not have TNGA-C rear multi-link suspension and uses very simple torsion beam - which seems to be taken from GA-B.

It is a cheap to built car for ASEAN market similar to how VIOS was created.

Corolla Cross is definitely cheap to build. 

Corolla Cross drivetrain is same as Corolla 1.8L

Since you mentioned Vios, it is also another cheap build that shares the same platform as Axio, Sienta.

2 hours ago, richard_crl032 said:

Oops ... back with dotter and CO to find out halogen headlights and not LED which is a bit of a let down though not a showstopper.

Alternative on single available Fit Hybrid in ok red for dotter at 90k from PI without any interest to down price is a push for the Yaris Cross from BM.

With apology and cheers.

Richard

Thanks for the info! 

Your daughter still deciding Ma? 
Btw pricing is $99888, heard the price will increase after launch.

2 hours ago, inlinesix said:

Are you saying Toyota Factory In Thailand & Japan runs on a different standard?

Corolla Cross runs on the same TNGA-C platform as Corolla sold by PI.

Go check out Borneo sienta vs PI sienta. Current models made in Indonesia and Japan respectively. 

49 minutes ago, mikk123 said:

increase? the PI just waiting for it. If they don't, all PI holding to their stock and can't sell. BM is very smart now. They may continue to hold low price and kill all PI hope, so No PI dare to bring in Toyota popular model anymore. BM can eat all the Toyota share. 

It started all the way to "wish" era.

Now they even have the harrier. Haha

6 hours ago, mikk123 said:

increase? the PI just waiting for it. If they don't, all PI holding to their stock and can't sell. BM is very smart now. They may continue to hold low price and kill all PI hope, so No PI dare to bring in Toyota popular model anymore. BM can eat all the Toyota share. 

Don't know leh, probably need to wait for the official launch to know. 14th Jan 2021 i think

On 1/2/2021 at 1:39 PM, Zxcvb said:

And since BM decided not to bring in the Corolla Cross, any PI wants to bring it in?? Doubt so as PI like the use the “made in Japan” tagline ever so often. 

a bro will excited to read your post

On 1/2/2021 at 3:11 PM, inlinesix said:

Are you saying Toyota Factory In Thailand & Japan runs on a different standard?

Corolla Cross runs on the same TNGA-C platform as Corolla sold by PI.

Hi inlinesix,

Not different standard but different quality level .. I am in Development and Quality in manufacturing.

Cheers.

Richard

On 1/2/2021 at 5:13 PM, 2wiremodem said:

Thanks for the info! 

Your daughter still deciding Ma? 
Btw pricing is $99888, heard the price will increase after launch.

Hi 2wiremodem,

Unfortunately, we worked it out and not feasible for her to own it especially since just back after her nursing degree and looking for job.

Insurance (3k), road tax, petrol and carpark estimated to be 800-900 which means hard for her to save $ in the eventuality of marriage and hdb reno ... ... quite sensible unlike her old man with wishful thinking to help her start her career and life. Had also wanted to reward her for the effort in the last 4 yrs, concern on needed shift work as well as she had been driving in uni .. 1 yr old 2.5 camry at 19k some 4 yrs ago.

Guess I forgot how it is to be starting out and she can take either one of the 2 family cars when needed especially I work from home now and may retire in the next few years. 

Cheers.

Richard

On 1/2/2021 at 4:51 PM, t0y0ta said:

Corolla Cross IMHO is a weird misfit. It does not have TNGA-C rear multi-link suspension and uses very simple torsion beam - which seems to be taken from GA-B.

It is a cheap to built car for ASEAN market similar to how VIOS was created.

Hi tOyOta,

This Yaris cross from BM also with rear torsion beam unlike AWD version that uniquely have rear multi-link.

The halogen headlight is a bit of a let down else great for single, youngsters or young family cos really a 4 seater.

Cheers.

Richard

5 hours ago, richard_crl032 said:

Hi inlinesix,

Not different standard but different quality level .. I am in Development and Quality in manufacturing.

Cheers.

Richard

Thanks.

It is still stigma for Singaporean to own ASEAN car.

Mind you, not everyone can afford to own 2nd or 3rd car.

6 hours ago, richard_crl032 said:

Hi 2wiremodem,

Unfortunately, we worked it out and not feasible for her to own it especially since just back after her nursing degree and looking for job.

Insurance (3k), road tax, petrol and carpark estimated to be 800-900 which means hard for her to save $ in the eventuality of marriage and hdb reno ... ... quite sensible unlike her old man with wishful thinking to help her start her career and life. Had also wanted to reward her for the effort in the last 4 yrs, concern on needed shift work as well as she had been driving in uni .. 1 yr old 2.5 camry at 19k some 4 yrs ago.

Guess I forgot how it is to be starting out and she can take either one of the 2 family cars when needed especially I work from home now and may retire in the next few years. 

Cheers.

Richard

Totally agree.

Car TCO is at least 20k per year in costs down the drain. That money better for her to save up for future. Grab/Public/Family car is probably at most 5k PA.

1 hour ago, t0y0ta said:

Totally agree.

Car TCO is at least 20k per year in costs down the drain. That money better for her to save up for future. Grab/Public/Family car is probably at most 5k PA.

If a coe small car, probably can at least take a third off. 

Edited by Mkl22

On 1/2/2021 at 3:05 PM, richard_crl032 said:

Cos we all know MIJ and workmanship has its value .... MIJ washing machine is at least 50% more than those even from our bolehland.

Cheers.

Richard

Also, the other factor is the "cost" factor. If 1 is made in Japan and the other made in Thai, both selling for same price at similar spec, most will go for Japan made coz they will feel less ripped off. 😁

8 hours ago, richard_crl032 said:

Hi 2wiremodem,

Cheers.

Richard

Just started work and you encouraging your daughter to buy a new car. Good to be rich haha.

saw the interior photo of YC from PI post on facebook. it looks so cheap and awful with the plastic. the gear shift looks like things from last century lol. did not expect this. or is there another version

3 minutes ago, mikk123 said:

YC is never a premium car....yes, expect cheap looking interior. 

yes i agree with you. but have u seen the interior? being the next national car, the interior cant even match the first gen vezel. expect cheap looking interior but not that cheap. 

6 minutes ago, jacobfff said:

yes i agree with you. but have u seen the interior? being the next national car, the interior cant even match the first gen vezel. expect cheap looking interior but not that cheap. 

Interior of highest trim level

image.png