Roh96 6th Gear December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 26 minutes ago, Spring said: Info is legit for December registration ie $96888. As for Jan registration, like other makes, a full return of the extra $5k shld be passed on to buyer but Borneo has the final say ie they could choose not to return it to buyer. Of course that means u also get $2.5k less PARF after 10 yrs. $97K for this car considered attractive meh? I don't know, but i find it exp. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
yellowshaun 4th Gear December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 3 minutes ago, Roh96 said: $97K for this car considered attractive meh? I don't know, but i find it exp. you comparing to Suzuki Swift hybrid and Honda Fit hybrid price? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brass 6th Gear December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 13 minutes ago, Roh96 said: $97K for this car considered attractive meh? I don't know, but i find it exp. I think I rather buy sedan also... You get more road presence and refinement imho. I dont think refinement of a C segment can be worse off than an A+/B segment jacked hatchback... But seriously, the Yaris Cross is worth a look and I will find a way to see it at BM once launched. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
yellowshaun 4th Gear December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 47 minutes ago, Spring said: Info is legit for December registration ie $96888. As for Jan registration, like other makes, a full return of the extra $5k shld be passed on to buyer but Borneo has the final say ie they could choose not to return it to buyer. Of course that means u also get $2.5k less PARF after 10 yrs. So apparently the 33 units for this promo all snapped up. Pricing now is $96888 incl of $5k rebate for next year registration. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
yellowshaun 4th Gear December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 Since that's the case, maybe got this to consider: 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
charsiewfan 1st Gear December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 14 hours ago, yellowshaun said: Hybrid. BM only had the hybrid on display... I don't think they have the petrol one, it would directly compete with the Vios... which grade for the price? Z? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 (edited) 3 hours ago, Roh96 said: I look at BM's line of products, which one really move in volume? I seriously think only Vios, Altis and perhaps Rav4. I find their Camry, Fortuner, CHR, Prius, Vellfire are not selling that well. I see most of these models on the road are from PI. So yeah, they are in fierce competition with PIs. I always wonder why BM and KM gives up so much market share to the PIs.. perhaps their cost base is very high? Or as part of the agreement with the manufacturers, they have to sell the cars at a certain price band. I believe no businesses will be so charitable as to give up such huge market share to the PIs. Take the Vezel for example. If I'm the CEO or MD of KM, I'll give up driving because every 30 seconds a Vezel will remind me of how much $$$$$ I've let fly.🤣 Edited December 2, 2020 by Rickster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackgenius007 1st Gear December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 29 minutes ago, Rickster said: I always wonder why BM and KM gives up so much market share to the PIs.. perhaps their cost base is very high? Or as part of the agreement with the manufacturers, they have to sell the cars at a certain price band. I believe no businesses will be so charitable as to give up such huge market share to the PIs. Take the Vezel for example. If I'm the CEO or MD of KM, I'll give up driving because every 30 seconds a Vezel will remind me of how much $$$$$ I've let fly.🤣 Rickster, it is a different ball game. BM & KM has to fulfil a certain volume and stock up parts to the model they want to sell in Singapore market. Stocking up parts is one of a big investment which is not necessary for PI to do. Beside that, most of the models has to source from Thailand or Indon factories, because those factories were built for ASEAN market. Only those unique models not available in their ASEAN factories are sourced from Japan, but still have to meet MOQ (e.g. Harrier turbo) That is why KM Vezel has took awhile to switch Thai made 1.8 to Japan made 1.5 to compete with PIs. It has to involve a lot of people and discussions in between KM-Thai-Japan to bring in Japan version. By the time KM given green light to sell, the craze for Vezel has almost ended. Same thing happened to other models like Wish, Harrier and Alphard. Another reason is nowadays many Japan new car exporter goes online, PI just have to do the shopping online in Singapore and "add into cart", not much communication needed, payment via TT, do some paper work for shipment and wait the cars to reach the singapore port, similar with buying stuff from Lazada. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 7 minutes ago, Blackgenius007 said: Rickster, it is a different ball game. BM & KM has to fulfil a certain volume and stock up parts to the model they want to sell in Singapore market. Stocking up parts is one of a big investment which is not necessary for PI to do. Beside that, most of the models has to source from Thailand or Indon factories, because those factories were built for ASEAN market. Only those unique models not available in their ASEAN factories are sourced from Japan, but still have to meet MOQ (e.g. Harrier turbo) That is why KM Vezel has took awhile to switch Thai made 1.8 to Japan made 1.5 to compete with PIs. It has to involve a lot of people and discussions in between KM-Thai-Japan to bring in Japan version. By the time KM given green light to sell, the craze for Vezel has almost ended. Same thing happened to other models like Wish, Harrier and Alphard. Another reason is nowadays many Japan new car exporter goes online, PI just have to do the shopping online in Singapore and "add into cart", not much communication needed, payment via TT, do some paper work for shipment and wait the cars to reach the singapore port, similar with buying stuff from Lazada. Thanks for sharing about the AD's biz model. I wonder why would the manufacturers not support their own AD more from a business perspective. Perhaps our market is too small for them to be bothered.. AD sell a HRV or PI sells a Vezel is still the same sale to Honda. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
yellowshaun 4th Gear December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 2 hours ago, mikk123 said: all 33 sold before even the approval? this is not a hot cake selling product, then what is? BM should bring in more and ahead of PI. Which business has got problem with more sales? Still selling. Just that the promo pricing of $5k lesser than is bo liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 58 minutes ago, Blackgenius007 said: Another reason is nowadays many Japan new car exporter goes online, PI just have to do the shopping online in Singapore and "add into cart", not much communication needed, payment via TT, do some paper work for shipment and wait the cars to reach the singapore port, similar with buying stuff from Lazada. https://www.batfa.com/ Come I help to picha lobang. There's several websites like the above to import from Japan. Do share them around. 😗 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 9 hours ago, Roh96 said: $97K for this car considered attractive meh? I don't know, but i find it exp. Considering Kah’s HRV petrol is selling from $97k to $105k, I feel price is fair esp as YC OMV at $24k is much higher as well n also I don’t remember any hybrid being sold by any AD which is below $100k. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
yellowshaun 4th Gear December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 (edited) 34 minutes ago, Spring said: Considering Kah’s HRV petrol is selling from $97k to $105k, I feel price is fair esp as YC OMV at $24k is much higher as well n also I don’t remember any hybrid being sold by any AD which is below $100k. Kicks is 101k so dont qualify =D Edited December 2, 2020 by yellowshaun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 1 hour ago, yellowshaun said: Kicks is 101k so dont qualify =D Good to know there is another sub $100k hybrid from AD afterall. That said, the Niro model to compare with YC shld be the SX model as that model carries most of the Kia safety sense features. YC is equipped with full Toyota sensing. The Niro though is bigger so that is its plus point over YC. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
yellowshaun 4th Gear December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 Oooh so the price point even after the price went up by 5k, still quite attractive that's why this thread like take over the avante as the hottest thread liao... I bought my car one month too early Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackgenius007 1st Gear December 3, 2020 Share December 3, 2020 16 hours ago, Rickster said: Thanks for sharing about the AD's biz model. I wonder why would the manufacturers not support their own AD more from a business perspective. Perhaps our market is too small for them to be bothered.. AD sell a HRV or PI sells a Vezel is still the same sale to Honda. Yeah the manufacturers always support own AD but most of the time both still tied to traditional car business model and it is hard to break like Tesla who selling direct to customer. Singapore market is unique because it is a free market so everyone can import cars and not restricted to import permit/quota, and it is beyond manufacturer control to block business transaction in between PI and Japan exporter. I believe Tesla business model is best suit to Singapore market and it definitely minimize threats from PI. The rise of e-commerce also benefited to PI source the right car without making a trip to Japan like decades ago, that is why nowadays PIs act faster than AD to launch new models locally. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator December 3, 2020 Share December 3, 2020 9 hours ago, yellowshaun said: Oooh so the price point even after the price went up by 5k, still quite attractive that's why this thread like take over the avante as the hottest thread liao... I bought my car one month too early Price went up $5k ie no VES rebate given for Jan registration doesn’t make it that attractive anymore in my opinion. My post was based on Dec registration and that’s why your posting of Niro at $92,999 (with extra Jan VES) is not an apple to apple comparison. Do the sums yourself (Dec registration): $24k OMV, VES $10k rebate, COE $37690 means a profit margin of just over $10k (I didn’t even include warranty and free svc). Yes Avante margin is high i agree but not this YC. Be objective n by the way, I’m no Toyota fan, I’m just calling it as it is as figures speak for itself. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackgenius007 1st Gear December 3, 2020 Share December 3, 2020 5 hours ago, Spring said: Price went up $5k ie no VES rebate given for Jan registration doesn’t make it that attractive anymore in my opinion. My post was based on Dec registration and that’s why your posting of Niro at $92,999 (with extra Jan VES) is not an apple to apple comparison. Do the sums yourself (Dec registration): $24k OMV, VES $10k rebate, COE $37690 means a profit margin of just over $10k (I didn’t even include warranty and free svc). Yes Avante margin is high i agree but not this YC. Be objective n by the way, I’m no Toyota fan, I’m just calling it as it is as figures speak for itself. below is the full cost of good sold breakdown, OMV- $24,000 PARF- ($20,000) + (4,000 x 140%) = $25,600 VES Rebate - -$10,000 COE- $37,690 Excise duty (20% OMV) $ 4,800 GST (Excise duty & OMV) $ 2,016 Net cost= $ 84,106 Selling price (Yaris cross) = $ 97,000 Profit = $ 12,894 The margin is just nice only after deducted sales commission, storage cost, towing cost (at least 2-3 times), vehicle inspection for type-approval cost, registration cost, accessories (e.g. radio, DVR, sports rim, leather seats, IU installation). Don't forget still got indirect cost to cover office personnel to handle paper work and accounting. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...