How many times you took to pass Driving Test (TP)?

RickyWee

How many times you took to pass Driving Test (TP)?  

168 members have voted

1. 1. How many times you took to pass Driving Test (TP)?

• 5 and above

53 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Convert to private learning faster to get the licence ah? If already learning at the driving school, should continue la. Unless private learning really faster than school.

That's i dunno loh.. For me i kept telling her to continue with school.. I scare convert to Private then longer then convert back waste money waste time..

i also want my kids to learn manual when their time comes.

even intend to buy a manual for them to drive around.

manual allows the full interaction of 4 limbs and allow them to feel the connection between man and machine.

55 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Why she learn manual? Guess manual cars in driving centre should be limited, thats why slot is limited also?

Nowadays dont think many people would learn manual cause no chance to drive manual car also, since almost all vehicles in sg are auto. Even most commercial vehicles also auto.

1 hour ago, Tohto said:

My daughter also start learning this year, she learn manual gear some more.

Slot is limited and always need to fight for slot.

Now the whole system for the learning before allow to book a driving test is so complex. However when I look at new driver on the road, this complex learning does nòt make them drive better at all.

@Tohto yes, quite complex. Got to do so many things before can book for TP test. 
just like all kind of tests, some study just to pass and some study with knowledge in their brain. not only new drivers but old drivers also might be same; there will be good and bad drivers. 
For me, I still inexperience in judgement. Sometimes I think can turn out, then got honked, sometimes I think cannot turn out also got honked.  

1 hour ago, 13177 said:

Thats fast, 6 months can get driving licence liao, even during this covid pandemic.

Depends on how hardworking to book slots and go for lessons. For ubi, slots open every 20th of the month for 2 months later; is 20 aug to book for whole month of oct. then slot in as much as possible, can cancel 48 hours before without penalty. Then everyday just go and see if anyone else cancel any booking for that week or week after. 
ya, 5 months to get license is not fast, there are some even faster…. I learn at sch so min 25 lessons is what instructors will tell u. Private can be less than 10 lessons to go for TP test. 

1 hour ago, 13177 said:

Why she learn manual? Guess manual cars in driving centre should be limited, thats why slot is limited also?

Nowadays dont think many people would learn manual cause no chance to drive manual car also, since almost all vehicles in sg are auto. Even most commercial vehicles also auto.

My instructor asked me during my 3rd/4th lesson whether I want to learn manual. I told him no cos I can’t find a manual car to drive. So didn’t want to learn manual 

1 minute ago, may_dream said:

Private can be less than 10 lessons to go for TP test. 

OMG 10 lesson? with out circuit blah? now still got stimulators right?

2 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said:

With circuit…. 5 lessons on the roads, 3 lessons in circuit then can book TP. 
simulation not considered part of the lessons… simulation is outside of all these lessons. 
I asked some of the candidates on test day (to feel less nervous) so chit chat. One of army boy told me he took private and only 8 lessons loh. 

6 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said:

Simulation just 20 mins, to give u a feel of situations when during lessons or TP might not occurs like planks on the roads, dashing runners when it’s green lights for cars, or car tailing you. 

1 hour ago, Wildfaye29 said:

i also want my kids to learn manual when their time comes.

even intend to buy a manual for them to drive around.

manual allows the full interaction of 4 limbs and allow them to feel the connection between man and machine.

Even now also difficult to buy manual. By the time when you want to buy car for your kids, i think manual car extinct like dinosaurs liao. 😂  

55 minutes ago, may_dream said:

@Tohto yes, quite complex. Got to do so many things before can book for TP test. 
just like all kind of tests, some study just to pass and some study with knowledge in their brain. not only new drivers but old drivers also might be same; there will be good and bad drivers. 
For me, I still inexperience in judgement. Sometimes I think can turn out, then got honked, sometimes I think cannot turn out also got honked.  

Some drivers like and love to honk at other drivers la, no matter under what situation. Just dont get stress up and bother by them and let them honk lo. Lol.

19 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Some drivers like and love to honk at other drivers la, no matter under what situation. Just dont get stress up and bother by them and let them honk lo. Lol.

Stressed lah… worried I did something against the law or make it difficult for other road users. 
like merging lane, I queue alternate to merge and signal but also kena honked yesterday. 

58 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Even now also difficult to buy manual. By the time when you want to buy car for your kids, i think manual car extinct like dinosaurs liao. 😂  

4 yr to go. Still any coe junk car can liao

In fact I already knew how to drive in Sec sch, then.

Edited by Wildfaye29
Add info

8 hours ago, may_dream said:

Stressed lah… worried I did something against the law or make it difficult for other road users. 
like merging lane, I queue alternate to merge and signal but also kena honked yesterday. 

Merging lane still must see the car beside and behind you, if they jump queue and overtake you at the merging lane. No such thing as queue alternate to merge la. Have to be careful and give way even though you think you have the right of way. Nowadays many drivers anyhow de.

14 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Merging lane still must see the car beside and behind you, if they jump queue and overtake you at the merging lane. No such thing as queue alternate to merge la. Have to be careful and give way even though you think you have the right of way. Nowadays many drivers anyhow de.

I know… the car beside me is near my back seat window so I am already further front. But he still honked at me. Maybe next time I see bmw or audi, better give way even if they are further behind. 

i am asking my girl to learn driving when she turns 18 at the end of the year. 

What is the fastest and cheapest way to get a license now huh?

And what's the current average $$ required to complete the whole journey - from basic theory to getting the license?

SOOOO long ago, can't recall how many points, but didn't make many mistakes.. Strategically chose a time where there's was a gap between lessons in the driving school so there were no cars..

11 hours ago, Atrecord said:

i am asking my girl to learn driving when she turns 18 at the end of the year. 

What is the fastest and cheapest way to get a license now huh?

And what's the current average $$ required to complete the whole journey - from basic theory to getting the license?

Fastest is to get private instructor, less than 10 lessons can take TP but of course depends on the instructor lah. 
if go to school, based on my experience in cdc and another friend that just passed last week in bbdc, then cdc are much faster process. Estimated 3k from registering as student to basic theory to getting the license. That if u pass at 1 try. Each time retake will need like 500 including 1-2 lessons plus retake fees.