How many times you took to pass Driving Test (TP)?

RickyWee

How many times you took to pass Driving Test (TP)?  

168 members have voted

1. 1. How many times you took to pass Driving Test (TP)?

• 5 and above

Haven't really touched a manual car since I passed my license long time ago.
Manual still feels more thrilling though.

Passed on my first try with 4 points. Think it was related to stopping at a stop line for too long, and failure to keep up with traffic/speed limit or something. 2 points each for basically driving too slow.

Still was, and still is the best day of my life.

very impressive that 83% of MCF can pass within 1/2 try!

cos vaguely remember there was a survey done before, normally for guys is 3/4 time 

Did it once, did it good ~ 4 points. I took leave during NSF and had a bet with my bunk mates that I will get no more than 8 points. I remember I was so confident that I overtook a pick-up truck during the public road test, and made some money from doubting Thomases in the evening. [thumbsup]

I will get cauliflower should I lied about above.

Edited by Weez911

On 4/15/2020 at 10:10 AM, RickyWee said:

Hi bros, I was just curious how many times you took to pass Driving Test (TP)? 

Can share your experience and how many points you passed with. Also can give tips to people who are planning to or going to take it soon.

Expand  

I think the TS is asking for tips on how to pass the first time and not so much to hear our interesting stories.

TIPS (pls add if you have more)

1. Try to use the same car that you are familiar with
  2. Be familiar with all the test routes
  3. Know where all the "high risk" spots are and be careful when near them
  4. Arrive early for the test
  5. Try to be relaxed and not nervous but not too relaxed
  6. Wear proper and familiar footwear
  7. Avoid busy hours
  8. Be courteous to the tester
  9. Know the point system
  10. Know the test routine

  On 4/17/2020 at 6:08 AM, andrewyewkc said:

I think the TS is asking for tips on how to pass the first time and not so much to hear our interesting stories.

7. Avoid busy hours
  9. Know the point system
  11. Book a practice lesson before test date (if possible)
  12. Do not panic if you made a mistake
  13. Check your mirrors and blind spots frequently
Expand  

I am also open to hear your interesting stories and mistakes cause some of them are really funny so feel free to share hahahaha:grin:

Edited by RickyWee

On 4/17/2020 at 6:27 AM, andrewyewkc said:

😁All the best to your test!

Expand  

I have alr passed and shared my story

On 4/15/2020 at 10:16 AM, RickyWee said:

I passed with 16 points but on the second attempt hahahahah. I failed my first test because my car rolled back on the slope. I panic when my car rolled back and quickly step on the accelerator. It was a mistake cause my car 'died' so i press accelerator no use. I was damn sad that i didnt pass on first try and because my $$$ fly away.

Funny enough, on my second test, i made the same mistake but this time i smart liao. I press break instead of accelerator and restart my car. hahahahaha heng i learn from my lesson.

My best tip for people who are taking your TP is check your blind spot. Turn your head a lot if not the officer kb say you never turn to check. 

Expand  

  On 4/15/2020 at 12:16 PM, Acewin said:

Yes me too first attempt around 30 years back as well and also driving a Datsun 120Y. That time I remember car just start to have aircon. If you learn with no aircon car is $12 per hour and car with aircon is $14 per hour.

Who time flies

Expand  

Yep, first time pass using Nissan pulsar in 1990. 4pts

On 4/15/2020 at 1:13 PM, Count-Bracula said:

Pass on my first try. 

At the start,  I reminded my tester to put on his seat belt.  He got in the car,  sat down beside me, closed the car door and asked me to proceed.  

"Sir,  please buckle up first " I said. 

"Ok Ok,  lets go" he replied. 

Along the test route, I gave way to a bus coming out the bus bay and honked at a jay walker, he nodded his head both times. 

Halfway through test he asked me drive back to driving centre.

After watching the safety video,  I bought my 2 P-plate signs.  How lian ko buay tahan.

Expand  

Got safety video? 

Haha, not during my time. 

But my time was before P plate also. 😂

7. Avoid busy hours
  9. Know the point system
  11. Be prepared to jam brake as you leave the test centre. 
Expand  

not sure if the sample size of 2300 is big enough considering there is least 1mio drivers in Singapore, but the % is very close between MCF & EDWM

then again, maybe the same users taking part 😂

2300.JPG

Edited by TeamAMG69

First time also. Very sincere and curious during the test and sort of overdoing everything. Examinor told after seeing me, he became nervous lol. At the end he told I was slightly overspeed at couple of points. But pass.

Passed first time with 6 or 8 points I think, and I remember I was penalised for "slow in moving off", but was just because I stopped at the stop sign as taught, while the tester was going "aiyo, no car stop for what?? Go go go!!!" 

At that point I thought it was a trap 🤣

Oh, and during parallel parking, the fella in the opposite bay smacked the pole so hard it flew into my bay and scratched the boot lid.

  On 4/15/2020 at 10:23 AM, Beregond said:

My 3 time i just enlist bmt. Cut botah. Pc very nice let me bk out to take test.

Expand  

Your PC nice guy... When I asked to book out for my 2B, I kenah f really good before and after.... I failed and i gave up after that. Two years is a long time to kenah f every now and then. 

Edited by Ysc3

7. Avoid busy hours
  9. Know the point system
Expand  

Dun think the 1990s test experience might be valid in today's context.