How many times you took to pass Driving Test (TP)?

RickyWee

How many times you took to pass Driving Test (TP)?  

168 members have voted

1. 1. How many times you took to pass Driving Test (TP)?

• 5 and above

35 minutes ago, Adrianli said:

Errr.....I took my Advance theory test 10 times to pass hor. Only passed on the tenth time. But have been driving for quite a while liao.😄

Aiya, not talking about passing theory test la. Was saying people who took many many many times to pass their TP test, could have lost their interest of driving liao even got their licence?! Lol.

5 minutes ago, may_dream said:

If there is a car waiting then will not lose interest to drive. Hahah 

Not true lo, some people family has car, or spouse has car, but they also dont have strong interest in driving. 😅

15 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Aiya, not talking about passing theory test la. Was saying people who took many many many times to pass their TP test, could have lost their interest of driving liao even got their licence?! Lol.

The theory test waiting time also pretty long. Two years plus for me to pass it. Last time need to wait for mail to arrive to know pass or fail. If fail, need to go to TP counter at the driving centre to book next available date, usually 1 to 3 months away.

35 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Not true lo, some people family has car, or spouse has car, but they also dont have strong interest in driving. 😅

Hmmm… then I don’t know why they learn driving leh. Learn liao then don’t drive…. That’s why I learn at older age so that I know for sure I want to drive and not take license to keep in drawer. 

27 minutes ago, Adrianli said:

The theory test waiting time also pretty long. Two years plus for me to pass it. Last time need to wait for mail to arrive to know pass or fail. If fail, need to go to TP counter at the driving centre to book next available date, usually 1 to 3 months away.

Nowadays no need to wait so long for results, but to queue for theory test also quite long. I waited 3 months to queue too 

On 8/15/2021 at 1:12 PM, may_dream said:

Stressed lah… worried I did something against the law or make it difficult for other road users. 
like merging lane, I queue alternate to merge and signal but also kena honked yesterday. 

Oh.... Merging lanes.... some drivers.... Die die won't go alternate.... And if you sped up to go alternate confirm get honk.....

Then if you didn't speed up.... 

The one behind you got chance to be closed up by the one beside him....meant he probably want to honk you to speed up....

Stressed right? 

Wait you you meet those headlight flickers.... When you filter into their lanes 50 metres ahead they felt intruded because they needed 1km clear view ahead..... 

Then flicked their headlights at least 6 times....like fighter aircraft firing off 6 missiles to destroy you....... 

Then continue to hog the lane lane 2 or 3.....

Occasionally also in lane one. 

41 minutes ago, Adrianli said:

Forgot how long is the theory test waiting time back then? Lol. But i remember if failed, then would go to all test centre to find the next shortest test date and registered for it. 

19 minutes ago, may_dream said:

Hmmm… then I don’t know why they learn driving leh. Learn liao then don’t drive…. That’s why I learn at older age so that I know for sure I want to drive and not take license to keep in drawer. 

I also dont know why they learn driving but dont drive? Lol. If for me after spending so much to get the licence or even take many times to pass, i surely would drive, dont want to waste my time, effort and money.

1 hour ago, Atonchia said:

Oh.... Merging lanes.... some drivers.... Die die won't go alternate.... And if you sped up to go alternate confirm get honk.....

Then if you didn't speed up.... 

The one behind you got chance to be closed up by the one beside him....meant he probably want to honk you to speed up....

Stressed right? 

Wait you you meet those headlight flickers.... When you filter into their lanes 50 metres ahead they felt intruded because they needed 1km clear view ahead..... 

Then flicked their headlights at least 6 times....like fighter aircraft firing off 6 missiles to destroy you....... 

Then continue to hog the lane lane 2 or 3.....

Occasionally also in lane one. 

I just hope they see my triangle and don’t get too upset. Or they can just curse and swear in their own cars abt new drivers. I just do the best I can…. And hopefully with experience then can drive safer and better. 

1 hour ago, 13177 said:

I also dont know why they learn driving but dont drive? Lol. If for me after spending so much to get the licence or even take many times to pass, i surely would drive, dont want to waste my time, effort and money.

Driving quite relaxing…. When too stressed at work, I just drive a bit to relax. 

10 hours ago, may_dream said:

most of my friends also take more than once... not many can pass at 1st try.

On the contrary, most ppl i know passed on 1st time.. Majority of us went to driving schools.

I wonder what is the rate of passing School vs Private..

20 hours ago, may_dream said:

Driving quite relaxing…. When too stressed at work, I just drive a bit to relax. 

But nowadays driving can be stressful also. Lol.

Passed on first try, 6 points, 18 years ago, private instructor with 18 lessons only. If you are more or less confident, I think the key is to be as polite as possible to the tester. Also, always keep to speed limit, I drove quite slow and he said I road hog a little, but I told him that I treat safety as paramount. 

Also, when you check blind spot and mirror, pls make sure you turn your head. It's like acting lah.... your eye ball move no use, he must know you are checking.

Edited by Kazuya

On 8/19/2021 at 12:10 AM, may_dream said:

Due to covid, lesser cars on the roads. So I think it’s ok. 

Not say lesser cars a lot during covid. The only thing lesser cars was in CB. Other times still can see many cars on the roads.

Passed on the first try!! Though I felt that I made more mistakes than what was recorded by the tester? I remember needing to do a corrective reverse when doing a U-turn and a bus had to slow down for me (LOL) but it wasnt mentioned on the result paper. Perhaps I was lucky to have a lenient tester🤔. At ssdc btw. 

24 minutes ago, welik72 said:

Passed on the first try!! Though I felt that I made more mistakes than what was recorded by the tester? I remember needing to do a corrective reverse when doing a U-turn and a bus had to slow down for me (LOL) but it wasnt mentioned on the result paper. Perhaps I was lucky to have a lenient tester🤔. At ssdc btw. 

A bus slow down for you? Your tester is really lenient. Usually for such situation, either tester would deduct a huge points or can be immediate failure since other vehicles need to slow down for you or brake means you might be driving dangerously liao?