BabyBlade Internal Moderator May 31, 2021 Share May 31, 2021 32 minutes ago, Thunderblade said: @BabyBlade He's fine but these are questions that I think of when I'm off lessons because my lessons are weekly Ah. Wish I could be of more help 😆 Maybe you can do a mental note. Ask him during your next lesson. Are you able to book your tp already? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 31, 2021 Share May 31, 2021 (edited) Took mine at BBDC. 1st practical lesson 3dec, last lesson by end dec, almost 4weeks . Waited 2weeks for test date. Passed 1st time. 12jan with 12points. just finished A levels then and waiting for NS, so super free. Doubt that lessons can be booked back to back now. I once had 3 x 100min lessons in one day. Dead tired after that. Kept to max 2 in the end. Edited May 31, 2021 by Mkl22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cybertech 4th Gear May 31, 2021 Share May 31, 2021 Me passed on the 2nd time. 1st time tester very nice, talk a lot during the test and thinking should be my day liao ended up give me a Fail. 2nd time the tester sibei unfriendly throughout the test keep trying to find fault. Back to driving centre and seated down still continue telling me why never honk when need to why failed to change lane when told me to ....blah blah... until I almost wanted to f..k him back (luckily never). In the end give me a Pass 😅 Still remember clearly that day was 24th Dec xmas eve 🎄 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ayel90 Neutral Newbie June 1, 2021 Share June 1, 2021 Can I get some advice here? I started my driving lessons since Jun 20 and attended over 80 practical lessons (including circuit) before my first TP recently. I failed first attempt with 34 demerit points, no immediate failure. How many practical lessons do you take before test? And do you still go for practical and circuit lessons before next attempt? How much do you spend to obtain the licence? I already spent over 6k and really have no idea if I should continue or just stop before further damage :( 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator June 1, 2021 Share June 1, 2021 12 minutes ago, ayel90 said: Can I get some advice here? I started my driving lessons since Jun 20 and attended over 80 practical lessons (including circuit) before my first TP recently. I failed first attempt with 34 demerit points, no immediate failure. How many practical lessons do you take before test? And do you still go for practical and circuit lessons before next attempt? How much do you spend to obtain the licence? I already spent over 6k and really have no idea if I should continue or just stop before further damage 😞 Are you a private or school learner? If you are a private learner I suggest changing to school. After spending 6k I think that's no way you should give up. Some people are perhaps not meant for driving but come on, 6k spent, at least get the license! The ratio of lessons vs tp attempt is also way off. Maybe you can let us know what were you penalised in. Don't give up! 🤪 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic June 1, 2021 Share June 1, 2021 14 minutes ago, ayel90 said: Can I get some advice here? I started my driving lessons since Jun 20 and attended over 80 practical lessons (including circuit) before my first TP recently. I failed first attempt with 34 demerit points, no immediate failure. How many practical lessons do you take before test? And do you still go for practical and circuit lessons before next attempt? How much do you spend to obtain the licence? I already spent over 6k and really have no idea if I should continue or just stop before further damage 😞 u take from school? u only do 1 attempt and spend 6k already? i dun know the market. but u seriously need check around. is it normal to do 80 lesson before 1st test?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ayel90 Neutral Newbie June 1, 2021 Share June 1, 2021 (edited) Quote Are you a private or school learner? If you are a private learner I suggest changing to school. After spending 6k I think that's no way you should give up. Some people are perhaps not meant for driving but come on, 6k spent, at least get the license! The ratio of lessons vs tp attempt is also way off. Maybe you can let us know what were you penalised in. Don't give up! 🤪 @BabyBlade I'm private (manual). Yes, I was shocked that I did more than 80 lessons upon calculating, 6k is really too much.. I'm really lost and demoralised now. Fail to take precaution against pedestrian -8 Cause other behicles to slow down -8 Speed too slow -2 x 3 Wide turn -2 Incorrect checking of blind spot -2 Fail to use engine brake -2 Incorrect braking technique -2 Turn steering whilst stationary -2 x 2 Edited June 1, 2021 by ayel90 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ayel90 Neutral Newbie June 1, 2021 Share June 1, 2021 31 minutes ago, Beregond said: u take from school? u only do 1 attempt and spend 6k already? i dun know the market. but u seriously need check around. is it normal to do 80 lesson before 1st test?? Private (manual). 1 attempt after around 80 practical (including around 10 circuits). I believe not normal, guess I am really bad at practical? During lesson 30 to 40 or so, the instructor mentioned still unsafe to go for test. I have no confident as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator June 1, 2021 Share June 1, 2021 12 minutes ago, ayel90 said: Private (manual). 1 attempt after around 80 practical (including around 10 circuits). I believe not normal, guess I am really bad at practical? During lesson 30 to 40 or so, the instructor mentioned still unsafe to go for test. I have no confident as well. I took about 10+ lessons before my first Class 3 tp at CDC (school learner) and passed at my first attempt with 18 points lmao. If you feel that you are slower at learning, going the CDC school way might be more suitable for you. Syllabus based so you only progress if you meet the requirement for every syllabus. Not sure if you are really that bad or the instructor trying to milk your money. Have you booked for your next test? To be honest I think you should just book maybe two more lessons then go for another test already. No point spending more than you should. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic June 1, 2021 Share June 1, 2021 5 minutes ago, ayel90 said: Private (manual). 1 attempt after around 80 practical (including around 10 circuits). I believe not normal, guess I am really bad at practical? During lesson 30 to 40 or so, the instructor mentioned still unsafe to go for test. I have no confident as well. i cannot judge your level. but spending 6k before your first try is alot. normal case even now is 2-3k my advice is dun much more on practises, do a few familiarisation practises and go for test straight. the experience u gain during the actual test is much more valuable then keep doing practises with your trainer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator June 1, 2021 Share June 1, 2021 14 minutes ago, ayel90 said: @BabyBlade I'm private (manual). Yes, I was shocked that I did more than 80 lessons upon calculating, 6k is really too much.. I'm really lost and demoralised now. Fail to take precaution against pedestrian -8 Cause other behicles to slow down -8 Speed too slow -2 x 3 Wide turn -2 Incorrect checking of blind spot -2 Fail to use engine brake -2 Incorrect braking technique -2 Turn steering whilst stationary -2 x 2 Other than the first two, I think the rest of it can be corrected easily and nothing too 'serious' . Safety is paramount so anything that compromise on that and cause danger to pedestrians or fellow road users will be penalised harshly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic June 1, 2021 Share June 1, 2021 23 minutes ago, ayel90 said: Private (manual). 1 attempt after around 80 practical (including around 10 circuits). I believe not normal, guess I am really bad at practical? During lesson 30 to 40 or so, the instructor mentioned still unsafe to go for test. I have no confident as well. 1 lesson is 1hr? in schools 1 lesson is 100min. typically approx 22-25lessons(with 1-2 refreshers) in schools before you take the test. so about 42hrs. Sorry but it seems that your instructor is joke... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ayel90 Neutral Newbie June 1, 2021 Share June 1, 2021 (edited) 23 minutes ago, BabyBlade said: I took about 10+ lessons before my first Class 3 tp at CDC (school learner) and passed at my first attempt with 18 points lmao. If you feel that you are slower at learning, going the CDC school way might be more suitable for you. Syllabus based so you only progress if you meet the requirement for every syllabus. Not sure if you are really that bad or the instructor trying to milk your money. Have you booked for your next test? To be honest I think you should just book maybe two more lessons then go for another test already. No point spending more than you should. I don't think I will be switching to school as it will be another sum if I register and do all over again. Not yet for next test, planning for second attempt maybe 3 weeks later. I was hoping for one soon, but my instructor said need go for 2-3 more circuits plus road practice.. Is there really a need for a circuit right the day before test instead of 3 days before.. I was told 3 days gap is too big -.- Edited June 1, 2021 by ayel90 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator June 1, 2021 Share June 1, 2021 2 minutes ago, ayel90 said: I don't think I will be switching to school as it will be another sum if I register and do all over again. Not yet for next test, planning for second attempt maybe 3 weeks later. I was hoping for one soon, but my instructor said need go for 2-3 more circuits plus road practice.. Should book your tp first since there's a waiting time. How's your circuit and parking? All OK? If all is OK then just focus on your weakness which I believe is on the road driving? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator June 1, 2021 Share June 1, 2021 5 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: 1 lesson is 1hr? in schools 1 lesson is 100min. typically approx 22-25lessons(with 1-2 refreshers) in schools before you take the test. so about 42hrs. Sorry but it seems that your instructor is joke... IKR! The instructor is fishy la haha. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ayel90 Neutral Newbie June 1, 2021 Share June 1, 2021 7 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: 1 lesson is 1hr? in schools 1 lesson is 100min. typically approx 22-25lessons(with 1-2 refreshers) in schools before you take the test. so about 42hrs. Sorry but it seems that your instructor is joke... 1 minute ago, BabyBlade said: IKR! The instructor is fishy la haha. Hmm I'm not sure. I didn't thought about that because I have few friends who learnt from her as well and they all went for test after 20+ lessons, so I thought it was my problem.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged June 1, 2021 Share June 1, 2021 1 hour ago, ayel90 said: @BabyBlade I'm private (manual). Yes, I was shocked that I did more than 80 lessons upon calculating, 6k is really too much.. I'm really lost and demoralised now. Fail to take precaution against pedestrian -8 Cause other behicles to slow down -8 Speed too slow -2 x 3 Wide turn -2 Incorrect checking of blind spot -2 Fail to use engine brake -2 Incorrect braking technique -2 Turn steering whilst stationary -2 x 2 Fail to take precaution against pedestrian -8 Cause other behicles to slow down -8 The top 2 are probably big no-no. Reflect what happen and make sure you dont do the same next time. Speed too slow -2 x 3 During my time, i will just accelerate to 40~45 and keep it there. this might be a cause for one of the points above too. Wide turn -2 Not sure what is this Incorrect checking of blind spot -2 Just make sure your head swing big big. See or not is not an issue. 😂 Fail to use engine brake -2 Incorrect braking technique -2 Not sure what happened for the above 2 but is probably linked. Maybe slammed on the foot brakes too much. Turn steering whilst stationary -2 x 2 This is quite self explanatory. Anyway kudos for taking class 3 and not 3a. Do strive on till you get your license. Since you did not get any immediate failure you should be quite near to your goal. Just be take note of the points above and you should be good. Go book your next test and go through with your instructor on what causes the points. i went through 3 or 4 times also and the final test i passed with flying colours but the tester had to deduct some points here and there just to make it not so perfect. He even asked me why i took so many times. The key is road confidence. Good luck! 1 hour ago, ayel90 said: I don't think I will be switching to school as it will be another sum if I register and do all over again. Not yet for next test, planning for second attempt maybe 3 weeks later. I was hoping for one soon, but my instructor said need go for 2-3 more circuits plus road practice.. Is there really a need for a circuit right the day before test instead of 3 days before.. I was told 3 days gap is too big -.- from your results above, seems that your circuit is fine. Most immediate fails happens there. i would say road practice is better for you. But no harm in practicing more as driving a manual cars does require muscle memory to keep the drive smooth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ReggieBoy Neutral Newbie August 14, 2021 Share August 14, 2021 Could someone help me please? Took my TP today and narrowly failed. I want to retake but at B Batok Driving centre the next possible date is the end of september. The problem is that I leave Singapore to study in mid-september. Can I retake the test at a different centre or am I stuck at BBDC? I have asked my instructor but he's not getting back to me. If anyone can help me with my possible options I'd really appreciate it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...