Covid19: no vacations, dig up old travel photos..

Wind30

38 minutes ago, teomingern said:

Even the A7C is like too big already... after using the E-mount, really no reason to go bigger lor... ha ha... I refuse to pixel peep anymore... ha ha ha... I also give up printing my own photos finally... just don't have time... now giving all my time to the kids and wife... lug big camera on holiday, post process, print and curate photo and frame... that's the bachelor lifestyle... now my holiday photo simple simple... mobile phone camera or NEX-6 only... ha ha ha... my back also gave way some time ago... cannot carry the DSLR anymore... I think my NEX-6 even older than the RX-1...

Same here. I have back issues now… i used to train every 6 months on vacation so not too bad. Now 1.5 years never carry backpack, I am afraid cannot take it anymore. 
to me photos always capture the very best and freeze it forever, esp your family. My boy quarrel with her sister 90% of the time but in the photos they are always loving, like this. 
the main reason why I shoot only family photos, and almost nothing with scenery alone. 

covid170.jpg

Edited by Wind30

4 hours ago, Wind30 said:

Tallinn Estonia. Of all the Baltic states Tallinn feels the most busy and crowded, prob due to the easy access from Helsinki. This trip was fun. Started in Stockholm, overnight ferry to Riga, then across the Baltic states, then Helsinki from Tallinn. After that is 4 nights in st Petersburg and 4 nights at Moscow. 
The baltic states is cheap but really got nothing much to see in terms of architecture or even natural landscapes. No mountains…

I find places like Poland, Hungary, Croatia, slovakia, Slovenia much more stuff. 

covid159.jpg

Eastern Europe is a hidden gem....had my last summer vacation there for 2 weeks, Austria, Chech Repub, Slovania - lake Bled is beautiful, (i think winter is even better, covered with snow), Hungary and Romania before making our way to Venice and a few days in Rome..[laugh]

Nice picture and beautiful clobbered stones,(roads) i believe these are called, they are everywhere in Europe...[laugh]

16 minutes ago, Spidey10 said:

Eastern Europe is a hidden gem....had my last summer vacation there for 2 weeks, Austria, Chech Repub, Slovania - lake Bled is beautiful, (i think winter is even better, covered with snow), Hungary and Romania before making our way to Venice and a few days in Rome..[laugh]

Nice picture and beautiful clobbered stones,(roads) i believe these are called, they are everywhere in Europe...[laugh]

lake bled in December. Not much snow though as it’s still early. I liked the caves in Slovenia, they had a train inside the caves and the ride was very long… kind of scary as if the train spoil…. 

croatia_64.jpg

3 hours ago, Wind30 said:

Not choppy at all. I don’t remember any of my family falling sea sick except once, which is a cruise at Hamilton islands in Australia. That one was so choppy that you cannot stand or walk. Had to sit down, everyone. My daughter puked on the ship. Personally, I am pretty immune to sea sickness. 

I took a 4 night cruise on a Russian cruise ship before, Stockholm, Tallinn, st Petersburg , Helsinki, Stockholm. Princess Anastasia. We had like the biggest room on the ship and it was still very cheap. It is a one bedroom suite, with seperate living room. 

Wow! What's the damage like? Was it like the US type cruises with food galore and entertainment everywhere?

20 minutes ago, Spidey10 said:

Cobbled stones bro...

Yeah... want to spend winter in Europe too... but Japan first... ha ha... then maybe Norway or Eastern Europe since you make it sound so shiok!

3 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

lake bled in December. Not much snow though as it’s still early. I liked the caves in Slovenia, they had a train inside the caves and the ride was very long… kind of scary as if the train spoil…. 

croatia_64.jpg

Oooo... I like this kind of thing... unusual experience.. train in a cave sounds just like my thing... hai... so many places to visit so little money... ha ha...

1 hour ago, teomingern said:

Wow! What's the damage like? Was it like the US type cruises with food galore and entertainment everywhere?

Forgot the price but it is really cheap. The food is horrible, no entertainment but very interesting. It was the only way to visit Russia visa free as cruise day trippers. 

The waitress are all sullen looking which kind of fit my Russian impression…

1 hour ago, Spidey10 said:

Milan, Italy, 2019

WTSG5333[1].JPG

we were there on transit taking train, just for like a couple of hours. Sooo crowded.

paris_38.jpg

1 hour ago, Wind30 said:

croatia_64.jpg

Looks like sunset right....did you swim in the lake? We did get wet in the clear waters...[laugh]

Wooo...talking about caves.....we went Austria/Salsburg and they have beautiful ice caves...let me look for those....is a lifetime experience up in the mountains...[laugh]

TDEU3166[1].JPG

42 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

we were there on transit taking train, just for like a couple of hours. Sooo crowded.

paris_38.jpg

yes yes….crowded, that why i dunno how to take a picture....if lower, everyone will be blocking the view, and i went higher, see pple's head....haiiyyyooo

opening  of the Ice cave.....so fantastic inside and is pretty dark and steep to climb....the inside is -20 degrees and at the entrance you could feel the gush of wind as fast as 100km/h due to the differences in temp between the inside and outside...

QPFJ5989[1].JPG

2 hours ago, teomingern said:

Cobbled stones bro...

Yeah... want to spend winter in Europe too... but Japan first... ha ha... then maybe Norway or Eastern Europe since you make it sound so shiok!

hahaha...thanks for fixing the spelling...[laugh]

7 hours ago, Wind30 said:

Rx1 is really old camera. I think easier to get a Sony a7c with a 35mm f 1.8. 
my current gear is like 14-24mm, 24mm f1.4, 35mm f1.2, 85mm f1.4, 135mm f1.8. Thinking of selling them away since they are collecting dust for over 1.5 years..

Ricoh GR (28mm) is very compact and seems to have good reviews from those who own it. It may not look nice and it is very compact and AF is reliable. 

7 hours ago, Wind30 said:

Forgot the price but it is really cheap. The food is horrible, no entertainment but very interesting. It was the only way to visit Russia visa free as cruise day trippers. 

The waitress are all sullen looking which kind of fit my Russian impression…

Aiyoh... kind of fits the stereotype hor... Russians don't make good service providers...

6 hours ago, Spidey10 said:

opening  of the Ice cave.....so fantastic inside and is pretty dark and steep to climb....the inside is -20 degrees and at the entrance you could feel the gush of wind as fast as 100km/h due to the differences in temp between the inside and outside...

QPFJ5989[1].JPG

Wah that looks like some climb up and down... I presume that's the sheltered train track for the train you talk about? My word... looks really scary... hahaha... no way I can hike up there with my wife and two kids...