mersaylee Hypersonic June 2, 2020 Share June 2, 2020 Tried to replicate what my late mother used to cook only on lunar new year eve when I was little... taste was about there but the look was horribly off... those not so round ikea meat balls are much rounder than mine ↡ Advertisement 16 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 2, 2020 Share June 2, 2020 On 6/2/2020 at 12:06 AM, Tianmo said: day 4 of sourdough starter. quiet quiet day. Apart from some broken bubbles, basically no movement, so I am just going to leave it alone until tonight, no feeding today until nearer to midnight... Expand WTF, tio pian!!! there have been almost no movement the whole day, or so I thought. Beside some broken bubbles, there were some bubble humps, otherwise it was dead quiet. I just open it to check, and all the food has been consumed, the whole mix is again watery, and I wonder now how it happen.... So I decided not to discard any, instead I added extra food. There are now 200/200 in the container, and I added 250/250 into it, lets see what happens tomorrow. Tomorrow I shall discard all but mayb 100-150g, and feed them 150/150 or 200/200. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckll Supercharged June 2, 2020 Share June 2, 2020 On 6/2/2020 at 1:52 PM, Lala81 said: I will try it again and give my verdict. Its not really about the caramelised sauce which helps adherence though yes that covers up a lot. This is similar to angmoh style ribs u get in casual eateries where the ribs are mostly steamed in pressure cooker then covered by sauce. If u have eaten real bbq ribs or the 排骨 sold by roast meats stall, then u know the taste is different. It's the connection between the meat and the sauce. What helps in bridging? what does zi char stall do? 咖啡排骨,蜜汁排骨。They deep fry 过油 the pork ribs before enveloping in a sauce. But the pork ribs have that slightly crispy exterior which melds the sauce with the pork. The change in texture conferred by deep frying brings the dish together. Anyway nothing wrong with the recipe. Just sharing what's the limitations of a quickly prepared dish. Expand Ah .. I see what you mean. Yes, in a way, this is like bbq ribs’ way of slathering the glaze over it, but I find that it’s slightly better than that. Cos the ribs were cooked together with the watery sauce and simmered (albeit not slow braise) until it reduced to almost no liquid. Well, at least for me it almost almost went into the verge of chow tar cos I was busy cooking the vege and noodles .. ha ha .. Whwn I opened the lid, the glaze was almost gone. I had to quickly add a spoonful of water to “quench” it .. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic June 2, 2020 Share June 2, 2020 On 6/2/2020 at 3:35 PM, Tianmo said: WTF, tio pian!!! there have been almost no movement the whole day, or so I thought. Beside some broken bubbles, there were some bubble humps, otherwise it was dead quiet. I just open it to check, and all the food has been consumed, the whole mix is again watery, and I wonder now how it happen.... So I decided not to discard any, instead I added extra food. There are now 200/200 in the container, and I added 250/250 into it, lets see what happens tomorrow. Tomorrow I shall discard all but mayb 100-150g, and feed them 150/150 or 200/200. Expand Think they demonstrating and want better living conditions. 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator June 3, 2020 Share June 3, 2020 Coffee Cranberry Bread using real brew coffee (not essence or instant coffee). The whole house is filled with coffee aroma during the baking process. 17 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckll Supercharged June 3, 2020 Share June 3, 2020 On 6/3/2020 at 12:40 AM, Carbon82 said: Coffee Cranberry Bread using real brew coffee (not essence or instant coffee). The whole house is filled with coffee aroma during the baking process. Expand Anything with coffee sure can't go wrong one! 😋 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 3, 2020 Share June 3, 2020 Today I tabao breakfast after I dropped kids off at their respective schools. So happy to be eating hawker food. 16 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator June 3, 2020 Share June 3, 2020 On 6/3/2020 at 1:44 AM, Silver_blade said: Today I tabao breakfast after I dropped kids off at their respective schools. So happy to be eating hawker food. Expand You make this bowl of lor mee even more delicious! 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic June 3, 2020 Share June 3, 2020 On 6/3/2020 at 12:40 AM, Carbon82 said: Coffee Cranberry Bread using real brew coffee (not essence or instant coffee). The whole house is filled with coffee aroma during the baking process. Expand I used my Nespresso coffee. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 3, 2020 Share June 3, 2020 On 6/3/2020 at 1:51 AM, kobayashiGT said: You make this bowl of lor mee even more delicious! Expand This one really delicious. From Bt Merah View market. 😃 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic June 3, 2020 Share June 3, 2020 Breakfast - Chwee Kueh 😋 Yum yum. Eat eat eat until got like that? : 😂😂😂 luckily me not...yet😅 Stay safe all. Cheers 8 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic June 3, 2020 Share June 3, 2020 (edited) On 6/3/2020 at 1:44 AM, Silver_blade said: Today I tabao breakfast after I dropped kids off at their respective schools. So happy to be eating hawker food. Expand This does not look like tabao. How did you make the presentation so nice? Edited June 3, 2020 by Fitvip 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator June 3, 2020 Share June 3, 2020 On 6/3/2020 at 2:49 AM, Silver_blade said: This one really delicious. From Bt Merah View market. 😃 Expand I know this one! Damn nice lah! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 3, 2020 Share June 3, 2020 On 6/3/2020 at 3:15 AM, Fitvip said: This does not look like tabao. How did you make the presentation so nice? Expand uncle, mee kar lor poon kui bao hor!!!... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 3, 2020 Share June 3, 2020 Day 5 of starter. Another quiet day, so far no major movement since last fed at midnight. A few bubbles here and there, thats about it, but seem like still alive... 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator June 3, 2020 Share June 3, 2020 On 6/3/2020 at 4:10 AM, Tianmo said: uncle, mee kar lor poon kui bao hor!!!... Expand Skarli @Silver_blade bring his bowl there also. 🤣 Then initial D back food. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic June 3, 2020 Share June 3, 2020 On 6/3/2020 at 4:10 AM, Tianmo said: uncle, mee kar lor poon kui bao hor!!!... Expand Oicic, si bei kiang!🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 3, 2020 Share June 3, 2020 On 6/3/2020 at 4:16 AM, kobayashiGT said: Skarli @Silver_blade bring his bowl there also. 🤣 Then initial D back food. Expand How you know? 🤣🤣🤣 ↡ Advertisement 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...