COVID-19 : Are you retrenched? Or Salary Cut?

Pss2

This is the best chance to get rid of underperforming staff. No PIP or any other justification is needed. Just sack with impunity.

7 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

This is the best chance to get rid of underperforming staff. No PIP or any other justification is needed. Just sack with impunity.

I agree, some people really jiak liao bi :confident:

5 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

Still need to go through PIP leh, towkay

Dont be so like that lah

25 minutes ago, Ash2017 said:

I found 1 place that is very good not victory or zam zam but near by

cannot tell, otherwise become popular price goes up

Share share lei..

I’m a biryani lover..

2 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

Still need to go through PIP leh, towkay

Dont be so like that lah

IIRC, only 2 steps are required. 1, to inform the employee before a restructuring announcement, and 2, announcement to all the staff of the poor results of the company.

After that can tap his shoulder and ask him to pack.

42 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

IIRC, only 2 steps are required. 1, to inform the employee before a restructuring announcement, and 2, announcement to all the staff of the poor results of the company.

Small company maybe

big company not so easy.

also retrenchment is very different from dismissal

retrenchment, dont need any reason and employee not at fault whatsoever

dismissal need reason and must be employee at fault

4 hours ago, Throttle2 said:

Becos in most recent years, we have adopted a more “angmoh” style.  Spend first talk later.  Ask the 20something to 30something singles...

our fathers were not like that and our values are still quite traditional.  Down to Earth.  Dont wear a hat too big.  Be very careful with leverage.  

My father retired at 55, 20 yrs ago.  He was working class although white collar.  

Nowadays who can easily retire at 55? And still live a very decent life?  Not easy.

Especially some of the youngsters having the YOLO (you only live once) mindset. 

4 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

My gut feel is most don't even have 6 mths buffer. The gahmen probably knows that, hence the helicopter money. 

That helicopter money also meant for PRs leh, I guess those people must be the most happy :grin:, can claim here and their home country, not bad.

2 hours ago, Weez911 said:

Is it true that if you retrenched, you cannot rehire in a big way in the next 6 months?  

5 hours ago, Voodooman said:

Is it true that if you retrenched, you cannot rehire in a big way in the next 6 months?  

I think for retrenchment and termination, need to inform MOM. Yes, 6mth cannot recruit the SAME Job Scope wor, but can bypass easily one. Example, retrench sales but can waive to hire HR for example.  Or can explain that the NEW SALE position is very different jobscope one.  So, case by case.

Not sure about termination, MOM will send a survey to retrenched employee lor.  I received before.  Many companies bypass this by ASKING you to signed a prepared resigned letter.

So therefore, you resigned not retrenched.  Hence, these companies can go on to hire cheaper better faster pple.

Many of my friends kenna lor, my advice is, ask yourself :

a) Is your performance BELOW AVERAGE ? If yes, sign and take whatever given lor

b) If your performance is ABOVE AVERAGE, then don't sign, let them fire you and you probably get NOTHING. Or NEGOTIATE. Don't need to fear that employer pressure or even threaten you. Of course, must have tangible proof like photo of you standing beside CEO laaa, awards and metal laaa, certificate of performance, appreciation.  Many took this advice and got more lor ..... hor. ASK MOM, can performance but got fired.  Of course, Gross Misconduct is confirmed no chance one.  This one a big topic, let discuss in another time.

There is never wording on retrenchment lor.  Both are a form of termination from employment.  With exception to the reason stated.  I was terminated because due to company refocusing on new segment wor and my job scope no longer fit into this new charter wor.

Another letter stating the compensation lor.

New tactic from employer ...... BARU ....... one restaurant in SG SAID, WHOLE COMPANY go on 3 Months NO PAY LEAVE with IMMEDIATE EFFECT wor ....... I never fire you hor, you are simply on LEAVE hor.  If not happy, you OWNSELF think lor, the letter go on to SUGGEST resign wor.

For me, I kept all photos, award, metals, cert in that A4 photo copy cardbox lor.  Easy to carry to MOM lor.  So far, never need to lor. I nice you nice OK OK...

Aust really doing it tough now, basically all those hospitality, tourism, retail etc all dead now, over 1mil ppl are jobless.

16 hours ago, Pss2 said:

I have heard friends around me getting pay cuts or retrenched. Anyone of you had similar experience. What if company retrench us during this period? 

Over three pages nobody said anything, minus of the noise, so no pay cut retrenchment yet 

2 hours ago, Wind30 said:

Over three pages nobody said anything, minus of the noise, so no pay cut retrenchment yet 

Don’t you know that the goalpost has now been shifted to 2021?

Rephrase: how many would be retrenched or get pay cut in 2021?

If that fails, then 2022? Surely have.

In any case, some groups really got hit hard. They would not be posting their troubles online.

16 hours ago, Jamesc said:

I have to sell my car and also my boy's car.

He also very sad.

:grin:

image.thumb.png.5ef3faae926c226a2330785c76bc3db2.png

Don’t let your boys grandma know about it , she'll whack the living daylights out of you 🥴

2 hours ago, Wind30 said:

Wait for another month or so and see the contagion effect playing out in full scale ..... like banks, realty, FnB , hospitality n defaults in tandem ..... then abyss..... sorry me is always a pessimist type ..... only supermarkets/pharmacies will do well 

17 hours ago, Throttle2 said:

Oh you in travel industry....

yes very tough now.  

But your buffer big big right?

haizzz… wish I have a buffer like all of you here.

my mantra is buy first, think later.

now Im suffering... [bigcry]