Pss2 2nd Gear April 2, 2020 Share April 2, 2020 I have heard friends around me getting pay cuts or retrenched. Anyone of you had similar experience. What if company retrench us during this period? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 2, 2020 Share April 2, 2020 (edited) 1 minute ago, Pss2 said: I have heard friends around me getting pay cuts or retrenched. Anyone of you had similar experience. What if company retrench us during this period? Retrench , retrench lah. so what? company cannot make it already, of course cut jobs lah. people think jobs can really be saved if businesses die? Just join my Brotherhood .... Edited April 2, 2020 by Throttle2 5 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 2, 2020 Share April 2, 2020 If company really no business and need to retrench or close down due to covid also no choice. But if company got pay retrenchment benefit, hopefully can use that money to tahan a while before look for another job. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 2, 2020 Share April 2, 2020 Good luck good luck those who join my Brotherhood now please make sure you hv minimum 3yrs buffer. as chairman i set the example with 30yrs buffer have to start charging membership fees soon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic April 2, 2020 Share April 2, 2020 (edited) My gut feel is most don't even have 6 mths buffer. The gahmen probably knows that, hence the helicopter money. Edited April 2, 2020 by Volvobrick 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 2, 2020 Share April 2, 2020 9 minutes ago, Volvobrick said: My gut feel is most don't even have 6 mths buffer. The gahmen probably knows that, hence the helicopter money. Becos in most recent years, we have adopted a more “angmoh” style. Spend first talk later. Ask the 20something to 30something singles... our fathers were not like that and our values are still quite traditional. Down to Earth. Dont wear a hat too big. Be very careful with leverage. My father retired at 55, 20 yrs ago. He was working class although white collar. Nowadays who can easily retire at 55? And still live a very decent life? Not easy. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evo5sg 2nd Gear April 2, 2020 Share April 2, 2020 T2, you in your late 40s? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 2, 2020 Share April 2, 2020 Many people expenses very big nowadays, they earn how much and spend how much. Cannot save much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 2, 2020 Share April 2, 2020 3 minutes ago, Evo5sg said: T2, you in your late 40s? I am always 28 becos my gf is 23 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleAtas Turbocharged April 2, 2020 Share April 2, 2020 40% pay cut. Work & paid for 10 days only. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 2, 2020 Share April 2, 2020 6 minutes ago, UncleAtas said: 40% pay cut. Work & paid for 10 days only. You? So jialat? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleAtas Turbocharged April 2, 2020 Share April 2, 2020 Now im queuing at CC asking for handout. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleAtas Turbocharged April 2, 2020 Share April 2, 2020 1 minute ago, Throttle2 said: You? So jialat? Travel industry is bleeedinggggg…. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 2, 2020 Share April 2, 2020 Just now, UncleAtas said: Travel industry is bleeedinggggg…. Oh you in travel industry.... yes very tough now. But your buffer big big right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged April 2, 2020 Share April 2, 2020 Retrench quite normal leh, don't always over leverage yourself. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear April 2, 2020 Share April 2, 2020 Why is govt rushing to pass laws to ensure landlords pass rebate to tenants in full? High land price is one of the main killers and is probably the fastest killer to businesses during downturn. As much as govt had earned a lot from land sales during boom years, I am glad they are swift to cough it out during crisis. This crisis came too fast and too sudden, totally caught everyone unprepared. To go through a financial reversal is challenging, especially if you have been living a high life style all these years. Hopefully these ppl also have buffered some of their savings for rainy days. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 2, 2020 Share April 2, 2020 Asian companies are generally slower to retrench, look at the Americans, millions are jobless in weeks after Covid hits their shores in a big way. But we don't have a social safety net, so it will be doubly painful for us. Luckily we don't have bubbles. 🤪 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged April 2, 2020 Share April 2, 2020 29 minutes ago, UncleAtas said: Now im queuing at CC asking for handout. Got money, take some first, feed family.. I suspect will have firesale of property and cars by June 🤣.. Hope the car I want, price drop like siao. ↡ Advertisement 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...