2021 Hyundai Elantra / Avante (CN7)

Carbon82

58 minutes ago, Spring said:

Are u sure it's Komoco decision to change the name? I thought its was Hyundai principal's decision.

It was Komoco decision yes. Just like the YF Sonata was called i45 in SG when its known as Sonata everywhere else in the world. Even the owner's manual that came with the i45 had the name Sonata printed on it. 

But I guess Komoco is moving away from such nonsense already. We have the oddball Venue in SG. It is an international market name yes. But I was fully expecting Komoco to replace that name for it sounded silly. They didn't do that in the end. 

• Dislike 3

14 minutes ago, Cheefarn said:

It was Komoco decision yes. Just like the YF Sonata was called i45 in SG when its known as Sonata everywhere else in the world. Even the owner's manual that came with the i45 had the name Sonata printed on it. 

But I guess Komoco is moving away from such nonsense already. We have the oddball Venue in SG. It is an international market name yes. But I was fully expecting Komoco to replace that name for it sounded silly. They didn't do that in the end. 

Some of the Hyundai car model name indeed sound silly la. I remember there was a model called Excel.

2 hours ago, 13177 said:

Some of the Hyundai car model name indeed sound silly la. I remember there was a model called Excel.

There was the Hyundai, Pony, Excel, Stellar, Prima in the 80s and 90s.

On 7/20/2020 at 2:03 PM, james1055 said:

Agreed totally. For KIA,  sometimes call KIA Forte, later called K3, then now called Cerato.

Yup that was the worst, especially the 2013 YD version, pre-facelift was called Forte K3, 2016 facelift was initially launched as Cerato Forte K3 then later changed to Cerato K3. 😑

On 7/20/2020 at 2:33 PM, Cheefarn said:

You sure boh? Komoco decision?? YF Sonata only called i45 here in SG and nowhere else in the world?? Don't know don't anyhow bomb lah. 

Gave you a dislike for time and again spouting half-truths and nonsense to mis-inform and mislead forummers.

Edited by Toeknee_33

On 7/20/2020 at 5:22 PM, Vinceng said:

Where the Excel wasn't excellent nor was the Stellar stellar... ha ha... just decent...

On 7/20/2020 at 5:22 PM, Vinceng said:

Where the Excel wasn't excellent nor was the Stellar stellar... ha ha... just decent...

1 hour ago, teomingern said:

Humility is not a common commodity in the automobile industry. Witness the Skoda Superb and the Ferrari 812 Superfast. 😂

39 minutes ago, Toeknee_33 said:

Humility is not a common commodity in the automobile industry. Witness the Skoda Superb and the Ferrari 812 Superfast. 😂

Ha ha ha... nice ones!

On 7/20/2020 at 1:31 PM, Spring said:

Are u sure it's Komoco decision to change the name? I thought its was Hyundai principal's decision.

That was what my SE told me though. Avante has been the primary name for a while for Elantras sold in Korea by now anyway. 

9 hours ago, Ahtea said:

That was what my SE told me though. Avante has been the primary name for a while for Elantras sold in Korea by now anyway. 

Same same leh... my SE also told me that... Avante - Korea name... Elantra - international nameplate... it is not the only model that has been affected. The Accent was renamed Verna once and the Sonata renamed i45 once. It seems that the SUVs don't suffer this fate... only the sedans... hahaha...

On 7/20/2020 at 2:33 PM, Cheefarn said:

Mr. Yip, still around talking brainless fake infos without checking facts ah? Your beloved Malibu sold already or you already throw it in the sea liao?

YF sonata was called i45 in sg ah? Then tell all of us here which origin does this car review came from?

http://australiancar.reviews/reviews.php#!content=review&make=Hyundai&model=i45&gen=452

Great! You just earned your well deserved dislike!

On 7/20/2020 at 2:48 PM, 13177 said:

Excel is my first new car and I drove for almost 9.5 years before changing. The Excel I drove is manual steering.

On 7/28/2020 at 5:46 PM, BobbyTan_74287 said:

Excel is my first new car and I drove for almost 9.5 years before changing. The Excel I drove is manual steering.

I think you meant non-power assisted steering?

32 minutes ago, teomingern said:

I think you meant non-power assisted steering?

In the olden day I think they all called manual steering and mine is also manual gear. Even once my tire nearly bold, my car also would not skid during raining as the steering wheel too heavy to skid. 

2 hours ago, BobbyTan_74287 said:

In the olden day I think they all called manual steering and mine is also manual gear. Even once my tire nearly bold, my car also would not skid during raining as the steering wheel too heavy to skid. 

I really cannot see the relationship between heavy steering and skidding....

If that was the case, then lets all keep to heavy non-power assisted steering and the roads will be safe again.

16 hours ago, Toeknee_33 said:

I really cannot see the relationship between heavy steering and skidding....

If that was the case, then lets all keep to heavy non-power assisted steering and the roads will be safe again.

Unless you experienced it. About 23 year ago, I drove through Lornie Road during raining day and I am speeding up the slope and when I drove down the slope, I saw a pool of water in the centre of the road. I drove through the pool of water and I applied my brake to slow down and my car did not skid but just slowly moved forward. That time my tire was nearly bold. I dd not change my tire as I am going to change my car. I held very tight to my steering wheel.

1 hour ago, BobbyTan_74287 said:

Unless you experienced it. About 23 year ago, I drove through Lornie Road during raining day and I am speeding up the slope and when I drove down the slope, I saw a pool of water in the centre of the road. I drove through the pool of water and I applied my brake to slow down and my car did not skid but just slowly moved forward. That time my tire was nearly bold. I dd not change my tire as I am going to change my car. I held very tight to my steering wheel.

I don't understand what on earth you are trying to describe.

Anyway, let's get back to topic.