Lala81 Hypersonic March 4, 2020 Share March 4, 2020 https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/secondary-1-students-own-device-digital-learning-12498494 Haha the vendor/apple huat ah. Ipad obviously easiest for tablet since other tablets sure have some android or what not issue. Base laptop could be too expensive given u want something lightweight and portable for children. Or maybe a chromebook. ↡ Advertisement 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ka_kia 1st Gear March 4, 2020 Share March 4, 2020 Good lor, then just carry a notebook to sch without the heavy text book etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic March 4, 2020 Share March 4, 2020 On 3/4/2020 at 5:21 AM, Ka_kia said: Good lor, then just carry a notebook to sch without the heavy text book etc. Expand Dun tink so. Some sg schools are under the Microsoft Future Schools programme and each student carries a Microsoft Surface Pro. They still hv to lug heavy books to skool. Maybe use it to prop up the tablet......lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 4, 2020 Share March 4, 2020 I think it's more for visual learning. It's more effective to learn thru visual aid/tools like a tablet rather than the teacher talk talk talk for 2 hours like what we had last time. We must move on with the times. 2024 consider slow already. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 4, 2020 Share March 4, 2020 On 3/4/2020 at 5:24 AM, Soya said: Dun tink so. Some sg schools are under the Microsoft Future Schools programme and each student carries a Microsoft Surface Pro. They still hv to lug heavy books to skool. Maybe use it to prop up the tablet......lol Expand So add more things to carry to school? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic March 4, 2020 Share March 4, 2020 On 3/4/2020 at 5:43 AM, 13177 said: So add more things to carry to school? Expand Ironically yes 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 4, 2020 Share March 4, 2020 Can install game or any other educational apps? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic March 4, 2020 Share March 4, 2020 (edited) Secondary school students carry extra weight is ok. Most of them have parents drive them to school only carry for a short distances. Heavy books are usually in the school locker. Edited March 4, 2020 by Ender Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic March 4, 2020 Share March 4, 2020 Last year, my son in Sec 1 was issued a school Chromebook. Thought he will be super happy, but no....!!!! The functions are heavily restricted... you can't even write comments in Youtube. LOL... He was so happy to return the brick when time comes. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged March 4, 2020 Share March 4, 2020 We need to pay the balance leh. MOE only top up $200 in edusave. But better than nothing. My son is very careless, I hope he dun misplace it. My girl in JC uses a laptop in school. Sometimes she needs to bring to school. Quite heavy for her. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged March 4, 2020 Share March 4, 2020 To the kids, free wifi in school. 🤣🤣🤣 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twister 5th Gear March 4, 2020 Share March 4, 2020 On 3/4/2020 at 6:57 AM, Mustank said: Can install game or any other educational apps? Expand @Jamesc asked can watch educational video or not? 🤭 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic March 4, 2020 Share March 4, 2020 Add to my earlier comment: Never seen a kid so unhappy when given an electronic device. LOL. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 4, 2020 Share March 4, 2020 On 3/4/2020 at 7:03 AM, Ender said: Secondary school students carry extra weight is ok. Most of them have parents drive them to school only carry for a short distances. Heavy books are usually in the school locker. Expand Now students so good life, most have parents drive them to school de?! My era i need to take public bus to school even during pri school le, cause no car at home. Even school bus also no money to pay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged March 4, 2020 Share March 4, 2020 On 3/4/2020 at 6:57 AM, Mustank said: Can install game or any other educational apps? Expand Educational games can la but what sort of 'educational apps' you talking about? Adult kind? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator March 4, 2020 Share March 4, 2020 On 3/4/2020 at 5:11 AM, Lala81 said: https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/secondary-1-students-own-device-digital-learning-12498494 Haha the vendor/apple huat ah. Ipad obviously easiest for tablet since other tablets sure have some android or what not issue. Base laptop could be too expensive given u want something lightweight and portable for children. Or maybe a chromebook. Expand I think they are giving this only. Can save on paper. use phone take photo and send to teacher homework. 🙂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 4, 2020 Author Share March 4, 2020 this one i bought for my kids niah. spoil liao haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear March 4, 2020 Share March 4, 2020 On 3/4/2020 at 5:33 AM, Watwheels said: I think it's more for visual learning. It's more effective to learn thru visual aid/tools like a tablet rather than the teacher talk talk talk for 2 hours like what we had last time. We must move on with the times. 2024 consider slow already. Expand It's more for e learning and also preparation for home learning in case of another virus epidemic. I personally like to see someone standing and talk. I can't learn much from e learning format. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...