Vinceng Turbocharged February 27, 2020 Share February 27, 2020 In fact, the best time to buy is at times like this when less people are buying. If you join in the crowd when everyone is buying, be prepared to pay high prices, just like face masks. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged February 27, 2020 Share February 27, 2020 When Cat A COE was above $50K, what you paid for a Hyundai Accent back then , could get you a Toyota Altis now. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 27, 2020 Share February 27, 2020 (edited) On 2/27/2020 at 4:18 AM, yishunite said: No best time to buy is when dealer margin is low. For those frequent car changer when margin is high is the worst time coz when scrap or change u only get base on paper value. Right now dealer margin has been going down a bit but still damn high Expand dealer margin only comes down when a) they are selling a lot of a B&B car to gain market share b) COE very high, then margin is squeezed to move sales. Edited February 27, 2020 by Lala81 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 27, 2020 Share February 27, 2020 On 2/27/2020 at 4:53 AM, yishunite said: Agree but if u look carefully at b&b car often the margin is highest on their mid-level trim (their biggest seller) and lowest on their highest trim of the same model (their smallest seller for that model) Which tells u also alot abt the avg Sg car buyer... Expand The higher tier seldom reflected in OMV. Depends really. I bought S trim for my 2018 Elantra. excluding omv increase, i paid about 2700 more vs basic, for the additional features, felt it was worth the $. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheefarn 5th Gear February 27, 2020 Share February 27, 2020 On 2/27/2020 at 5:02 AM, yishunite said: Just check. According to sgcarmart, current avante basic and S premium is 27-28% while elite is 19%. So exactly prove my point Expand Not 100% true ley. I was considering the Tuscon 1.6T S Sunroof a while back.. The profit margin was a heady 27% too... so damn high for such a B n B car... 😞 And the current model is slated to be replaced by 3rd quarter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear February 27, 2020 Share February 27, 2020 On 2/26/2020 at 3:39 PM, Turboflat4 said: Most people go the other way, the nice job comes first then the nice car. 😂 Expand Bobian, over the years, I realized that it gets further and further away lor. Live in Bedok goto Woodlands, by Bus 1hour 30 mins. Take MRT even worse 1 hour 45 mins . Drive 30mins. Like that how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic February 27, 2020 Share February 27, 2020 On 2/27/2020 at 11:42 AM, Apple-Tree said: Bobian, over the years, I realized that it gets further and further away lor. Live in Bedok goto Woodlands, by Bus 1hour 30 mins. Take MRT even worse 1 hour 45 mins . Drive 30mins. Like that how? Expand I live half an hour from work too. I don't mind the drive so much as I love driving but I could do with 1) fewer speed traps 2)fewer idiots. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtbc 1st Gear February 27, 2020 Share February 27, 2020 On 2/27/2020 at 1:48 AM, Dilemma said: Dealers will quote Paper +few thousand. Can tell me which dealer can offer $12k above paper for a high coe car? Expand It depends. Just traded in my car for 12k above paper value. Honda Vezel 2015, COE was 61k then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged February 27, 2020 Share February 27, 2020 Two things. 1 light hearted 1 serious. 1) this year is not a good year to change cars. I plan to change so please dont compete with me. Once I post a picture of my new honda city then you can buy 2) there is no such thing as an iron rice bowl. I have a friend. Job stable. Rising star. Then he made one mistake. And he went unemployed immediately just like that. So look at your finances really carefully. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear February 27, 2020 Share February 27, 2020 On 2/26/2020 at 10:10 PM, Lotr said: 8k margin is intriguing plus it is a Cat B car Expand Of course, that is the calculation BEFORE I got the car. There is only 1 trick they can play lor. I have doubt LTA allowed. But as the storm pass and the seas is calm again, they allowed lor. Adjust OMV lor, the classic. For that month and almost every month, the car published OMV is 22~25K. Mine is only 20K lor. To be exact it is 19997. So ARF save money. So eventually, they made 10~11K ba. Still a very good price for a CATB car lor. What is the gross margin these days for a CAT A Saloon Car ......?? Of course, from the day I sign, COE was 47++K, my COE is 49996 lor. Then gross margin come back to 8++K ??? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtbc 1st Gear February 27, 2020 Share February 27, 2020 (edited) On 2/27/2020 at 3:22 AM, Vinceng said: In a nutshell, buying new now is more worth it than buying used. Compare the annual dep in sgcarmart. Expand Agreed. It voices down to depreciation. But some used car can work out to have lower dep. On 2/27/2020 at 3:42 AM, Vinceng said: In fact, the best time to buy is at times like this when less people are buying. If you join in the crowd when everyone is buying, be prepared to pay high prices, just like face masks. Expand Crisis is opportunity if you can afford to seize it. I think dealers are willing to sell at lower margin to cover operation costs during this uncertain periods. Edited February 27, 2020 by Jtbc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtbc 1st Gear February 27, 2020 Share February 27, 2020 (edited) On 2/27/2020 at 4:36 AM, Lala81 said: dealer margin only comes down when a) they are selling a lot of a B&B car to gain market share b) COE very high, then margin is squeezed to move sales. Expand I think the selling price adjust according to changes in COE most of the time. Hence the margin wouldnt change much for the dealer. Edited February 27, 2020 by Jtbc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear February 27, 2020 Share February 27, 2020 On 2/27/2020 at 11:47 AM, Turboflat4 said: I live half an hour from work too. I don't mind the drive so much as I love driving but I could do with 1) fewer speed traps 2)fewer idiots. Expand Use your FORCE Luke, Feel the Camera. And everyday is NSH. Anyway, that day BMW1 want to race with me at MCE, so everything seems well that we take a break at every trap. Anyway, I tot the MCE Speed Trap is spoil leh, never I see it flash wor since 2014 lor. Then don't know why that kuku forgot or what, flyback the last one at 100~110?? I speed limit liao, 82km/h. Tio Karcha lor. The Speed Trap in MCE is alive one leh, don't play play hor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic February 27, 2020 Share February 27, 2020 No money to change car so I change to goodyear tyres. 2 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged February 28, 2020 Share February 28, 2020 On 2/27/2020 at 12:34 PM, Ct3833 said: No money to change car so I change to goodyear tyres. Expand cant go wrong with a set of Goodyear Assy 5 tires.. anyone tried the clubsports ? ok OT over.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheefarn 5th Gear February 28, 2020 Share February 28, 2020 On 2/27/2020 at 11:42 AM, Apple-Tree said: Bobian, over the years, I realized that it gets further and further away lor. Live in Bedok goto Woodlands, by Bus 1hour 30 mins. Take MRT even worse 1 hour 45 mins . Drive 30mins. Like that how? Expand Taking Grab/GoJek daily is still cheaper than owning any new car seriously. Even if u add in the surge pricing, your trip per direction is about what $40? So each day u spend $80 to n fro work. I am sure you incur more expenses per day owning most B n B cars in sg,. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dilemma 5th Gear February 28, 2020 Share February 28, 2020 On 2/27/2020 at 11:49 AM, Jtbc said: It depends. Just traded in my car for 12k above paper value. Honda Vezel 2015, COE was 61k then. Expand Bought what car? some dealers got OT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheefarn 5th Gear February 28, 2020 Share February 28, 2020 On 2/27/2020 at 11:49 AM, Jtbc said: It depends. Just traded in my car for 12k above paper value. Honda Vezel 2015, COE was 61k then. Expand Thats becos your Vezel had ready buyers... it will be used for PHV duties For other brands/models that are unlikely to be used by these rental companies, it is scrap plus 2-3k only. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...