Wind30 Turbocharged February 20, 2020 Share February 20, 2020 https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/income-inequality-gini-household-singapore-lowest-2019-12453450 can u spot the “fake” news by our government? How much did our median income increase by? ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 20, 2020 Share February 20, 2020 One thing for sure, in 2015, my household income is higher than today in 2020. And i am the sole breadwinner. so there is negative growth for me and my household. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic February 20, 2020 Share February 20, 2020 “Over the last five years, from 2014 to 2019, median monthly household income from work of resident employed households increased by 13 per cent cumulatively, or 2.5 per cent per annum in real terms,” SingStat said. 😂 How come I dont feel any richer ...... 1 1 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged February 20, 2020 Share February 20, 2020 6 hours ago, Angcheek said: “Over the last five years, from 2014 to 2019, median monthly household income from work of resident employed households increased by 13 per cent cumulatively, or 2.5 per cent per annum in real terms,” SingStat said. 😂 How come I dont feel any richer ...... becos they show one side of story.. they din tell u how much increase in living cost in Sg during the same period. 1 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 21, 2020 Share February 21, 2020 Selective news. Only shows you what they want to show you. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged February 21, 2020 Share February 21, 2020 They don't know how to tell people in simple language har? 0.4% of $65K increase against 4% of $650 gap very big hor. Just tell us what is the average pay of a cleaner and what is the average pay of a private banker or senior lawyer, like that easy to understand right? 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged February 21, 2020 Share February 21, 2020 27 minutes ago, Victor68 said: They don't know how to tell people in simple language har? cannot lah.. simple language people will understand which result in low vote count for them mah! so they need to bring in POWERFUL indicator that "f know who will understand" can comprehend! whhahahahahahha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged February 21, 2020 Share February 21, 2020 (edited) 7 hours ago, Angcheek said: “Over the last five years, from 2014 to 2019, median monthly household income from work of resident employed households increased by 13 per cent cumulatively, or 2.5 per cent per annum in real terms,” SingStat said. 😂 How come I dont feel any richer ...... Bro.. you need to tie in with the CPI or Consumer Price index has always been 4%. So your salary is eroded and getting a "virtual" pay cut when everything elsewhere the cost of goods has increased. Consumer Price Index – CPI Definition - Investopedia https://www.investopedia.com/terms/c/consumerpriceindex.asp Yes, you may say, but I very smart, I hedge on the Ringette and go Malaysia to buy my foodstuff, so never really increase .. But on a recurring theme, everything else that is used has increased. This is quite useful information when asking for a performance review on the pay rise. DONT get conned that everyone else had pay freeze and you got a 2% pay rise and should be happy that you don't get a pay cut or lose your job. All those scare tactics is used to push the workers to be compliant and stay "normalise" so that there is no Mutiny ... Edited February 21, 2020 by Sdf4786k 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Somewhat1975 6th Gear February 21, 2020 Share February 21, 2020 23 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said: Bro.. you need to tie in with the CPI or Consumer Price index has always been 4%. So your salary is eroded and getting a "virtual" pay cut when everything elsewhere the cost of goods has increased. Consumer Price Index – CPI Definition - Investopedia https://www.investopedia.com/terms/c/consumerpriceindex.asp Yes, you may say, but I very smart, I hedge on the Ringette and go Malaysia to buy my foodstuff, so never really increase .. But on a recurring theme, everything else that is used has increased. This is quite useful information when asking for a performance review on the pay rise. DONT get conned that everyone else had pay freeze and you got a 2% pay rise and should be happy that you don't get a pay cut or lose your job. All those scare tactics is used to push the workers to be compliant and stay "normalise" so that there is no Mutiny ... The last time Singapore has a CPI above 4% is in year 2013, 7 years ago Quote Over the last five years, from 2014 to 2019, median monthly household income from work of resident employed households increased by 13 per cent cumulatively, or 2.5 per cent per annum in real terms "In real term" means taking out the effect of inflation already. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged February 21, 2020 Share February 21, 2020 (edited) Quote SINGAPORE: Household income inequality here last year was at its lowest in almost two decades as median household income grew to S$9,425, according to figures released on Thursday (Feb 20) by the Singapore Department of Statistics (SingStat). SingStat’s annual Key Household Income Trends report for 2019 showed the Gini coefficient, based on household income from work per household member, stood at 0.452 last year, compared to 0.458 in 2018. If i'm not wrong, the data presented was median household income. so husband + wife + whatever mah. So based on MOM data, assuming a household typically have just husband and wife, it should be about there. https://stats.mom.gov.sg/Pages/Income-Summary-Table.aspx only the Gini coefficient is averaged to numbers of household member. I peasant so my interpretation could be wrong too. Edited February 21, 2020 by Knoobie 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged February 21, 2020 Author Share February 21, 2020 12 hours ago, Wind30 said: https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/income-inequality-gini-household-singapore-lowest-2019-12453450 can u spot the “fake” news by our government? How much did our median income increase by? Editor's note: An earlier version of the story said that the Gini coefficient reported by the Singapore Department of Statistics was based on household income from work; that is incorrect. It is based on household income from work per household member. If not for the editor note right at the bottom, I would not notice that the use household income from work per household member. how is that for creative accounting? You just need the average household number to drop a little to get wage increase 🙂 less kids -> better wage growth.., why do they even present the data in such a way.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged February 21, 2020 Share February 21, 2020 14 minutes ago, Knoobie said: If i'm not wrong, the data presented was median household income. so husband + wife + whatever mah. So based on MOM data, assuming a household typically have just husband and wife, it should be about there. https://stats.mom.gov.sg/Pages/Income-Summary-Table.aspx only the Gini coefficient is averaged to numbers of household member. I peasant so my interpretation could be wrong too. so if either is out of a job, it becomes half... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged February 21, 2020 Share February 21, 2020 18 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said: so if either is out of a job, it becomes half... that's why i say.. one can always choose what and how to present from raw data. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic February 21, 2020 Share February 21, 2020 9 hours ago, Angcheek said: “Over the last five years, from 2014 to 2019, median monthly household income from work of resident employed households increased by 13 per cent cumulatively, or 2.5 per cent per annum in real terms,” SingStat said. 😂 How come I dont feel any richer ...... Tell U so many times put your money with BankCoe; 10% interest guaranteed 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic February 21, 2020 Share February 21, 2020 wah sian....work so many years still in the low income strata of the society 😱😭 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged February 21, 2020 Share February 21, 2020 1 hour ago, Knoobie said: that's why i say.. one can always choose what and how to present from raw data. Yaloh! I am an Analyst.. i always present data/chart to what my bosses wanna see.. truth hurts.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged February 21, 2020 Share February 21, 2020 25 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said: Yaloh! I am an Analyst.. i always present data/chart to what my bosses wanna see.. truth hurts.. You must be working for PAP right? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged February 21, 2020 Share February 21, 2020 11 hours ago, Throttle2 said: One thing for sure, in 2015, my household income is higher than today in 2020. And i am the sole breadwinner. so there is negative growth for me and my household. Not just you, me too. In fact, quite a number of people around me too. Like as if we can get younger lol. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...