Budget 2020: Encouraging Use of More Environmentally Friendly Vehicles

Carbon82

On 2/25/2020 at 8:27 AM, Lala81 said:

Relax... So much hype about tesla. But electric cars are... 3% of the cars sold in America. 

Tesla makes... Less than one third of the cars made by Subaru... 

Expand  

Tesla was for a while the most valuable automotive company, not sure about today share price though

On 2/25/2020 at 8:36 AM, Lala81 said:

There can be no meaningful implementation of electric vehicles when the most advanced tesla car can only go 370 miles. This is with one driver who's probably not even obese and maybe a woman. 

Tesla has the world's most advanced battery management system in vehicles today. 

Imagine a bus who weighs so much much more with passengers. Your realistic range is less than 200km per day. And not even talking about up or down slope. 

Passenger cars are the sweet spot. Bill Gates himself said, he doesn't see other transportation mechanisms using electrical for now. And this is a guy who probably knows more than 99% of other humans on the subject given that one of his goals for his foundation is to make a meaningful impact on climate change.. . 

Expand  

yes, real world mileage is still a bit issue to many in the world

i believe local sinkies can shut the fuk up , once a EV car can reach KL & back to SG with heavy jam. (with 1 single charge)

then SG to Bangkok (and back to SG) to really shut all the hardcore trolls up....

till that day comes 

Edited by TeamAMG69

On 2/25/2020 at 2:37 PM, TeamAMG69 said:

yes, real world mileage is still a bit issue to many in the world

i believe local sinkies can shut the fuk up , once a EV car can reach KL & back to SG with heavy jam. (with 1 single charge)

then SG to Bangkok (and back to SG) to really shut all the hardcore trolls up....

till that day comes 

Expand  

I think it's also the convenience.

Just talking about charging.

Esp the issues in a multi storey carpark in Sg.

If u own landed which probably most early adopters EV buyers are in Sg (unless u live in some condo that actually has the charging port), can your driveway can park two cars? If both have EV? Who charge first? 

And if your cable only long enough for the inner car to charge. Then swapping positions of the cars etc already is a pain in the ass. Your maid can't park the cars for you... 

U go to the pumps once a week or 1.5-2 weeks for most drivers. It's something u can do on your way home or on your way to work and takes a five to ten min detour for people. 

Something u have to charge every night or every few nights. Its not like this is hp charger and u can like have 4 chargers or different cables in every room. 

A normal American driveway in suburbs can just park 2-3 vehicles easy. Their own garages are usually for one or two cars. 

My explanation of mileage is more applicable to public transport. What happened with the American electric bus experiment was that the electric buses drain their battery so much faster due to going up or down hills or these stop and go or hauling passengers.

The companies operating have to create more down time for them and also buy more buses. And yes then in temperate country, winter performance is different from summer performance etc... 

Ultimately is it worth it? Maybe ten years later. But if I have a hydrogen bus. I can pump up in a couple minutes. And good to go then.

On 2/25/2020 at 2:57 PM, Lala81 said:

I think it's also the convenience.

Just talking about charging.

Esp the issues in a multi storey carpark in Sg.

If u own landed which probably most early adopters EV buyers are in Sg (unless u live in some condo that actually has the charging port), can your driveway can park two cars? If both have EV? Who charge first? 

And if your cable only long enough for the inner car to charge. Then swapping positions of the cars etc already is a pain in the ass. Your maid can't park the cars for you... 

U go to the pumps once a week or 1.5-2 weeks for most drivers. It's something u can do on your way home or on your way to work and takes a five to ten min detour for people. 

Something u have to charge every night or every few nights. Its not like this is hp charger and u can like have 4 chargers or different cables in every room. 

A normal American driveway in suburbs can just park 2-3 vehicles easy. Their own garages are usually for one or two cars. 

Expand  

yes, over 80% of Sinkies stay in HDB

so unless PAP scholars solve that issue

why nobody from LTA advice what are the steps they can improve?

On 2/25/2020 at 8:39 AM, Lala81 said:

Not saying things won't change. But the physical limits of batteries has already been maxed out. 

Graphene batteries can only charge faster. Not increase energy density. And cost of manufacturing advanced batteries is also another thing. 

Not so fast. Autonomous driving will arrive before electrical buses or trucks in a big way. 

Expand  

a limited, larger risk is, of course, the ability of the fire fighter to extinguised a batt car that caught fire...

The weight penalty vs how much power is consumed to charge the batt may negate saving mother earth altogether unless you go Nuclear power. So eventually, there is a need to support the build of nuclear power plant I supposed.

I just glance through the summary page in disbelief.. flat rate road tax keeps increasing every year..  and the amount of road tax...  ridiculous.. 

WHERE THE FARK is the subsidy?

On 2/28/2020 at 3:38 AM, Beanoyip said:

I just glance through the summary page in disbelief.. flat rate road tax keeps increasing every year..  and the amount of road tax...  ridiculous.. 

WHERE THE FARK is the subsidy?

Expand  

FYI under revised road tax formula, road tax for jaguar i-pace (400hp) and BMW X3 M40 (350hp) is about the same hor.

On 2/28/2020 at 3:56 AM, inlinesix said:

FYI under revised road tax formula, road tax for jaguar i-pace (400hp) and BMW X3 M40 (350hp) is about the same hor.

Expand  

Thanks for pointing that out, and back to my question, where the FARK is the subsidy for EVs?

They should start looking at how bloody Norway introduced their EVs.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plug-in_electric_vehicles_in_Norway

Electric vehicles are also exempt from the annual road tax, all public parking fees, and toll payments, as well as being able to use bus lanes

Expand  

https://www.forbes.com/sites/davidnikel/2019/06/18/electric-cars-why-little-norway-leads-the-world-in-ev-usage/#31b751b813e3

On 2/26/2020 at 1:28 AM, TeamAMG69 said:

yes, over 80% of Sinkies stay in HDB

so unless PAP scholars solve that issue

why nobody from LTA advice what are the steps they can improve?

Expand  

Someone say govt to pay for it, so we wait and see.