Budget 2020: Encouraging Use of More Environmentally Friendly Vehicles

Carbon82

On 2/25/2020 at 6:52 AM, Rickster said:

Yes, that's why AC charging is only feasible for landed property whereby owners can charge overnight. No need to get full charge in <1 hr.

But u have any idea what is the cost to install a DC charger?

Expand  

I think about 5k.

Definitely need DC charger if more than 1 car.

On 2/25/2020 at 7:00 AM, Lala81 said:

other parts of the world will still have ICE. And certainly Trump will stop any attempts at full EV outside of california haha

Expand  

We might be left with American and whatever made in Thailand car.

EU and China is embracing EV.

On 2/22/2020 at 9:47 AM, TeamAMG69 said:

yes, any scholar can help solve this problem?

also, what happens when those inconsiderate kids / sour grapes remove your electric plug ?

the next day / a few hours later, your car is still empty.

does anyone know if there are security camera (HDB / Condo / Shopping malls) at the EV charging lots stations ?

Expand  

Can those kids vandalize your car or puncture your tyres? Same risk. Does it stop you from parking at MSCP?

Edited by Voodooman

On 2/25/2020 at 7:38 AM, inlinesix said:

We might be left with American and whatever made in Thailand car.

EU and China is embracing EV.

Expand  

japan won't go full EV. And they still make cars for the rest of the world. 

South america, africa, Asia ex China won't go full EV for sure.

On 2/25/2020 at 7:42 AM, Lala81 said:

Expand  

Japan is watching the development now. They will follow the trend.

We might be left with Jap and American car maker doing ICE.

On 2/25/2020 at 7:42 AM, Lala81 said:

Expand  

As it stands now I don't see JDM market embracing EV en masse either, certainly not at the regular retail scene. Full EV will be a big problem in cold, snowy climates. The batt will loose charge much faster than norm and its a big challenge to keep finding charge points everywhere u go. 

And for earthquake prone areas like Japan, will EV and its ultra high current DC chargers be any safer than reg gasoline engines during earthquakes? I believe their authorities are prudent in the implementation. If they do a blanket ban on ICE vehicles like what MIW wants to do in 2040, it means their existing power stations will be under heavy stress many times over as compared to today. 

Being a prudent society at large, they should know that they cannot put all their energy source into what's basically a single power generating source, their conventional and nuclear power stations. All it takes is another big earthquake to knock out their power stations, and all their vehicles will come to a stand still as well. It is just not practical and strategically unwise.  

I see ICE being ard for at least another 50 -60 yrs, or at least after all dino juices runs out. Current ICE- hybrid (be it co powered or the usage of ICE as a range extender) remains the most practical and reliable way of powering any vehicles in any kind of weather and road conditions.

Full EV is also just not practical in many 3rd world countries. Even if their gov somehow manage to pay for the infra, how many of their citizens can afford all these high tech expensive golf carts? To cite Africa as an example, once u leave their cities area, where are u going to find a charger in the middle of the Sarageti? :D Maybe you can ask the wildlife there to help u find a charger LOL... 

On 2/25/2020 at 7:48 AM, inlinesix said:

Japan is watching the development now. They will follow the trend.

We might be left with Jap and American car maker doing ICE.

Expand  

Relax... So much hype about tesla. But electric cars are... 3% of the cars sold in America. 

Tesla makes... Less than one third of the cars made by Subaru... 

On 2/25/2020 at 7:02 AM, Lala81 said:

Electric buses are already a failed experiment in USA. The MIC buses CMI... many of them are mothballed after a while and actually become fire hazard.

Expand  

I dunno la. Even ANA Airlines deployed BYD full self driving buses at Narita airport. You can visit their FB page and u can see their report on this..  A big sad day for Hino and Nissan commercial vehicle dept. Already they have citizens questioning WTF was ANA doing that they would rather abandon their own brands and people and support the Chinese products. 

SMRT and SBS also bought some BYD full electric buses too right? I thought I saw one near YCK last month. 

On 2/25/2020 at 7:13 AM, yishunite said:

To be fair USA cant even put together a cross country train system and most of their public tpt is total shit

Expand  

Well who needs public transportation when everyone can and should drive. So I don't think this one is an issue la.. :D It should be a plus actually.

Who calls the shots in Europe? Germany. 

Who calls the shots in Germany? The voters out of which many of them work in automotive industry and are all involved in transmission and engine parts... 

UK talk a big game but they don't go bankrupt already arm chio Liao... 

On 2/25/2020 at 8:27 AM, Cheefarn said:

I dunno la. Even ANA Airlines deployed BYD full self driving buses at Narita airport. You can visit their FB page and u can see their report on this..  A big sad day for Hino and Nissan commercial vehicle dept. Already they have citizens questioning WTF was ANA doing that they would rather abandon their own brands and people and support the Chinese products. 

SMRT and SBS also bought some BYD full electric buses too right? I thought I saw one near YCK last month. 

Expand  

There can be no meaningful implementation of electric vehicles when the most advanced tesla car can only go 370 miles. This is with one driver who's probably not even obese and maybe a woman. 

Tesla has the world's most advanced battery management system in vehicles today. 

Imagine a bus who weighs so much much more with passengers. Your realistic range is less than 200km per day. And not even talking about up or down slope. 

Passenger cars are the sweet spot. Bill Gates himself said, he doesn't see other transportation mechanisms using electrical for now. And this is a guy who probably knows more than 99% of other humans on the subject given that one of his goals for his foundation is to make a meaningful impact on climate change.. . 

Not saying things won't change. But the physical limits of batteries has already been maxed out. 

Graphene batteries can only charge faster. Not increase energy density. And cost of manufacturing advanced batteries is also another thing. 

Not so fast. Autonomous driving will arrive before electrical buses or trucks in a big way. 

On 2/25/2020 at 8:36 AM, Lala81 said:

There can be no meaningful implementation of electric vehicles when the most advanced tesla car can only go 370 miles. This is with one driver who's probably not even obese and maybe a woman. 

Tesla has the world's most advanced battery management system in vehicles today. 

Imagine a bus who weighs so much much more with passengers. Your realistic range is less than 200km per day. And not even talking about up or down slope. 

Passenger cars are the sweet spot. Bill Gates himself said, he doesn't see other transportation mechanisms using electrical for now. And this is a guy who probably knows more than 99% of other humans on the subject given that one of his goals for his foundation is to make a meaningful impact on climate change.. . 

Expand  

Just go back to trams. No need to lug along heavy inefficient batteries with all the charging and discharging losses.  Maybe just need a small battery to move in between cable lines.

Only need one time investment on the overhead cables, and copper can easily be recycled unlike lithium batteries.  It is ugly, but it works (for city buses with fixed routes). No need to reinvent the (electric) wheel.

On 2/25/2020 at 8:54 AM, Volvobrick said:

Just go back to trams. No need to lug along heavy inefficient batteries with all the charging and discharging losses.  Maybe just need a small battery to move in between cable lines.

Only need one time investment on the overhead cables, and copper can easily be recycled unlike lithium batteries.  It is ugly, but it works (for city buses with fixed routes). No need to reinvent the (electric) wheel.

Expand  

Singapore no e scooters to get to the tram stations. 

On 2/25/2020 at 8:27 AM, Lala81 said:

Relax... So much hype about tesla. But electric cars are... 3% of the cars sold in America. 

Tesla makes... Less than one third of the cars made by Subaru... 

Expand  

American loves big CC pickup trucks especially countryside.

On 2/25/2020 at 9:55 AM, Lala81 said:

Singapore no e scooters to get to the tram stations. 

Expand  

OK I used the wrong term. Should be "trolley bus" like this:

Screenshot_20200225_190100.thumb.jpg.9537edc33a59552dbd5113bb792d0562.jpg

https://www.knorr-bremse.com/en/magazine/trolleybus-and-electric-bus-in-one-thanks-to-the-latest-in-motion-charging-drive-system.json

Maybe can even open the cables up for private cars, so we will be driving around with 2 long antennas sticking out like army land rovers! 

No more emissions. 

Edited by Volvobrick