Budget 2020: Encouraging Use of More Environmentally Friendly Vehicles

Carbon82

On 2/19/2020 at 1:50 AM, Cheefarn said:

And how will u guys charge your EV when you are in some kampong area in Bolehland? Or what's preventing you from being mugged and robbed when your lone EV is being charged at some remote charging stations in some unsafe neighborhood? 

Rem even with a 70-80L gas tank, it takes ard 5-6 mins to refuel from empty. Is there any DC charger out there that can charge at least 80% from empty in similar time? Every min delay at the remote charging facility in the middle of the night exposes you to more risks of getting mugged. 

Expand  

All HDB & Condo being built right now needs power supply built into every space in their car park otherwise waste of words. Every street being laid right now needs extra power cables for power transmission.

Porsche have said they can charge 200miles range in 20min (which is okay for most cases) so battery and charging tech is getting better but infrastructure isn't there. With normal charging, the same Porsche on household electrical supply takes a whole day to charge for the same 200miles. This will be the problem when crossing the border, already need to fast charge to reach KL but never ever will rest stops there have high speed charge. A 20min break on the way north is acceptable, although I normally don't stop till reach office or hotel, but...…..

On 2/19/2020 at 2:54 AM, bsswan said:

All HDB & Condo being built right now needs power supply built into every space in their car park otherwise waste of words. Every street being laid right now needs extra power cables for power transmission.

Porsche have said they can charge 200miles range in 20min (which is okay for most cases) so battery and charging tech is getting better but infrastructure isn't there. With normal charging, the same Porsche on household electrical supply takes a whole day to charge for the same 200miles. This will be the problem when crossing the border, already need to fast charge to reach KL but never ever will rest stops there have high speed charge. A 20min break on the way north is acceptable, although I normally don't stop till reach office or hotel, but...…..

Expand  

indicative woodlands to KLCC is about 337KM (according to google map)

so we buffer in traffic jams, delay, to actual mileage usage of 450km-485km. (enough?)

what electric car have REAL world mileage of 485KM  ? if you have that model , then no issues liao, 

can cheong to KL (find a hotel that has electric charging) below 

https://www.hotel.com.au/kuala-lumpur/kuala-lumpur-hotels-with-electric-vehicle-charging-station.htm

https://chargev.my/

Some shopping malls hv green lots elec cars w chargers 

And often what cars i see parking in those lots? Our Sg national cars e.g Vezel, C180, Corolla, etc

Sg need to upgrade not juz infra, but mindfulness 

On 2/19/2020 at 12:48 AM, awhtc said:

This is very cheap compared to a normal petrol car that cost 3x for a full fuel tank.

It makes financial sense for landed property owners to use their own electricity at less than $0.20/kWh to charge their cars.

The higher demand for electricity from the transport sector will drive up the electricity tariffs for other users.

Expand  

It takes too long to charge from home grid.  Need to be DC charger.

I have SP power charging station near my place.

On 2/19/2020 at 1:27 AM, Watwheels said:

So the discount for EV is $17K-$20K depending on OMV.  An EV's OMV is already more than $30K means ARF 140% of OMV or more for luxury make. This is already taxed so high. Got EV that has OMV below $20K? The Tesla battery pack already cost how much? LoL...

Road tax is depending on power rating of the electric motor. On top of road tax there's an additional fuel tax make up fee of 

1st year $200 (this is the so called early adoption)

2nd year $400 (what is this called? Getting ready to pay more, all you suckers)

2023 0nwards pay full $700 yearly (song song gao jurong)

On the other hand hybrid cars road tax will reduce by an average of 29%. EVs and Hybrids have a higher basic cost. Higher cost attracts a higher tax. You dont have to be a Math genius on this. Not much difference for EV what. Still Tax Tax Tax. KNS. All these taxing havent even factor in COE.

The $20K discount is bluff children lah. Tax so much liao, what is $20K? Buy a lowly OMV less than $20K small engine petrol car I think can save more. Somemore dont need to wait to charge the car like EV, just pump petrol and go.

Expand  

KNN!

Read my post on the road tax bit.  For Kona electric (200hp), the road tax is $1.1k.  

Road tax for Kona 1.6L (177hp) is $738. 

Expand  

For your information, SP Power is ramping the building of charging station.  Use SP Power app to find the nearest charging station.

In addition, certain Petronas station has charging station.  You just need to know where to find it.

On 2/19/2020 at 2:05 AM, Tianmo said:

KNN, 2040 is 20 years from now, who will still be driving a car bought in 2020 or earlier? mayb not even one bought in 2030. 

Who knows in between PAP toh, new gov all policies by PAP halt and chu new ones. Worry so far for f**k lah!!!

And do we need another sub budget 2020 thread? For something 20 years later? 

Did CNG last 20 years? Did diesel cars last 20 Years? Jiak pa nothing do ownself worry ownself is the new in thing in SG now ah?  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Expand  

Bro, EU is killing ICE by 2050.  PAP more kiasu than EU mah.

UK is determine to ban sales of new ICE by 2035.

What ever adjustment must be on "their" ARF. Waste time on these half hearted effort on EV for what, just go whole heartedly on their car lite better.

On 2/19/2020 at 3:50 AM, inlinesix said:

Bro, EU is killing ICE by 2050.  PAP more kiasu than EU mah.

UK is determine to ban sales of new ICE by 2035.

Expand  

Thats 30 years from now lah.  

One Brexit already UK cannot handle liao, determine is one thing, when ppl go onto the road and strike is another thing liao. 

CNG didnt last past 10 years i think, How long did diesel cars last in EU before they suddenly drop the axe? 

Things changes, and with advance technology moving so fast, to think that nothing will change in the next 20-30 years is crazy lor...[laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 2/19/2020 at 3:57 AM, Xers007 said:

What ever adjustment must be on "their" ARF. Waste time on these half hearted effort on EV for what, just go whole heartedly on their car lite better.

Expand  

Yah when all these smoke clears, what is left standing, and the ultimate objective, CAR-LITE!!!! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Expand  

yup... pull all the 230kv, 66KV copper cables, who pay? somehow will get taxed back.

On 2/19/2020 at 4:01 AM, Tianmo said:

Thats 30 years from now lah.  

One Brexit already UK cannot handle liao, determine is one thing, when ppl go onto the road and strike is another thing liao. 

CNG didnt last past 10 years i think, How long did diesel cars last in EU before they suddenly drop the axe? 

Things changes, and with advance technology moving so fast, to think that nothing will change in the next 20-30 years is crazy lor...[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Expand  

EU legislator give car manufacturer 30 years to move out of ICE car mah.  Some cities in Europe ban ICE car from entering city centre.

Diesel cars started since the days of Karl Benz la.  More than 100 years.

CNG nvr take off in EU.

Car manufacturer always move slowly unless there is new kid on the block or govt force them to change.

On 2/19/2020 at 4:06 AM, inlinesix said:

EU legislator give car manufacturer 30 years to move out of ICE car mah.  Some cities in Europe ban ICE car from entering city centre.

Diesel cars started since the days of Karl Benz la.  More than 100 years.

CNG nvr take off in EU.

Car manufacturer always move slowly unless there is new kid on the block or govt force them to change.

Expand  

30 years is a long time, and we all know that. If anyone is serious about anything, what the hell is taking them 30 years to get it fix? 

Banning ICE cars from entering city centres, ppl just park somewhere nearby and take the subway in lor, how much impact can it do? 

OK i correct what I said earlier about diesel cars, I meant to say clean diesel like euro4, euro5 standards. And ppl were are singing praises about how clean diesel can be. 

I think part of the reason CNG did not kick off in EU is also because of the development of clean diesel.  EU was trying to protect diesel back then I guess.[laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 2/19/2020 at 4:19 AM, Tianmo said:

30 years is a long time, and we all know that. If anyone is serious about anything, what the hell is taking them 30 years to get it fix? 

Banning ICE cars from entering city centres, ppl just park somewhere nearby and take the subway in lor, how much impact can it do? 

OK i correct what I said earlier about diesel cars, I meant to say clean diesel like euro4, euro5 standards. And ppl were are singing praises about how clean diesel can be. 

I think part of the reason CNG did not kick off in EU is also because of the development of clean diesel.  EU was trying to protect diesel back then I guess.[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Expand  

Currently, sales of EV in EU is not high.  It takes time to change consumer behaviour.  Maybe European needs 30 years to change.  Unlike PRC.

I use diesel pickup regularly.  Don't have much smoke.  The problem with diesel is diesel soots which may trigger asthma in Children.

With diesel, i don't know how transport industry going to survive.

Till date to me, full EV is still not an effective and realistic proposition for SG. Unless every lot is equipped with a charger which means i dont have to fret waking up in the middle of the night to unplug and shift the car for another owner to charge theirs on the limited shared charger. I dont have to fret queuing up to charge my car not knowing if i am able to get my turn to charge it up for next day. I dont have to fret not able to drive away in 5 mins when it ran out of juice. I would think petrol-hybrid would be the best stopgap for the next 5-10years till the charging infra is fully built up.  

Dont make any sense... They should be giving rewards to existing car owners with old cars maybe 10 years and above to replace it with a new electric car with their existing COE with no tax.

Electric Vehicles will go the way of Diesel Vehicles.

Govt slowly keep adding & increasing excise duty to diesel, and now the price diff between diesel and 95RON petrol is only $0.30/litre, or $15 for a full tank.

Assume you pump a tankful weekly, that's an annual savings of $720 on diesel, but you pay an extra $470 in diesel tax annually (comparing a 1.5 litre petrol & diesel car), which reduces the savings to a mere $250 annually.

And diesel cars cost more to purchase.