Inlinefour Twincharged January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 6 hours ago, Carbon82 said: For total transparency, employment figures should be broken down into the following categories, nothing less, and don't need to care whether they are hired directly by company or through contractor. But that would be a suicide move by the ruling party, as even the hardcore supporters might flip table if they see the actual number. True Blue Singaporean New Citizen Permanent Resident Dependent Pass Employment Pass S Pass and Work Permit I would not be surprised to see true blue Singaporean accounting for just ~50% (my personal guesstimate) of the total working population. Go figure... you miss out the special one which got no quota requirement...LTVP most bosses love to take them as many as possible...mostly syts ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 6 hours ago, Carbon82 said: For total transparency, employment figures should be broken down into the following categories, nothing less, and don't need to care whether they are hired directly by company or through contractor. But that would be a suicide move by the ruling party, as even the hardcore supporters might flip table if they see the actual number. True Blue Singaporean New Citizen Permanent Resident Dependent Pass Employment Pass S Pass and Work Permit I would not be surprised to see true blue Singaporean accounting for just ~50% (my personal guesstimate) of the total working population. Go figure... Need freedom of information act. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 5 hours ago, Kyrios said: Im gonna draw flak for saying this....but...Have personally met with a few arrogant and haughty folks from across the causeway who think is their goddamn right to be here...Iam surprised because we are supposed to be 'closer' and 'friendlier' since we share almost similar cultures...but no..these MY PRs expect same privileges as citizens and kpkb if they dun get the same treatment... Do Canadians behave in the same way in US and vice versa? I feel in another country we should treat each other with respect and humility instead of always having the thinking that the host country cannot do without me (the Permanent Resident) etc etc... And I hate to say this..again will prob kena flame but I think the distinction between citizens and PRs has just got to be upped a few notches. Those across the Causeway also not preferring to come to SG nowadays; unlike the good old days in the 80s, 90s. There are better opportunities for them these days, and whole world is accessible with the internet, so more things are within reach. Put it this way, whatever qualities or advantages we think that locals here may have, they also have; virtually the same peoples, but just happen to be on the other side of the border politically. That is why your "PR" source nowadays are mostly from PRC, India, Myanmar or Philippines. Still see SG as one of their easy options. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 i think local numbers not enough and earning far higher remuneration lah.. my boss just employed a junior it person at almost 6 digits pa and lamented cannot find local in the end, the job went to someone from a certain asean country i storeman skills only....my boss said i cannot qualify for the job 😭 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 18 minutes ago, Inlinefour said: you miss out the special one which got no quota requirement...LTVP most bosses love to take them as many as possible...mostly syts LTVP holder need to apply for EP, S-Pass or WP if they want to work in Singapore, so no count. https://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-permits/long-term-visit-pass/working-in-singapore-for-ltvp-holders 10 minutes ago, Kusje said: Need freedom of information act. I reckon I have higher chance of striking TOTO / Big Sweep / 4D, etc. than to see such law (which work against the ruling party) enact in Singapore. 2 hours ago, Kyrios said: I think CCS is saying something like to create one (1) job for a true blue..you need to employ 99 other FTs so that the company wont leave Singapore for other greener pastures...so is a necessary evil..otherwise MNCs will just leave and none of us will be employed..something lidat lah.. CCS: "Team Singapore comprising Singaporeans, the PRs and even the foreign workforce..." 6 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 41 minutes ago, Carbon82 said: LTVP holder need to apply for EP, S-Pass or WP if they want to work in Singapore, so no count. https://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-permits/long-term-visit-pass/working-in-singapore-for-ltvp-holders @Inlinefour only visit ktv. a lot of ltvp there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dinosaur33 3rd Gear January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 if you realised, it is usually the one will the largest ego that talk the most. The one who is getting the largest paycheck from the taxpayer is the one making the most and irrelevant comments. as a respectful individual member of the parliament (MP), if you cannot show some basic respect to other members of the parliament (MP), you should be not be considered a leader. If only if you have a taste of what one of your predecessor has tasted in real life, we shall put your capabilities to the test in the real world. there is a fine line between being arrogance and being confidence in leadership. And we shall leave for the majority to decide which he belongs to. One who has been an employee his whole life, speaks like one who owns the system. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 Gonna comment. Sometimes I think its singaporeans dont want to work. I ever hired clerks for my dept. I was so short handed that if you were willing to come for interview and you had a pulse, you are hired. But all ran off after a few weeks of work. Work wasnt especially hard but wasnt easy as well. There is still shortage of nurses in Singapore. Locals are not joining and those who join, many migrate once they have the chance. And then I hear complaints why so many foreigners in the hospital... why never hire locals? But my experience is only this sector. So YMMV. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 4 hours ago, Kyrios said: I think CCS is saying something like to create one (1) job for a true blue..you need to employ 99 other FTs so that the company wont leave Singapore for other greener pastures...so is a necessary evil..otherwise MNCs will just leave and none of us will be employed..something lidat lah.. I'm hearing that in the past also. But.. Isn't that a weak statement? He won't have the balls to say that in the open as it goes to show they are only able to attract these companies for the initial freebies EDB threw at them to be here, but not able to sustain them. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaka23 3rd Gear January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 5 hours ago, Carbon82 said: I have no concern if Singapore really lack talent in the niche field and need FT to fill the gap. You notice I don't use the word void? Filling the gap while training the local to fill it in times to come. But that is not what we are seeing in the past decade at least. 1 batch of FT goes, another batch of FT come and the cycle continue... And to add to the insult, I am also seeing not so niche functions been filled by FT, such as HR, finance, facilities management, safety, service industry, etc. etc. I am in Safety line and my personal experience with some FT safety director are that they know nuts about our local safety requirement. All they do is just to preach about people management, safety vision, etc. while ignoring what are required to be done as according to local laws. Is that doing any good for Singapore? You can say I am bias but FT has become a cheat (and cheap) pill to lower the operating cost in Singapore. High land cost / rental, transport cost, multiple taxes, etc. are the real culprits but ... ... If that is the case shouldnt we be discussing on the hiring practices of the hiring company? Why does it seem like we are bashing the government for failing to protect the citizens to get their ideal, high paying, comfortable jobs. I am in a listed company in the real estate industry and the management are all locals... even my competitors are mainly locals... My wife in the F&B industry, her current and previous bosses are also local. I always have the impression that a local company will hire local for management jobs. My friends in MNC companies have FT bosses. But isnt that a given? A Japanese company opening a office in Singapore will definitely trust and hire Japanese. At least it creates a supply of (lower) jobs for locals? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 5 hours ago, 13177 said: You are right lo, can find so many FT filled up position in puchasing, sales, accounts and HR. I dont know if all these position no local want to do or cannot find any local want to do that we cannot do without using FTs? And our government really walk the talk... Singapore no such IT talent? Then something must be seriously wrong with our world class education system! 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 5 hours ago, Kusje said: It is about money. Can't find at that price point. Just like when people say no singaporeans want to work as cleaner or waiters. Bro.. one bank has a hr admin that is angmoh.. n confirm not PR .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dinosaur33 3rd Gear January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 1 hour ago, Philipkee said: Gonna comment. Sometimes I think its singaporeans dont want to work. I ever hired clerks for my dept. I was so short handed that if you were willing to come for interview and you had a pulse, you are hired. But all ran off after a few weeks of work. Work wasnt especially hard but wasnt easy as well. There is still shortage of nurses in Singapore. Locals are not joining and those who join, many migrate once they have the chance. And then I hear complaints why so many foreigners in the hospital... why never hire locals? But my experience is only this sector. So YMMV. Thank Philipkee for your comments. I personally have experienced working in the technology field, more often than not - these are jobs are not "popular" among the locals. 24/7 standby, weekend shift and graveyard shift. I've all experienced it. But these are the salaries that are constantly suppressed by those who are willing to work harder and longer. Do I blamed our foreigner friends - no I don't. However it is the management team intentionally/unintentionally take a longer time to hire when there is a someone leave creating unnecessary additional workload to the existing staff. In addition, to top it off, there is still audit work and finding that need to be completed. No doubts, our EDB has done a good job in attracting all the investment and creating good jobs, but all these comes at a expenses. If we want to be successful, we should help others to be successful too. What the point of bring so much investment when we do not have the labour force to do it. At the end of the day, we do not want to have a social problem like what we have observed in our neighbouring countries. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 33 minutes ago, Carbon82 said: And our government really walk the talk... Singapore no such IT talent? Then something must be seriously wrong with our world class education system! Errr .. board member leh .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 2 hours ago, Inlinefour said: you miss out the special one which got no quota requirement...LTVP most bosses love to take them as many as possible...mostly syts I do hope they can include FT that earn up to 30k per month as well.. else we miss out a large population. SINGAPORE - The average annual pay package for expatriate middle managers in Singapore rose by US$13,163 or 5.9 per cent in 2018 from a year ago to US$236,258 (S$325,000), which included an average cash salary of US$90,170, according to an annual survey by ECA International. When considering the cost of an expat pay package, companies need to factor in three key elements: the cash salary, benefits - such as accommodation, international schools, utilities or cars - and tax, said ECA, which provides information and software for the management and assignment of employees globally. " 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 4 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said: I do hope they can include FT that earn up to 30k per month as well.. else we miss out a large population. these ft ltv also making 5 figures monthly 🤫🤫🤫 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 (edited) 2 hours ago, Carbon82 said: LTVP holder need to apply for EP, S-Pass or WP if they want to work in Singapore, so no count. https://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-permits/long-term-visit-pass/working-in-singapore-for-ltvp-holders You are not allowed to work in objectionable occupations such as a dance hostess or a masseur. Mom also knew ltv all ktv and massage 😁😁😁 Edited January 8, 2020 by Inlinefour Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 You will laff till your teeth drop off reading the comments ....... 😂 ↡ Advertisement 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...