Wt_know Supersonic January 2, 2020 Share January 2, 2020 when i want to book a conti ... sixt is always a good choice ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic January 2, 2020 Share January 2, 2020 3 hours ago, Adrianli said: I rented from the lower Manhattan outlet near Chinatown at NYC. They did ask for both IDP and SG license. Rented a Cadillac CTS but was given a Cadillac ATS. I have rented at EWR, SFO, LAX, SEA, MIA, never need IDP as our driving license is in English. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 5, 2020 Share January 5, 2020 On 1/2/2020 at 10:29 PM, Voodooman said: I have rented at EWR, SFO, LAX, SEA, MIA, never need IDP as our driving license is in English. Yeah. Sixt onli asked to see my SG driving lesen and passport But having said that, I do carry a IDP w me when i plan to drive in the states. In case kena pulled over for speeding by CHiPs or some overzealous state trooper who neber heard of SG b4 and kena do nude squats 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged January 5, 2020 Share January 5, 2020 4 hours ago, Soya said: Yeah. Sixt onli asked to see my SG driving lesen and passport But having said that, I do carry a IDP w me when i plan to drive in the states. In case kena pulled over for speeding by CHiPs or some overzealous state trooper who neber heard of SG b4 and kena do nude squats One time I got stopped by a "polis" in JB who ask for my driving licence. Knowing what was his intention, I showed him my SG licence and didn't even bother to take out the IDP in my other wallet. He said "oh SG license no use. Need Malaysia Licence to drive in Malaysia". I laughed and told him better to station himself at the CIQ cos many fish there to catch. He said it's a different matter. Not being in a hurry I continued to chat with him and waste his invested time for approx. 5min. Then another car came up behind me, he saw it and waved me on. 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic January 7, 2020 Share January 7, 2020 On 1/2/2020 at 10:01 PM, Wt_know said: when i want to book a conti ... sixt is always a good choice My last rental with them in Frankfurt in 2018, book Passat Estate. Got a BMW X3 D. Happy like bird. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acewin 4th Gear January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 I just rented a car in Taiwan in Dec 2019 this time they didn't even ask me for my IDP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 IDP is only $20 ... i apply and bring along with me all the time ... just in case 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 it's confusing time https://www.budgetdirect.com.sg/blog/car-insurance/international-driving-permit-easy-answers-to-tough-questions Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 On 1/5/2020 at 8:21 PM, JohnSHL said: One time I got stopped by a "polis" in JB who ask for my driving licence. Knowing what was his intention, I showed him my SG licence and didn't even bother to take out the IDP in my other wallet. He said "oh SG license no use. Need Malaysia Licence to drive in Malaysia". I laughed and told him better to station himself at the CIQ cos many fish there to catch. He said it's a different matter. Not being in a hurry I continued to chat with him and waste his invested time for approx. 5min. Then another car came up behind me, he saw it and waved me on. Hahahaaaa....abang polis is liddat one. I oso kena roadblock b4. Say I doing 135kmh. I kept insisting I wasn't (really one hor). Even offered abang to check my cruise control that it was set at 110. After abang saw how many RM50 whizzing past him, he finally decided he was wasting his time on me and his opportunity cost too high and asked me to go....lol 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 23 minutes ago, Soya said: Hahahaaaa....abang polis is liddat one. I oso kena roadblock b4. Say I doing 135kmh. I kept insisting I wasn't (really one hor). Even offered abang to check my cruise control that it was set at 110. After abang saw how many RM50 whizzing past him, he finally decided he was wasting his time on me and his opportunity cost too high and asked me to go....lol The same trick can be applied even you are in the wrong. They won't waste time on hard "prey" 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 For anyone who might travel in a bigger group (like 7-9 pax) and got luggages, and might not be confident of fitting into a MPV - like my case going to Japan last month, the alternative is to rent a van. But take note that Toyota Hiace got 2 types (a 9-seater vs a bigger 10-or-more-seater) in Jpn. Both needs IDP, but if we only have class 3 license, then can only rent the 9-seater (which is very uncomfortable and squeezy for passengers, as it has a lot of luggage space). The bigger 10-seater is much more comfortable, but in the IDP, needs 'D' stamp (which our Class 3 is not...). 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 8, 2020 Share January 8, 2020 4 hours ago, Soya said: Hahahaaaa....abang polis is liddat one. I oso kena roadblock b4. Say I doing 135kmh. I kept insisting I wasn't (really one hor). Even offered abang to check my cruise control that it was set at 110. After abang saw how many RM50 whizzing past him, he finally decided he was wasting his time on me and his opportunity cost too high and asked me to go....lol 2 years ago just before hari raya i went JB for 3 days. Then when coming back, blur blur went into bus lane at M'sia checkpoint. The vultures ran towards me, and started saying i should be fined, v troublesome to have to go long way to polis station to pay, and they can help me... I acted blur, asked them what should i do, and 2 of them took turns to talk more than 20-25 min, largely about the same thing. Didn't want to be direct initially but after about 20 min, finally mentioned RM100... I told them hold on, and tried to call my bro-in-law who just left earlier than me to ask whether i should, but he didn't answer. Kept calling, and the vultures after a few mins, suddenly gave me my license back, and told me to turn back out!!! They must be v upset that it was all for nothing... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 9, 2020 Share January 9, 2020 Hahahaaaa....abang polis always beri 'helpful' one Plus, excellent time management skills too Who says they onli like to relak one corner? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 9, 2020 Share January 9, 2020 2 minutes ago, Soya said: Hahahaaaa....abang polis always beri 'helpful' one Plus, excellent time management skills too Who says they onli like to relak one corner? abang is motivated when they saw S-plate car ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 9, 2020 Share January 9, 2020 8 minutes ago, Wt_know said: abang is motivated when they saw S-plate car ... Coz its (perpetually) Visit Malaysia Year and they wanna be helpful to tourists mah So considerate ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...