firefly20 3rd Gear August 15, 2020 Share August 15, 2020 On 8/12/2020 at 12:59 PM, Lala81 said: Err. Totally opposite leh. Well your wife maintains your own piano. So up to her lah. But this is just simple science. Probably Non-AC room is the only thing that scientifically makes sense cos that reduces condensation. Our humidity is 85-90% year round. Relative humidity in other countries is only 35-50% during large parts of the year for the temperate countries. My piano was built in 1987 (or 1989 I can't remember). I got it from Asia Piano who buys old pianos from Japan and brings them into SG. The staff there say any singaporean piano in local climate condition is roughly the same as something from JP which is 1.5-2 times older. He say the greatest misconception is that piano heaters are sufficient in our local climate. Tell me thirsty hippo every month. I just put it when i remember lor. They don't earn money from this advice also lol. I've lived opposite a canal for 28 years. Humidity is a major factor for rusting. My parents home, the metallic parts oxidize and rust like mad compared to other places. I stay in a wet part of Singapore and my unit is right smacked between 2 pools with the humidity ranging from 60-80% (dry days vs wet wet days). As a result, I close the living room windows most of the time and if the humidity hits 75%, I'll auto switch on the air-con. All this just to maintain the condition of the piano. Actually some piano brands do not come with heater bars at all. The perference is to control the humidity of the surroundings instead since the wooden part of a piano is not just the soundboard. Mabbe that's what your dealer meant when he said heater bars alone were not sufficient. Kawai acoustic pianos do have plastic action parts that are more resilient to moisture, and have a warm mellow sound that make mistakes less obvious. Haha. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 15, 2020 Share August 15, 2020 (edited) 13 minutes ago, firefly20 said: I stay in a wet part of Singapore and my unit is right smacked between 2 pools with the humidity ranging from 60-80% (dry days vs wet wet days). As a result, I close the living room windows most of the time and if the humidity hits 75%, I'll auto switch on the air-con. All this just to maintain the condition of the piano. Actually some piano brands do not come with heater bars at all. The perference is to control the humidity of the surroundings instead since the wooden part of a piano is not just the soundboard. Mabbe that's what your dealer meant when he said heater bars alone were not sufficient. Kawai acoustic pianos do have plastic action parts that are more resilient to moisture, and have a warm mellow sound that make mistakes less obvious. Haha. mine is a piano that's only few years younger than me. So haha more care is required Edited August 15, 2020 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic August 15, 2020 Share August 15, 2020 Can shift it to a wall that the external not subject to change in weather. In between two room. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 15, 2020 Share August 15, 2020 2 hours ago, firefly20 said: Kawai acoustic pianos do have plastic action parts that are more resilient to moisture, and have a warm mellow sound that make mistakes less obvious. Haha. My belief is that almost all pianos have some sort of plastic/composite material for the action? Even the difference between steinway grand pianos is distinguished by that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic August 15, 2020 Share August 15, 2020 2 hours ago, Lala81 said: My belief is that almost all pianos have some sort of plastic/composite material for the action? Even the difference between steinway grand pianos is distinguished by that? Mine Ellington no plastic component at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 15, 2020 Share August 15, 2020 (edited) 54 minutes ago, Kopites said: Mine Ellington no plastic component at all. depends on whether older and country of origin. I'm not sure whether my 30+ year old piano has them. But Modern acoustic pianos all have some plastic/composite material inside them (excluding the key surfaces). Edited August 15, 2020 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
firefly20 3rd Gear August 16, 2020 Share August 16, 2020 23 hours ago, Lala81 said: My belief is that almost all pianos have some sort of plastic/composite material for the action? Even the difference between steinway grand pianos is distinguished by that? Steinway is a brand that I can never afford. Their smallest grand is well over $100K! I sell blood also not enough. Lol In future if your kids really grows into piano (like they end up in SOTA or practises like crazy), then you may wish to consider getting them a grand as the avg grand will beat the best upright flat in terms of control and dynamics. I made the mistake of getting my kid a piano teacher with a grand and then he told me this. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 Piano fair at PS. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 On 8/12/2020 at 10:42 AM, Lala81 said: casio is watch or piano? Casio Used to have game & watch. So maybe it’s Piano & Watch now? 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
firefly20 3rd Gear August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 41 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: Casio Used to have game & watch. So maybe it’s Piano & Watch now? 😂 Till date I still haven’t found an digital piano with the touch close to an acoustic one. The keys felt sort of springy. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
firefly20 3rd Gear August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 1 hour ago, Kopites said: Piano fair at PS. At least for pianos, we don’t need to worry about COE bidding. 😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 8 minutes ago, firefly20 said: At least for pianos, we don’t need to worry about COE bidding. 😁 Me and family were there browsing. Make in Indonesia pricing so cheap? 3k plus already pretty good in term of sound. Decade ago those level of sound need at least 10k according to wifey. I am tone deaf anyway. ,🤭 Those make in Japan double or triple the price relative to make in Indonesia. Those interested to get a paino for kid can go take a look. Sales till September. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ray7456 3rd Gear December 9, 2020 Share December 9, 2020 Riding on this music thread. Need help in looking any shop that does repairs for Roland FD-8 hit hat pedal for drums. Pedal not functioning now. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
racerbum 1st Gear December 17, 2020 Share December 17, 2020 On 8/29/2020 at 6:06 PM, firefly20 said: At least for pianos, we don’t need to worry about COE bidding. 😁 Exactly! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 On 8/29/2020 at 6:20 PM, Kopites said: Me and family were there browsing. Make in Indonesia pricing so cheap? 3k plus already pretty good in term of sound. Decade ago those level of sound need at least 10k according to wifey. I am tone deaf anyway. ,🤭 Those make in Japan double or triple the price relative to make in Indonesia. Those interested to get a paino for kid can go take a look. Sales till September. Yeah. I just hoot one Yamaha. JU model. $3.3k. Sound is really quite good. Delivered today. Christmas just nice. LOL 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 26 minutes ago, Jusnel said: Yeah. I just hoot one Yamaha. JU model. $3.3k. Sound is really quite good. Delivered today. Christmas just nice. LOL My Better half is thinking if capitalise the year end promo and get an electrone for my son. I is very chuan...😅 Need to sell bicycles to make space liao. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic December 24, 2020 Author Share December 24, 2020 Sell me your bicycles 😉 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 15 minutes ago, mersaylee said: My Better half is thinking if capitalise the year end promo and get an electrone for my son. I is very chuan...😅 Need to sell bicycles to make space liao. Electrone is like an Organ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...