Kklee 6th Gear June 27, 2024 Share June 27, 2024 On 6/27/2024 at 12:02 AM, Gnahp said: I patched car tayar once using worm it looks easy until you try it yourself hard work ah boss I rather pay $10 IMHO. I have this dilemma now as my vehicle is not equipped with spare but with a inflator and tyre sealant. My reads on the sealant seems to lead to not advisable to be used ?? Anyway, I bought those tyre repair worm kit. Going thru the Youtube makes it look easy but if the tyre is in the vehicle, at least the front wheel can be turned outward but the back wheel ? End up may have remove the back wheel ? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear June 27, 2024 Share June 27, 2024 On 6/27/2024 at 12:12 AM, Gnahp said: since we are on this topic what can/should I do if I kena a nail on NSHW with a slow leak? on RFT (run flat tyre) say, after Melaka heading back to SG and I prefer to repair it in SG, no spare tyre in the car I have a portable tire inflator do I keep on inflating until I reach home or I inject a can of those tyre sealant + inflate I heard tyre shop will charge extra to clean up those tyre sealant when they repair the puncture IMHO. This is a potential issue for me. Mine is non flat. Just for info, tyre sealant have TPMS safe kind. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear June 27, 2024 Share June 27, 2024 On 6/27/2024 at 7:45 AM, Fcw75 said: If you are talking about pushing the worm in, definitely need some elbow strength. Front is much easier to handle, rear is a PITA. IMHO. I am seriously considering to buy the drill version of the reamer/plugger. Rear, just thinking about it also feel is PITA. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 27, 2024 Share June 27, 2024 On 6/27/2024 at 8:03 AM, Kklee said: IMHO. I have this dilemma now as my vehicle is not equipped with spare but with an inflator and tyre sealant. My reads on the sealant seems to lead to not advisable to be used ?? Anyway, I bought those tyre repair worm kit. Going thru the Youtube makes it look easy but if the tyre is in the vehicle, at least the front wheel can be turned outward but the back wheel ? End up may have remove the back wheel ? For slow leak, just pump slightly higher than usual and drive to the nearest tyre shop. Sealant will make a mess and require some cleaning. Tyre shop will kpkb even pay them to clean it up. Mini has no spare tyre, inflator and sealant. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear June 27, 2024 Share June 27, 2024 On 6/27/2024 at 8:09 AM, inlinesix said: For slow leak, just pump slightly higher than usual and drive to the nearest tyre shop. Sealant will make a mess and require some cleaning. Tyre shop will kpkb even pay them to clean it up. Mini has no spare tyre, inflator and sealant. IMHO. My hybrid sama sama - no spare, inflator and sealant. If kpkb and pay to clean it up is ok. I seriously want to assume the factory sealant is TPMS safe. 🤣 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic June 27, 2024 Share June 27, 2024 On 6/27/2024 at 12:12 AM, Gnahp said: since we are on this topic what can/should I do if I kena a nail on NSHW with a slow leak? on RFT (run flat tyre) say, after Melaka heading back to SG and I prefer to repair it in SG, no spare tyre in the car I have a portable tire inflator do I keep on inflating until I reach home or I inject a can of those tyre sealant + inflate I heard tyre shop will charge extra to clean up those tyre sealant when they repair the puncture Dun ever pump in those sealant. If u pump in. And the shop that patch your tyres use the worm method. The Sealand stay inside for ever. If it harden. Become worst. If u are on rft. The best solution is to pump in normally till u reach a tyre shop and patch. To remove and install a rft is very hard esp if u are on low profile rft. Like 225.40.18. Super lot of work. They gonna charge u more then 50 sgd I think plus the clean up. Worst cases is the bead of the tyres might be damage during the removal and install of tyres. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic June 27, 2024 Share June 27, 2024 On 6/27/2024 at 8:09 AM, Kklee said: IMHO. I am seriously considering to buy the drill version of the reamer/plugger. Rear, just thinking about it also feel is PITA. The key to using worm plug is the tools and the type of worm u use. Those u buy from hardware shop. The manual drill is very thick and not pointed properly. The tool for the worm also very thick metal. Plus the worm is properly the orange colour type. It's very thick. To insert these type of worm. U will need to drill the hole manually until very big. In alot of cases u make the hole much much bigger. U see alot of tyres shop their tools is slim and thin. The worm is black colour . Much more easy to insert. Much lesser strength is need if u have a better tools. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 27, 2024 Share June 27, 2024 On 6/27/2024 at 8:09 AM, Kklee said: IMHO. I am seriously considering to buy the drill version of the reamer/plugger. Rear, just thinking about it also feel is PITA. Drill version? No need la, a bit over liao. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged June 27, 2024 Share June 27, 2024 On 6/26/2024 at 8:49 PM, Fcw75 said: Why you laugh at people kenna puncture? 😆 Come to think about it, few years back I also kenna twice in a month. If you go by my office there, sure kena one. I hear so many stories and we always take the opposite route. Haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 27, 2024 Share June 27, 2024 On 6/27/2024 at 10:01 AM, Arogab said: If you go by my office there, sure kena one. I hear so many stories and we always take the opposite route. Haha You mean Eastlink? Yes bro, that’s where I trained up my skill of tyre repair…haha. 4th floor same same, sometimes can be once a month kenna. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged June 27, 2024 Share June 27, 2024 On 6/27/2024 at 9:03 AM, Fcw75 said: You mean Eastlink? Yes bro, that’s where I trained up my skill of tyre repair…haha. 4th floor same same, sometimes can be once a month kenna. Me the heng heng guy, I never kena. Haha 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear June 27, 2024 Share June 27, 2024 On 6/27/2024 at 9:48 AM, Beregond said: The key to using worm plug is the tools and the type of worm u use. Those u buy from hardware shop. The manual drill is very thick and not pointed properly. The tool for the worm also very thick metal. Plus the worm is properly the orange colour type. It's very thick. To insert these type of worm. U will need to drill the hole manually until very big. In alot of cases u make the hole much much bigger. U see alot of tyres shop their tools is slim and thin. The worm is black colour . Much more easy to insert. Much lesser strength is need if u have a better tools. IMHO. I bought the slime brand with the tube of rubber compound. need to check out the thickness. Hmm.... maybe i need the angle drill or angle adaptor. 🤔 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear June 27, 2024 Share June 27, 2024 On 6/27/2024 at 10:03 AM, Fcw75 said: You mean Eastlink? Yes bro, that’s where I trained up my skill of tyre repair…haha. 4th floor same same, sometimes can be once a month kenna. On 6/27/2024 at 10:06 AM, Arogab said: Me the heng heng guy, I never kena. Haha IMHO. I have this suspicion could be due to tyre pressure... for your case kena or never kena, the tyres pressure over inflated ? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged June 27, 2024 Share June 27, 2024 On 6/27/2024 at 9:47 AM, Kklee said: IMHO. I have this suspicion could be due to tyre pressure... for your case kena or never kena, the tyres pressure over inflated ? I am good at always monitoring my dashboard when I drive lah. Thus, my pressure is always good and normal. Maybe you don't know. I just go back home once in a while. I go office and I drive the opposite way to avoid the nail lor. Keep a look out when your drive and avoid them if you can see. If not see....Boh Pian 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 27, 2024 Share June 27, 2024 On 6/27/2024 at 10:06 AM, Arogab said: Me the heng heng guy, I never kena. Haha Wah lau, u go back there how often only…😒 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 27, 2024 Share June 27, 2024 On 6/27/2024 at 10:47 AM, Kklee said: IMHO. I have this suspicion could be due to tyre pressure... for your case kena or never kena, the tyres pressure over inflated ? Nothing to do with tyre pressure. It’s the type of industries there. Nails, screws anyhow throw. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged June 27, 2024 Share June 27, 2024 On 6/27/2024 at 10:48 AM, Fcw75 said: Wah lau, u go back there how often only…😒 Wah Lao eh, 6 years at least also many many times lah. Like I say, I drive opposite side. Not go in front of those shops 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged June 27, 2024 Share June 27, 2024 On 6/27/2024 at 8:03 AM, Kklee said: IMHO. I have this dilemma now as my vehicle is not equipped with spare but with a inflator and tyre sealant. My reads on the sealant seems to lead to not advisable to be used ?? Anyway, I bought those tyre repair worm kit. Going thru the Youtube makes it look easy but if the tyre is in the vehicle, at least the front wheel can be turned outward but the back wheel ? End up may have remove the back wheel ? my car and my wife's car both no spare tyre, no pump no sealant on her car, mine has a can of expired sealant, no pump too going long distance drive in malaysia always keep me wondering what if I have a puncture (so far never happen) I always carry this tyre inflator with me when I drive in malaysia if it has a slow leak, the plan is keep topping up until I reached home if big leak bo bian ↡ Advertisement 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...