Tyre puncture

Neutrino

On 6/26/2024 at 9:23 PM, Beregond said:

monitor a few weeks loh

I alway laugh at ppl kenna puncture, until i kenna twice in 1 mth last month, before that i went years and years never kenna.

i got scared and go buy a xiaomi portable pump😂

Why you laugh at people kenna puncture? 😆

Come to think about it, few years back I also kenna twice in a month.

On 6/26/2024 at 9:48 PM, Fcw75 said:

Hope it last. You have a portable pump in your car?

I had.  However, portable pump only useful if the inflation doesn't leak fast. Otherwise changed to the spare and drove to tyre shop or workshop for patching up or change is still the safe option.

On 6/26/2024 at 9:54 PM, DOBIEMKZ said:

I had.  However, portable pump only useful if the inflation doesn't leak fast. Otherwise changed to the spare and drove to tyre shop or workshop for patching up or change is still the safe option.

Got another way la…..

😂😂😂

On 6/26/2024 at 9:54 PM, RadX said:

Got another way la…..

😂😂😂

Yes indeed. Whenever shit happens, your advice always spring to my mind. 😁

On 6/26/2024 at 9:25 PM, DOBIEMKZ said:

The puncture still at base thread although quite close to the side-wall so still patchable.

Going forward ,  i read that there are some tyres with a layer of sealant inside such that the when there is a puncture the sealant will immediately seep to the puncture and seal it off.  Now i am seriously considering those..

had a friend who put tis after mkt sealant for peace of mind, not cheap thou...iirc $3xx for 4 tyres. 

On 6/26/2024 at 6:30 PM, DOBIEMKZ said:

Damn !!! Just changed tyres a like a month ago and today this happened again! 😟

image.png.b6630f12ec7ae8df012b37b73ab88174.png

image.thumb.png.5a764f85ec53e49f3993adc18bb175bd.png

ouch!

I kena screwed on a 2 weeks old tayar last year

spent $50 to do internal patching

new tayar no choice

On 6/26/2024 at 9:25 PM, DOBIEMKZ said:

The puncture still at base thread although quite close to the side-wall so still patchable.

Going forward ,  i read that there are some tyres with a layer of sealant inside such that the when there is a puncture the sealant will immediately seep to the puncture and seal it off.  Now i am seriously considering those..

dun waste money on that.

it hardly works.

the way it work is, the nail must be smooth and go in nicely, when pull out, the gel come out with it and seal the hole.

But u see your case, in your case, that area got no gel, and most of the time, u dun get nice and smooth nail at a 90' angle, 

u get funny metal pcs or screws .

and only certain model of tyres come with that gel.

On 6/26/2024 at 10:26 PM, zipping said:

had a friend who put tis after mkt sealant for peace of mind, not cheap thou...iirc $3xx for 4 tyres. 

last time pioneer area got 1 shop do that, yup its around that price, and after that , the tyre super hard to balance, and got tones of balancing weights stick on them😂

that shop close down some years back😗

On 6/26/2024 at 10:45 PM, Gnahp said:

ouch!

I kena screwed on a 2 weeks old tayar last year

spent $50 to do internal patching

new tayar no choice

$50??????? Which shop ketok you so badly….😄

On 6/26/2024 at 11:01 PM, Mkl22 said:

$50??????? Which shop ketok you so badly….😄

boss noticed my expression too 😁

he faster explain to me

boss, got to remove wheel, demount tayar from rim, grind and patch, mount tayar again, balancing and put back

I said ok lor....

On 6/26/2024 at 11:04 PM, Gnahp said:

boss noticed my expression too 😁

he faster explain to me

boss, got to remove wheel, demount tayar from rim, grind and patch, mount tayar again, balancing and put back

I said ok lor....

Have always gone to south east tyre. They do everything the same but only do not balance when they remount. But they mark the exact position. $25. Maybe my tire puny 16” so cheaper. 

On 6/26/2024 at 11:18 PM, Mkl22 said:

Have always gone to south east tyre. They do everything the same but only do not balance when they remount. But they mark the exact position. $25. Maybe my tire puny 16” so cheaper. 

it's 20" but the works are the same mah

I feel better when you say $25

if you say $10 I will feel like I am a robert for a long time 😅

On 6/26/2024 at 11:27 PM, Gnahp said:

16” is small carrot head.

20” is bigger carrot head

🤭

On 6/26/2024 at 11:36 PM, inlinesix said:

16” is small carrot head.

20” is bigger carrot head

🤭

I patched car tayar once

using worm

it looks easy until you try it yourself

hard work ah boss

I rather pay $10

onsite_punctured_tire_repair_w_160475523

On 6/27/2024 at 12:02 AM, Gnahp said:

I patched car tayar once

using worm

hard work ah boss

I rather pay $10

I change bicycle tyre already he he Chuan.

Car tyre I don’t mind paying ppl to do it 

On 6/26/2024 at 11:27 PM, Gnahp said:

20' ok la.

like the labour to install a 16' tyres is 20+-

if u want install a 20' tyres, they not gonna charge u the same price, at least 80-100% higher.

since we are on this topic

what can/should I do if I kena a nail on NSHW with a slow leak? on RFT (run flat tyre)

say, after Melaka heading back to SG and I prefer to repair it in SG, no spare tyre in the car

I have a portable tire inflator

do I keep on inflating until I reach home or I inject a can of those tyre sealant + inflate

I heard tyre shop will charge extra to clean up those tyre sealant when they repair the puncture 

On 6/27/2024 at 12:02 AM, Gnahp said:

I patched car tayar once

using worm

hard work ah boss

I rather pay $10

If you are talking about pushing the worm in, definitely need some elbow strength.

Front is much easier to handle, rear is a PITA.