2020 5th Generation Honda City

Zxcvb

29 minutes ago, Carbon82 said:

I think @Philipkee and KM (and his SE) are popping Champagne today for 2 different reasons.

For Philip, his careful consideration and long waiting save him some money in the end (more VFM in another words) [thumbsup] 

For KM & his SE, finally can channel more resources to attract other potential customers, and not to mention the reduction in coffee and biscuit consumption (cut lost in some sense) :D :D 

If I am KM management I would have sell it to him at $89,999 much earlier, not only cutting losses, but free promotion on MCF too. Tio boh @Jamesc? I smart enough to work for you?:serious-business:

You can be the Senior Sales Manager.

as we both have same Quality background.

[thumbsup]

I'm seeing a trend here across most budget / Asian cars... raise the price, force local buyers to accept cars at a higher price tier, some improvements in safety/ tactile feel of materials etc. but it's still NA 1.6 / 1/5 l engines. Tough sell across most Asian brands...

Some folks are going to be tempted by the contis, especially the more budget ones, even those with a less reliable track record.. either that or pay a premium and go for the premium brands, which can deliver the COE and a better badge for a small delta... very odd situation

3 hours ago, Spring said:

1.68% is about the lowest rate in the market now I think. BMW giving 1.95%

I think KM had 1.65% when I was looking around last month... Toyota when I bought my Vios was 2.28% =(

8 hours ago, Philipkee said:

The SE tried to psycho me to take the black or white I told him its ok.  I can wait for next shipment.   I wait so long liao can wait a while more...  He like 🙄

my car can make it.   My current mileage is 67k.  Just right to use my remaining spare engine oil for one more servicing.  Tires can last till 80k km so just right to change in April. Plus just nice insurance and road tax end.

Aircon still under warranty by KMC so if it blows hot air still can fix..  My new HU would have finished warranty by then.

So yea.  I can wait.  :D

Wah, you really plan and calculated swee swee on your current car until your new car arrives in next apr siah?! 👍 👏

Better to wait for the colour you like and want, no need to get the ex stock colour. But surprisingly they have stock for white? Thought white is a popular colour, and need to wait?! 😂

Edited by 13177

6 hours ago, 13177 said:

Wah, you really plan and calculated swee swee on your current car until your new car arrives in next apr siah?! 👍 👏

Wasnt planned. Just coincidental.   I was hoping to get the car earlier like around Dec or Jan but ok la..   not a big issue for me and also work out for the best for me :D

8 hours ago, james1055 said:

Your SE is at Leng Kee or Ubi, what kind of freebies he give you. Most likely they will grass, because all the CB deal buyer piss off and decide to hold their horse and wait , to see the AD panic.

Leng Kee.  

I tot I mentioned

He gave

Front camera, solar film, one year servicing, sports pedals, reverse sensor

I did also ask for visors, rear camera (as opposed to merely front) plus trunk mat plus any further discount like $1000 to $2000 off car price will be welcome :D

Edited by Philipkee

City is a nice car for family. Used to own the generation 3 manual for 8 yrs and also driven the previous generation for a week as rental. Big  storage space. Good point a to b car. 

9 hours ago, yellowshaun said:

I think KM had 1.65% when I was looking around last month... Toyota when I bought my Vios was 2.28% =(

Toyota interest is that low? 

When I was scouting for a car in 2017, the interest was 2.78 if I took a loan for the Altis Eco.

17 hours ago, Philipkee said:

It will be late march or early April to mid april.  Apparently that's the next shipment unless I want white or black...

So I got

Front camera/solar film/ 20k servicing (supposedly that the package).

Reverse sensor (dunno why it's not standard)

Sports pedals 

BUT @Jamesc I admit.  The first thing I asked the SE is you got the complimentary parking right? Cos its $2/ hr...  yea my money really hard to earn....  :D

COE they will probably get earlier cos they expect it to be higher as quota gets lower plus I lock in price liao...  

BUT I admit I am not vested in the COE price cos its locked in so go up or down nothing to do with me.  Rebate is $35k if it helps anyone betting on COE in Nov. 

Congrats!! Finally you have decided! SV model? Reverse sensors technically only part of LX models but normally SE will throw in as a freebie. 

18 hours ago, Philipkee said:

COE they will probably get earlier cos they expect it to be higher as quota gets lower plus I lock in price liao...  

BUT I admit I am not vested in the COE price cos its locked in so go up or down nothing to do with me.  Rebate is $35k if it helps anyone betting on COE in Nov. 

Congrats on your new ride! the "buy new car" feeling is always shiok..

It is a long wait till Apr 2021 to have the car, I am puzzled on how this works..

say, KM gets the COE for you in the next bidding, how long can the COE hold before registering on a car? Would it be before Apr?

Does KM lock in your trade in value? Is the value based on current or Apr?

Then in the event if KM hasn't secure the COE for you in the next few biddings, and the car price fluctuates, will KM honour the price change for you as well? (say if price drop a few K)

3 hours ago, Brass said:

Toyota interest is that low? 

When I was scouting for a car in 2017, the interest was 2.78 if I took a loan for the Altis Eco.

2017 and now different economic climate leh, so the consumer interest rates also will be different =D

Which brings me to a question... Refinancing house is very common, but is there refinancing for cars?

2 hours ago, Soundphile said:

Congrats on your new ride! the "buy new car" feeling is always shiok..

It is a long wait till Apr 2021 to have the car, I am puzzled on how this works..

say, KM gets the COE for you in the next bidding, how long can the COE hold before registering on a car? Would it be before Apr?

Does KM lock in your trade in value? Is the value based on current or Apr?

Then in the event if KM hasn't secure the COE for you in the next few biddings, and the car price fluctuates, will KM honour the price change for you as well? (say if price drop a few K)

1) I believe COE can be held for 6 months

2) they lock in trade in value based on April (current with a bit more depreciation).   But it's ok for me.  I would have made the most use of my new HU plus tires (due for changing maybe late next year).

3)  if they can only get the COE a month or so later and let's say car price shoots up, they still have to honour the price offered to me.  That's why I have to lock it in before next bidding. Of cos it works the other way round.  If COE crashes next round and car price plunges, I still have to pay the same price that I signed now unless the Coe falls below the rebate then maybe I get some money back.

Love the new steering wheel feel, the seat and better HU in the new RS model 🤩. But it still comes with the slim 185 tyre profile on the 16” rims

When I bought the current gen City 3 years ago, I thought it was the longest wait of 4 months for the colour I wanted then.... and now its a 6 months wait! Anyway, it’s economical to drive around and has served me well for the past 3 years. 

When I was checking out another model, KM offered me either 1.68% or 1.78% interest rate last week; the former has a 1% admin fee for early settlement during the loan period. 

16 minutes ago, Dreamer_toons said:

Love the new steering wheel feel, the seat and better HU in the new RS model 🤩. But it still comes with the slim 185 tyre profile on the 16” rims

When I bought the current gen City 3 years ago, I thought it was the longest wait of 4 months for the colour I wanted then.... and now its a 6 months wait! Anyway, it’s economical to drive around and has served me well for the past 3 years. 

When I was checking out another model, KM offered me either 1.68% or 1.78% interest rate last week; the former has a 1% admin fee for early settlement during the loan period. 

Is the price difference to civic still $5k?