New Road Between Punggol & Pasir Ris Will Ease TPE Traffic From 17 Nov

kobayashiGT

11 hours ago, Philipkee said:

I disagree on the bad planning part.  Cos from my observations there seems to be an aversion to having something that will be under utilised.  At least here.

So even though traffic is very bad, it seems like it has to be reaching the tipping point before alternatives are built.

That is why hospitals are almost running at full capacity before they build new ones.  And trains are running at full capacity most of the time with minimal duplication  of routes.  It also explains the housing issues.

Some might say bad planning or lack of foresight.  I think it's just a case where there is the desire to squeeze everything to the max and when it seems you are reaching the point where you cant squeeze anymore then look for alternatives or plan for new capacity.  So it is very good planning based on a financial and resource point of view.  But of cos not from a citizen welfare point of view.

Like in this case.  When they build the new road, they anticipate high demand from day one.  Not cases where it will be under utilised for a few years and then traffic build up....

That's why I say the string was too tight already. 

Every aspect also need to overtune 

It's not good music when there is no harmony. 

I support things must be done progressively. 

Sluggish is not right lor. 

On 11/1/2019 at 9:17 AM, 13177 said:

The practice here is always develop infrastructure much later de, only when problem arises.

I was passing by an outskirt of Shanghai city 10yrs ago. 

No house, no resident staying there, but there multiple  4 lanes 2-way road already built. MRT line constructed just not in operation. That is how a modern city developing should be.

Today, Shanghai infrastructure and the whole city development are way ahead of Singapore. 

Edited by Tohto

9 hours ago, Tohto said:

I was passing by an outskirt of Shanghai city 10yrs ago. 

No house, no resident staying there, but there multiple  4 lanes 2-way road already built. MRT line constructed just not in operation. That is how a modern city developing should be.

Today, Shanghai infrastructure and the whole city development are way ahead of Singapore. 

Too bad our city planning in sg is not like that. They bring in all the people first before they develop or improve the infrastructure. Or they only wait for the problem to happen then they start to remedy. This is why there are so many problems when they open the flood gate decade ago. Never plan and think ahead. [:|]

2 hours ago, 13177 said:

Too bad our city planning in sg is not like that. They bring in all the people first before they develop or improve the infrastructure. Or they only wait for the problem to happen then they start to remedy. This is why there are so many problems when they open the flood gate decade ago. Never plan and think ahead. [:|]

I tink LTA scare they build new road, no one use then ppl kpkb say gahmen waste $$$ or PMD use as speeding track...

14 minutes ago, Soya said:

I tink LTA scare they build new road, no one use then ppl kpkb say gahmen waste $$$ or PMD use as speeding track...

If they development that area, sure got people use eventually lo. Even currently you can see there are residential around the MRT and yet they did not open the station in that area. Example one of the station along DTL.

On 11/5/2019 at 10:32 AM, Philipkee said:

I disagree on the bad planning part.  Cos from my observations there seems to be an aversion to having something that will be under utilised.  At least here.

So even though traffic is very bad, it seems like it has to be reaching the tipping point before alternatives are built.

That is why hospitals are almost running at full capacity before they build new ones.  And trains are running at full capacity most of the time with minimal duplication  of routes.  It also explains the housing issues.

Some might say bad planning or lack of foresight.  I think it's just a case where there is the desire to squeeze everything to the max and when it seems you are reaching the point where you cant squeeze anymore then look for alternatives or plan for new capacity.  So it is very good planning based on a financial and resource point of view.  But of cos not from a citizen welfare point of view.

Like in this case.  When they build the new road, they anticipate high demand from day one.  Not cases where it will be under utilised for a few years and then traffic build up....

Yes. It's cost effectiveness at a certain juncture.

Being the beneficiary of some of these road building and access roads changing over the last 10 years since I've started working in the heartlands. It's always developed in stages. My commute have changed over the years. 

Remember in the 1990s, KKWCH when they built it but the demographic and birth rate changed. KK was in the red for years.