Scam call from 'SingTel' via Viber

Atrecord

3 minutes ago, Ysc3 said:

The caller kept shouting yamate...yamate... Yamate!!?? 

I no know lor, I never have any scam from Japan, must ask our tank tank @Mustank.....:XD:[laugh][laugh]

6 hours ago, Atrecord said:

) database for this...

Those of you with SingTel, do be careful.

Wonder what our Ministars do when they get such calls on their personal HP's  ?? as I think they randomly just tikam tikam call the numbers 

4 hours ago, BanCoe said:

Wonder what our Ministars do when they get such calls on their personal HP's  ?? as I think they randomly just tikam tikam call the numbers 

yah, LHL's record hacked right?

would be interesting to hear his response...

7 hours ago, Atrecord said:

yah, LHL's record hacked right?

would be interesting to hear his response...

Medical ones right ?? Would be interesting if anyone hacks Mahathirs Medical records ..... how the guy is so strong ...... hearsay that he goes thru some kind of stem cell therapy 

19 hours ago, Atrecord said:

Received a call from 'Singtel Telecom' yesterday via Viber. In fact, i've maybe received only 1 call from a friend via Viber 3-4 yr ago, so didn't immediately recognise it was via Viber...

The whole screen of my phone showed the caller's profile pic, which was the official SingTel logo, so i was initially wondering why SingTel called me out of the blue via special mode (not phone call, not whatsapp call, not wechat call, not skype call - the only 4 i'm familiar with)...

Then the ang mo sounding fella said he's calling from Singtel Telecom, and that there's some lucky draw and that my phone number has won a prize of $50,000.

I had just finished a discussion with colleagues when the phone rang, so my mind wasn't v clear yet, and didn't immediately knew/decided it's a scam, partly cos got influenced by the SingTel logo, and also the price of $50k is not like those $500 mil that i've come across before from those Nigerians...

And the fella actually read out my phone number and asked if that was my number. He then asked me to 'give him my name', in order to proceed.

It was at this point that my mind became clear and alert again - on the occasions when Telcos or banks call me, they will authenticate by stressing 'for verification purpose', which this fella didn't say.

I strung him along, and asked shouldn't they my name if they're from SingTel?

At this point, the fella must have detected the first doubt from me, and still tried to substantiate it, saying that he's really calling from Singtel Telecom, in 'Changi International Airport'!!! I purposely asked him again at where, and he said 'you know, Changi International Airport'...

When i asked again, that he meant he's calling from the airport, that's when he knew the game was up, and hung up the call.

Dunno whether the hell they got my no. from, and found out i'm with SingTel to try this scam. Maybe SingTel got people got hold of their number (but not name) database for this...

Those of you with SingTel, do be careful.

Screenshot_20191025-104153_Viber.jpg

WAH!!! You still have the app in your phone??? Its still available or its still able to be transferred over from other phones ah???

On 10/26/2019 at 6:36 AM, Discoburg said:

WAH!!! You still have the app in your phone??? Its still available or its still able to be transferred over from other phones ah???

Viber is still popular in some countries. And the call quality is quite good. 

14 minutes ago, Kxbc said:

Viber is still popular in some countries. And the call quality is quite good. 

Yes Viber sound quality is better than WA somehow I find too 

20 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

Yippee I won $50,000/- but have to part as I have given  @Jamesc MIL a/c number 😖😖

DB4BE52A-0639-4341-BBFE-D7863DDFB6E0.png

No wonder my MIL suddenly so happy like she won a lot of money like that.

:grin:

On 10/25/2019 at 1:44 PM, Kxbc said:

received the same but from starhub (2x) and changi airport (1x), all with their office logos as profile picture.

but didn't managed to pick up any of the 3 calls as phone was on silent mode.

So you missed out $150,000?

I will monitor my phone more carefully.

Alamak I haven't loaded this app for my last few phones.

I regret it now.

Missed out on so many $50,000.

Can ask the telco please use WA?

That one I have.

Edited by Jamesc

On 10/25/2019 at 5:45 PM, BanCoe said:

I wonder if they call any policeman?

Especially scam department.

If anyone wants to scam my MIL here is her no.

1800-722-6688

3.jpg

22 hours ago, Jamesc said:

I wonder if they call any policeman?

Especially scam department.

If anyone wants to scam my MIL here is her no.

1800-722-6688

3.jpg

iS dis your MIL??  :a-m1212:

image.png.3136ac2c15badbb2f82e40e95bf938f7.png