Atrecord Supersonic October 28, 2019 Share October 28, 2019 10 hours ago, Wind30 said: I never studied there but my siblings tells be story about how big the land is. i think the government needs to take back the land and not let them squat there like he Developers. i find some of the land owned are a bit unfair like Bukit Sembawang plantation land that become luxus hills after not planting anything for so many years. The land is privately owned leh... Govt take back is forced acquire liao... Few decades ago when SIM operated out of that place, they also rented the space from the HC - then chinese high - school... for a symbolic $1... when relationship was good. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic October 28, 2019 Share October 28, 2019 Alamak. People speak the truth also kanna. We should be examining how come our society is like that - not killing the messenger. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged October 28, 2019 Share October 28, 2019 (edited) 28 minutes ago, sake said: RGS girls are considered 'elites' because they are high achievers, not because they come from 'atas' families. From what i can see, they come from all walks of life. In a typical class, you have girls who stay in landed, condos and also hdbs from all corners of Singapore. In general they integrate and get along pretty well. There are indeed students from "ordinary" backgrounds in so-called elite schools. These students get a foot in the door, so to speak, thru academic results, GEP or non-acad DSA. But these are indeed a minority. My kids went this route, and whenever I drive to their schools, can't help but notice the car park full of mostly conti brands. And during PTA the moms mostly look like shiny tai-tais And something that really irks me is that some activities in such schools are planned as if with the assumption that one parent (the mom) is stay-at-home tai-tai to send/fetch the kid. Hardly consider both working parents who have to make special arrangements! This gives me the impression that the elitism is "baked in" the system after a while. Edited October 28, 2019 by Sosaria 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic October 28, 2019 Share October 28, 2019 2 hours ago, Sosaria said: There are indeed students from "ordinary" backgrounds in so-called elite schools. These students get a foot in the door, so to speak, thru academic results, GEP or non-acad DSA. But these are indeed a minority. My kids went this route, and whenever I drive to their schools, can't help but notice the car park full of mostly conti brands. And during PTA the moms mostly look like shiny tai-tais And something that really irks me is that some activities in such schools are planned as if with the assumption that one parent (the mom) is stay-at-home tai-tai to send/fetch the kid. Hardly consider both working parents who have to make special arrangements! This gives me the impression that the elitism is "baked in" the system after a while. My 4 year old is in a woodlands playschool and we have the same problem... School likes to organize events which require parent participation (e.g. follow students on sch trip, etc). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear October 30, 2019 Share October 30, 2019 On 10/28/2019 at 9:18 PM, Atrecord said: Some decades ago, it was the largest 'secondary school' in SEA. That was before its boarding school, alumni block, international school, and the school's extension was build - what it is today. When the stupid Auditor General said must got fair wages, and Govt started charging all teachers who drive for season parking, Chinese High - or now Hwa Chong - was the only school that justified to the Govt that their teachers no need pay. The reason is that while all other schools' land belong to the Govt, so is subject to the stupid recommendation to charge season parking, HC however, sits on land that is privately own, so no need to have simi fair wages... And i think HC still has aircon classrooms. RGS had aircon classrooms at the Anderson Road campus, but now moved to Braddell, everything has improved except one - no more aircon classrooms... 😁 So in that sense, HC indeed has an edge. Agree that why I mention earlier dun think government have the ability to chase HC away! Unless they use land acquire act! For nation building LOL 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 30, 2019 Share October 30, 2019 On 10/28/2019 at 9:43 PM, Sosaria said: There are indeed students from "ordinary" backgrounds in so-called elite schools. These students get a foot in the door, so to speak, thru academic results, GEP or non-acad DSA. But these are indeed a minority. My kids went this route, and whenever I drive to their schools, can't help but notice the car park full of mostly conti brands. And during PTA the moms mostly look like shiny tai-tais And something that really irks me is that some activities in such schools are planned as if with the assumption that one parent (the mom) is stay-at-home tai-tai to send/fetch the kid. Hardly consider both working parents who have to make special arrangements! This gives me the impression that the elitism is "baked in" the system after a while. I don't know any specifics about the activities you mentioned, but i suspect that many (or most) schools might plan events and activities in a way that will minimise the need to have staff stay back at nights or go back during weekends, too often. To be fair, the staff also have a life. They already need to go to schools v early, and often have to stay back late - or bring work home - to mark scripts. If still have to regularly stay late or go back weekends, then high chance will see even higher attrition. There are some important/necessary events that need to take place at nights or on weekends (openhouse, parents' briefings, etc.), and I'm sure that the staff understand and will do them, but we should not expect that to be a norm for all events and at great regularity. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 30, 2019 Share October 30, 2019 On 10/29/2019 at 12:12 AM, Kusje said: My 4 year old is in a woodlands playschool and we have the same problem... School likes to organize events which require parent participation (e.g. follow students on sch trip, etc). Yah, in my kids' case many years ago, the childcare was also not v v prepared on some outings. They organised a visit to the airport, and i took leave to accompany my kids for it. Ended up the teachers were not familiar with the airport, and I spent half the time leading the group, to the old/original T1 viewing gallery - where the kids were so thrilled as it used to be so close to the planes - and taking the skytrain, etc... when my original intention was to help look after my kids plus take more photos and videos of them... ↡ Advertisement 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...