RGS move to Braddel with elitist statement

Mockngbrd

6 minutes ago, sake said:

RI cannot move lah.

RGS is there now to integrate with RI.

But the RI campus already old liao. Lol.

1 hour ago, Victor68 said:

We are going to call all schools here Raffles.  Just Raffles Jurong, Raffles Changi, and so on. Principal will rotate every year. Roads will be free from traffic jams. 

but people still know Raffles Bishan is the original leh

22 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Wa, 20 years ago RI already there liao? So maybe RI might plan to move to elsewhere? [:p]

Actually my maths is wrong.... it is like 30 years ago....

1 hour ago, Throttle2 said:

Many many years ago, i used to coach a group of RGS girls in tennis.  I must say, they definitely came across more snobbish than the regular high school girl.  But overall still respectful and decent.  

i think part of this came from the fact that they know they did well academically to be in RGS so they feel more confident and superior.   

There are quite many peasant girls in RGS too, not just the richies.    Its good to move schools out of expensive areas into the suburbs.     

Raffles students are not pre-selected for their richie-richness. If they are snobbish or elitist in their attitude, it's because of their academic merit which was duly earned. 

At least one other name brand school (3 letters) does, according to popular view, cater to richie-riches. 

And RI is well established in the Braddell area. I was only there for the last half year when they moved from the Grange Road campus, but it's a nice campus - or at least was, when it was new. Not been there in a long time. RJC was still at Mt Sinai when I went there. 

(A long winded way of saying I don't get the point of this thread. If that certain 3 letter school moved to a "peasant area", then I get the point). 

1 hour ago, 13177 said:

Wa, 20 years ago RI already there liao? So maybe RI might plan to move to elsewhere? [:p]

Moved from Grange Road to Bishan in 1990. I remember cos it was an upheaval during the middle of my O level year lol.

1 hour ago, Neost said:

but people still know Raffles Bishan is the original leh

When you mixed them like rojak, especially the teaching staff , Bishan or changi still important? Then it is no more the school but the students. Why MOE wants to create an elite then say problem?

I should advertise my house as follows now:

1. One of few HDB in Singapore with big big balcony.

2. High Unblocked View - can see fireworks every year

3. Near to high SES schools - CHIJ TPY, RGS, RI

Hope to get $1.2M for it.

wah ... do cip or via will be more convenient for the students lah since peasants are more accessible from that location

no need travel so far out of the atas enclave 

🤣

This move has been delayed by... maybe 4 yr. And even then, it's a rushed job, too rushed.

The students had a day off last Friday, when the staff moved.

They could move obviously only cos they finally obtained TOP. But guess what, the canteen stalls haven't obtained clearance to operate yet. So this week no makan... The school had to arrange catered food 😅

In terms of the exact location, the place is sitting on where 2 old schools used to be - Westlake and Braddell Secs. I used to play soccer in one of the school fields more than 20 yr ago.

And hor, it's nearer to Toa Payoh HDBs than Bishan HDBs, and the nearest MRT is Braddell MRT. But it's nearer to Junction 8 than, let's say, HDB Hub, if looking for, e.g. food court.

I had thought that they would build a linkbridge direct from RGS building to RJC building, but it looks like it's just the existing public overhead bridge spanning Braddell Road.

In terms of RI/RGS/RJC congregated together (like St Andrews Village), there is however something that is 'in the way'. The Kwong Wai Siew Peck San Theng cultural organisation and columbarium sits betw RGS and RI...

16 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

This move has been delayed by... maybe 4 yr. And even then, it's a rushed job, too rushed.

They could move obviously only cos they finally obtained TOP. But guess what, the canteen stalls haven't obtained clearance to operate yet. So this week no makan... The school had to arrange catered food 😅

In terms of the exact location, the place is sitting on where 2 old schools used to be - Westlake and Braddell Secs. I used to play soccer in one of the school fields more than 20 yr ago.

And hor, it's nearer to Toa Payoh HDBs than Bishan HDBs, and the nearest MRT is Braddell MRT. But it's nearer to Junction 8 than, let's say, HDB Hub, if looking for, e.g. food court.

I had thought that they would build a linkbridge direct from RGS building to RJC building, but it looks like it's just the existing public overhead bridge spanning Braddell Road.

In terms of RI/RGS/RJC congregated together (like St Andrews Village), there is however something that is 'in the way'. The Kwong Wai Siew Peck San Theng cultural organisation and columbarium sits betw RGS and RI...

It actually benefits both...quid pro quo...both would open up each other’s carpark during Ching Ming or RI events...

1 minute ago, mersaylee said:

It actually benefits both...quid pro quo...both would open up each other’s carpark during Ching Ming or RI events...

Yes, they have mutual understanding on this. I'd used them 'both ways'.

21 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

Wah your girl there ar. 

1 hour ago, Turboflat4 said:

Raffles students are not pre-selected for their richie-richness. If they are snobbish or elitist in their attitude, it's because of their academic merit which was duly earned. 

At least one other name brand school (3 letters) does, according to popular view, cater to richie-riches. 

And RI is well established in the Braddell area. I was only there for the last half year when they moved from the Grange Road campus, but it's a nice campus - or at least was, when it was new. Not been there in a long time. RJC was still at Mt Sinai when I went there. 

(A long winded way of saying I don't get the point of this thread. If that certain 3 letter school moved to a "peasant area", then I get the point). 

the point of this thread is to TC on a slow thurday afternoon. 🙂

no more RJC. Now only RGS & RI.

Edited by sake