Mediacorp to produce time travel wuxia drama

Raubern

12 hours ago, Stratovarius said:

I like this song.

This song is very nice. Who is this Jones? His singing really good.

Edited by 13177

12 hours ago, Blueray said:

ya, feel like they are just trying to stretch to 30 episodes with 12 episodes content.

Carrie Wong and Ya Hui are good actresses but totally wasted in this show.

Correct lo, maybe they dont want to waste the effort spend in going to China to flim? So 12 episodes become 30 episodes? This drama really crap.

1 hour ago, 13177 said:

This song is very nice. Who is this Jones? His singing really good.

Yup. This song is my recent fave even though im more towards angmoh songs. 

Apparently he is a sgrean singer. My wife told me Calvin is the singer as he did the singing scene in the show. Ytd raining I boliao and go Google and found out he is the original singer.

14 hours ago, Blueray said:

ya, feel like they are just trying to stretch to 30 episodes with 12 episodes content.

Carrie Wong and Ya Hui are good actresses but totally wasted in this show.

I only like to watch the part when they time travel in sg as there are a lot of comedic scenes. The china part are quite boring and Bryan's acting is not so good as an eunuch. Lol.

1 hour ago, 13177 said:

Correct lo, maybe they dont want to waste the effort spend in going to China to flim? So 12 episodes become 30 episodes? This drama really crap.

ya, so I feel sayang for the actors, let down by a rather weak script.

Carrie Wong and Ya Hui are good actresses but really wasted in this show, their story arcs really boring.

4 minutes ago, Stratovarius said:

I only like to watch the part when they time travel in sg as there are a lot of comedic scenes. The china part are quite boring and Bryan's acting is not so good as an eunuch. Lol.

haha, same here, bro, i skipped the 5 episodes when they returned to Ming, cos all just politics and scheming only. 

actually liked Cynthia Koh in the badminton scenes. haha. very underrated actress. 

long time no chat, think we last chatted on The Night Manager ? iirc ... [laugh]

5 hours ago, Blueray said:

ya, so I feel sayang for the actors, let down by a rather weak script.

Carrie Wong and Ya Hui are good actresses but really wasted in this show, their story arcs really boring.

haha, same here, bro, i skipped the 5 episodes when they returned to Ming, cos all just politics and scheming only. 

actually liked Cynthia Koh in the badminton scenes. haha. very underrated actress. 

long time no chat, think we last chatted on The Night Manager ? iirc ... [laugh]

Cynthia Koh aged well and still quite chio. Haha. I don't remember anything on the night manager.🤔

I told my wife Carrie's accent in the show is her own voice but she disagree. It's really good if is her effort. Why 715 no accent? Lol.

1 hour ago, Stratovarius said:

Cynthia Koh aged well and still quite chio. Haha. I don't remember anything on the night manager.🤔

I told my wife Carrie's accent in the show is her own voice but she disagree. It's really good if is her effort. Why 715 no accent? Lol.

Cynthia Koh is very versatile, can play many type of roles, but I think she needs to exercise and lose weight a bit .... she is getting too "curvy" [:p]

I can't place what I dislike about Carrie's voice but its just not done properly, quite out of place.

715 is quite funny in parts too.

promotion not done properly also, show is now 2/3 over then the MV come out. and I like the song and the singers. [thumbsup]

48 minutes ago, Mustank said:

I also got watch time travel drama :grin:

ahem ahem ... your type is time stopping, not time travel. [sly]

Edited by Blueray

The only local tv station produced time travel period drama I remember is 1985 SBC's 大侠吴三奇. Chen Tian Wen was the 大侠 who time traveled from the past. I clearly remember in my mind there was 1 scene where he dipped his finger into the toilet bowl, tasted it and wondered what it was. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=md_kguMtM30

祖先保佑 (not really period drama) was good and i think the only mediacorp drama I ever watched fully last 10 years.

4 hours ago, Stratovarius said:

Sounds like carrie own voice le? 

15 minutes ago, Columbian78 said:

The only local tv station produced time travel period drama I remember is 1985 SBC's 大侠吴三奇. Chen Tian Wen was the 大侠 who time traveled from the past. I clearly remember in my mind there was 1 scene where he dipped his finger into the toilet bowl, tasted it and wondered what it was. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=md_kguMtM30

Hahaha, this one I watch..

This is the worst drama produced by Mediacorp. And this is coming from someone who still watches Mediacorp 9pm dramas. Storyline is rubbish, acting is rubbish. Carrie Wong, Qi Yu Wu especially bad. Carrie's voice should have been dubbed. The whole series should be scrapped la. Only good thing about this series? The theme song.

I sort of look forward to  the show every night, but the story line is really weak.  

There are some fillers here and there which doesn't quite contribute to the story line but just added in for some comedic/drama factor.

Overall, because it was a time travel show, it is still quite interesting, but there are so much room to make it better.

Edited by Icedbs

so far ...

what worked

1. theme song and sub-theme song

2. QYW (the only Alpha Male character) and Cynthia Koh acting

3. some pretty photography in SG and PRC

what did not work

1. overambitious plot, the conspiracy arc with Bryan Wong and Jeffrey Xu really a waste of time

2. inconsistent plot and character development, almost as if directed by different people

if want to do time travel lub story, should just adapt good ones like Somewhere in Time or The Lake House, 10 episodes. 

1 hour ago, BabyBlade said:

This is the worst drama produced by Mediacorp. And this is coming from someone who still watches Mediacorp 9pm dramas. Storyline is rubbish, acting is rubbish. Carrie Wong, Qi Yu Wu especially bad. Carrie's voice should have been dubbed. The whole series should be scrapped la. Only good thing about this series? The theme song.

True true, the whole drama is quite crappy. The only thing not crappy is the ''乱'' (主題曲) and  ''迟'' (插曲).