Fukuoka

Discoburg

On 3/30/2025 at 3:43 PM, Lala81 said:

I saw the video yest. There was another comment by another singaporean married to jap husband, who said that kyushu tends to have a lot of typhoon and rain during typhoon season. for 3 months.
So she's not going to stay in kyushu again when she returns when her kids are older. 

Yeah, give up moving to Kyushu for the sake of 3-months rain 🤨 No rain/flooding/wind here?

Typhoons are generally okay, an extra day's holiday.

In all honesty, it's not typhoons that should be top of any list but earthquake and snow. I head to Oita frequently to see customers, and love it, except for the earthquake during my last trip. An earlier trip was also stressful as I was booked an early morning bus back to Fukuoka airport but when it didn't turn up for 15min, a waiting local guy called the bus company to be told "snow, busses cancelled" without notification. At least typhoons are seen a few days away.

On 4/1/2025 at 11:23 AM, bsswan said:

Yeah, give up moving to Kyushu for the sake of 3-months rain 🤨 No rain/flooding/wind here?

In all honesty, it's not typhoons that should be top of any list but earthquake and snow. I head to Oita frequently to see customers, and love it, except for the earthquake during my last trip. An earlier trip was also stressful as I was booked an early morning bus back to Fukuoka airport but when it didn't turn up for 15min, a waiting local guy called the bus company to be told "snow, busses cancelled" without notification. At least typhoons are seen a few days away.

She stayed in miyazaki for 3 years. so take from it what you will lor.

And she mentioned all japanese homes outside of tokyo are hard to resell due to shrinking population. So she's just throwing some reality into the video. 
Most asians don't understand that Japanese homes are straight line depreciating assets to zero, which most people don't understand from our local context. 

On 4/1/2025 at 11:23 AM, bsswan said:

Wah then how? How did you get back to Fukuoka airport then?

On 4/1/2025 at 12:00 PM, teomingern said:

Wah then how? How did you get back to Fukuoka airport then?

Made it to the check-in counter with ~10min to spare by running to the train station and switching to a taxi at Hakata. Lucky, and unusually, no security queue so still had time to get my curry from the lounge 🤭

Last trip, got a refund on the bus ticket no question asked, though if she did ask, I didn't understand.

On 4/1/2025 at 11:32 AM, Lala81 said:

And she mentioned all japanese homes outside of tokyo are hard to resell due to shrinking population. So she's just throwing some reality into the video. 
Most asians don't understand that Japanese homes are straight line depreciating assets to zero, which most people don't understand from our local context. 

Hence a lot moving to Japan now for a cheap house.

Takes effort, but doable.

On 4/1/2025 at 11:32 AM, Lala81 said:

Singaporeans only thinking of flipping properties for profits! I think it's ok if just pay like $5000-$10,000 for a nice place at the outskirts and you can do it up yourself... otherwise, not worth right if no investment value...

On 4/1/2025 at 12:09 PM, bsswan said:

Hence a lot moving to Japan now for a cheap house.

Takes effort, but doable.

But do you really want to live there... really quite monoculture leh... buay sian meh?

On 4/1/2025 at 1:58 PM, teomingern said:

But do you really want to live there... really quite monoculture leh... buay sian meh?

I extended a recent visit by a couple of days purely to check that - I've loosely been given a job offer.

Summary, nice but tough.

The problem is everything is written in Japanese despite English gaining a little ground before and since the rugby world cup. My wife is okay, reads Chinese so we get half way there during holidays, me not.

My job would need to come with a lovely young assistant ☺️

true ... excellent for short stay like few months ... :grin:

It will be like living in China.

On 4/1/2025 at 4:46 PM, inlinesix said:

no leh ... China many patterns ...  

i find China north/south/east/west live very differently ... 

food definitely sibei different and extreme ... from one side to another

:grin:

On 4/1/2025 at 4:46 PM, inlinesix said:

China really not monoculture leh... the four corners are totally different... those on the river plains and in the mountains also different... and China has many minority tribes who are also different... why would it be like living in China leh? 

On 4/1/2025 at 2:09 PM, Wt_know said:

true ... excellent for short stay like few months ... :grin:

Once you're bored by the monotony time to return home... ha ha...