13177 Hypersonic April 25, 2023 Share April 25, 2023 On 4/24/2023 at 7:19 AM, Ct3833 said: If you change to a new car, you dont have to pay anything, if you change to an used car, it will be 1.3k, used to be 1k, looks like the fee has increased. Expand If you change to a new car and no retain any car plate, indeed you dont have to pay anything, cause car number will be generated by system mah. But if retain your car plate to a new car, need to pay $100 la. 😂 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 25, 2023 Share April 25, 2023 If you like the number and you don't need to beg steal or borrow just get lah. Gone is gone forever. Just like my MIL soon! Regret also cannot bring back. SG men is really ai mai ai mai worse than women. Got opportunity don't want to take. Gone forever then moan and regret. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheesepiekia 5th Gear April 25, 2023 Share April 25, 2023 On 4/24/2023 at 7:37 AM, Ody_2004 said: This what i remembered.. long time no play plates liao New car, New plate = Free New Car, Old Plate = $100 Fee Old car, New randomly assigned Plate = $300 Fee Old Car, Old Plate = $1300 Fee LTA jin smart in this area oso.. they factor they will lose $1000 for the new series plate if someone retained an old plate.. so retention fee is $1300.. Expand On 4/24/2023 at 8:13 AM, Mkl22 said: other than number retention, option3 is for those who have gone to malaysia and clock up thousands in fines..... 😁. Expand On 4/24/2023 at 9:22 PM, Ody_2004 said: The last sentence seem so.. but better call LTA blah.. long time i no play plate liao.. Expand Just an update after calling up and checking with LTA. This is the only way but it will cost $1,300. For example: Registered owner of car SDA1234B pay $1,300 to retain the current registration number SDA1234B even though he/she got no intention to retain this number. Once he/she retain the current registration number SDA1234B. The system will automatic assign a new vehicle registration number from the current allocation pool to the car. No such thing as pay $321 to replace the current registration number SDA1234B with a new vehicle registration number SNK5678L from the current allocation pool to the car. The last sentence is really misleading! 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 25, 2023 Share April 25, 2023 I stand corrected... So if I accumulate over 1k of fine...pay 1.3k to LTA to retain the nice SBS1234 plate then sell it at maybe 1k to a buyer who die die must get that SiBeh Swee plate...then I'll get any allocated new number from the pool to siam the outstanding fines...? 😁 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 26, 2023 Share April 26, 2023 On 4/25/2023 at 3:40 PM, Cheesepiekia said: Just an update after calling up and checking with LTA. This is the only way but it will cost $1,300. For example: Registered owner of car SDA1234B pay $1,300 to retain the current registration number SDA1234B even though he/she got no intention to retain this number. Once he/she retain the current registration number SDA1234B. The system will automatic assign a new vehicle registration number from the current allocation pool to the car. No such thing as pay $321 to replace the current registration number SDA1234B with a new vehicle registration number SNK5678L from the current allocation pool to the car. The last sentence is really misleading! Expand Then it makes more sense to bid. Maybe a not so popular but somewhat nicer number can be had for $1030 or something. Then add the $321 to put it on the car. Rather than paying same amount to get any system assigned one. But yes, then it only makes sense if one has clocked up thousands of ringgit in fines. But then how to do that. I thought was RM$50 settle Liao? 🤣 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 26, 2023 Share April 26, 2023 On 4/25/2023 at 3:40 PM, Cheesepiekia said: Just an update after calling up and checking with LTA. This is the only way but it will cost $1,300. For example: Registered owner of car SDA1234B pay $1,300 to retain the current registration number SDA1234B even though he/she got no intention to retain this number. Once he/she retain the current registration number SDA1234B. The system will automatic assign a new vehicle registration number from the current allocation pool to the car. No such thing as pay $321 to replace the current registration number SDA1234B with a new vehicle registration number SNK5678L from the current allocation pool to the car. The last sentence is really misleading! Expand It means if i dont like my current car number or i want to change to a new car number without having to bid a number and just want to get assign from the system, i need to pay $1.3k! Like that it would be cheaper to bid any number than paying $1.3k. Min amount of bid number is around $1k if i am not wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wormee 5th Gear April 26, 2023 Share April 26, 2023 On 4/25/2023 at 3:40 PM, Cheesepiekia said: Just an update after calling up and checking with LTA. This is the only way but it will cost $1,300. For example: Registered owner of car SDA1234B pay $1,300 to retain the current registration number SDA1234B even though he/she got no intention to retain this number. Once he/she retain the current registration number SDA1234B. The system will automatic assign a new vehicle registration number from the current allocation pool to the car. No such thing as pay $321 to replace the current registration number SDA1234B with a new vehicle registration number SNK5678L from the current allocation pool to the car. The last sentence is really misleading! Expand The last sentence is somehow correct but a little misleading from how it was phrase. I was in the exact same situation back in 2016. Basically I bought a brand new car and was registered with a new VRN from the current allocation pool. After I got the car, I bidded for a VRN which I want and it cost me $321 to replace it on my car. So on top of the minimum $1,000 for bidding, it cost me more than $1,321 to replace my existing VRN with one that I bidded. The $1,300 paid is to retain an existing VRN of a car you already owned. 1. If you buy a new car and transfer the retained VRN to your new car, $1,200 will be refunded to you. So literally you paid $100 to transfer your existing VRN to your new car, which is correct. 2. If you buy a second-hand car or if you already own a second car (both with existing VRN), and you transfer your retained VRN to either of these, no refund will be given. I.e. you will be paying $1,300 to transfer existing VRN to a car with existing VRN. 3. If you trade in your car to a dealer when buying a new car and requested to transfer your existing VRN to your new car, they will charge you $100 for the retaining of the VRN to your new car. The $1,200 will be transparent to you as usually the dealer will absorb since it will be refunded to them. Either way, LTA has earned a lot of money. It a 'punishment' to us (suckers for our own preferred VRN) for not using the new VRN for the current allocation pool. 🙂 Just sharing. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wormee 5th Gear April 26, 2023 Share April 26, 2023 (edited) On 4/26/2023 at 12:34 AM, 13177 said: It means if i dont like my current car number or i want to change to a new car number without having to bid a number and just want to get assign from the system, i need to pay $1.3k! Like that it would be cheaper to bid any number than paying $1.3k. Min amount of bid number is around $1k if i am not wrong. Expand Don't think so. If you don't like your current car number or if you want to change to a new VRN from the current allocation pool, you pay $321 (with 7% gst during my time, so maybe now is $324) and not $1,300. So brother @Ody_2004 is correct. Old car, New randomly assigned Plate = $300 Fee You are right minimum bid is $1,000. Edited April 26, 2023 by Wormee 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 26, 2023 Share April 26, 2023 On 4/26/2023 at 12:55 AM, Wormee said: The last sentence is somehow correct but a little misleading from how it was phrase. I was in the exact same situation back in 2016. Basically I bought a brand new car and was registered with a new VRN from the current allocation pool. After I got the car, I bidded for a VRN which I want and it cost me $321 to replace it on my car. So on top of the minimum $1,000 for bidding, it cost me more than $1,321 to replace my existing VRN with one that I bidded. The $1,300 paid is to retain an existing VRN of a car you already owned. 1. If you buy a new car and transfer the retained VRN to your new car, $1,200 will be refunded to you. So literally you paid $100 to transfer your existing VRN to your new car, which is correct. 2. If you buy a second-hand car or if you already own a second car (both with existing VRN), and you transfer your retained VRN to either of these, no refund will be given. I.e. you will be paying $1,300 to transfer existing VRN to a car with existing VRN. 3. If you trade in your car to a dealer when buying a new car and requested to transfer your existing VRN to your new car, they will charge you $100 for the retaining of the VRN to your new car. The $1,200 will be transparent to you as usually the dealer will absorb since it will be refunded to them. Either way, LTA has earned a lot of money. It a 'punishment' to us (suckers for our own preferred VRN) for not using the new VRN for the current allocation pool. 🙂 Just sharing. Expand Still need to pay $321 to replace my current VRN to my own bidded number. LTA knife really sharp. Thought the $321 is for those people who want to replace current VRN and get a new VRN from the current allocated system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 26, 2023 Share April 26, 2023 anyway should be $328 now with 8% GST! 😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wormee 5th Gear April 26, 2023 Share April 26, 2023 This basically sums up what I have mentioned in my post. Could have searched for this earlier instead of my long post lol. Anyway, I need to correct one thing that I am wrong on retaining VRN thru dealer using Electronic Service Agent, there is no need for the $1,300 upfront payment and $1,200 refund. Only $100 nia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wormee 5th Gear April 26, 2023 Share April 26, 2023 On 4/26/2023 at 3:35 AM, Mkl22 said: anyway should be $328 now with 8% GST! 😁 Expand Based on brother Ody_2004's screenshot on One Motoring website, it still shows $321. LTA haven't wake up on the 8% GST and still living in year 2022. Lol Btw if it is 8% GST, the cost would be $324, not $328 hor. I also made the same mistake when I calculated it mentally till I used the calculator. Wahaha. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged April 27, 2023 Share April 27, 2023 On 4/26/2023 at 4:04 AM, Wormee said: Based on brother Ody_2004's screenshot on One Motoring website, it still shows $321. LTA haven't wake up on the 8% GST and still living in year 2022. Lol Btw if it is 8% GST, the cost would be $324, not $328 hor. I also made the same mistake when I calculated it mentally till I used the calculator. Wahaha. Expand They will update to $327 on 01 Jan 2024. ↡ Advertisement 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...